Ratings based on 129 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds

Great hotel near to the IEC

Posted May 20, 2017
We booked this hotel to be near to the IEC for the Eurovision Song Contest. It was 15 minutes walk to the venue, plenty of shops and fast food bars near bar and a great Irish bar a 2 minute walk from the hotel serving great food. A number of reviews have slated this hotel but for what we paid (£55.00 for two nights, for two people inc. breakfast), it was a bargain! The room was clean and tidy, housekeeping were friendly and it was a prime location for where we needed to go. Contrary to what others have said, it only takes approx. 8 minutes on the metro to central Kyiv and the metro stop is a 2 minute walk from the hotel. It isn't luxury, the decor is early 90's dated and it's never going to win awards for its outstanding customer service, but the old saying goes... 'you get what you pay for'! Some people may have considered that when making a reservation at this hotel. Cheap, cheerful and clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2017 by Maryna, Hotel Management
Dear Christopher! We are grateful to you for choosing the HC "Tourist" during your visit to Kiev. First of all, let me thank you for taking the time to write this review. Your comment is very important for us! Our main task is to create a feeling of care and comfort for every guest of the hotel "Tourist". We hope that you will give us one more chance to make your next stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. Best regards, HC "Tourist" team.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tourist Hotel

Posted May 5, 2017
Pros: the housekeepers were very good and very prompt on cleaning rooms, plus very friendly even with the language barrier. Certain staff members were very
Location: The location was fine, and there was plenty to do with many stores and restaurants with in 1 block of the hotel
Hotel was very old and my room was very uncomfortable, I did not have hot water in my shower even after asking if they would fix it. I will consider paying a little more for a better hotel next time.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 12, 2017 by Maryna, Hotel Management
Dear guest! We are grateful to you for choosing the HC "Tourist" during your visit to Kiev. First of all, let me thank you for taking the time to write this review. Your comment is very important for us! Our main task is to create a feeling of care and comfort for every guest of the hotel "Tourist". And we are very sorry that in your case, the expectations were not justified. We will try to fix the malfunctionwith a hot water. We hope that you will give us one more chance to make your next stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Ok, but not helpful staff, close to a station

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: Cleaning is thorough
Cons: Service, Doors locks are really old, Internet, some information about Kiev
Location: There is a very nice and friendly pub a couple of minutes away. It is a few minutes away from the station.
This is an OK hotel, very close to an underground station and a wonderful pub, but there is nothing else around. I would rather stay in the Left Bank area next time. The staff is not quite helpful especially if you are in Kiev for the first time you want to ask a few questions about where to eat, how to get a bus to the airport, for instance, and you do not want to get everything through your search on Internet which was not consistent. But the staff at the reception is not responding to anything beyond the routine formula. Breakfast is not worth paying 115 UYH. Internet signal very weak.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2017 by Hotel TOURIST Team, Hotel Management
Dear guest! We are grateful to you for choosing the HC "Tourist" during your visit to Kiev. First of all, let me thank you for taking the time to write this review. Your comment is very important for us! Our main task is to create a feeling of care and comfort for every guest of the hotel "Tourist". And we are very sorry that in your case, the expectations were not justified. We will try to fix WIFI malfunction. We hope that you will give us one more chance to make your next stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible.
2 out of 5
by Farid

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 24, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Korea

Cheap, and that's it.

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Pros: mmm.... the price? barely? I'm not even sure the price was okay.
Cons: everything?
Location: NONE. I think there was a supermarket nearby.
The room was small. The bathroom looked like recovered from the war just recently and so was the elevator.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gdynia

Relatively close to KBP airport.

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: Friendly stuff, safe neighborhood, etc.
Location: I didn't explore. According to taxi drivers it's still far from Kiev city center....
I have only been there for a night and following morning I was flying to Odessa. The hotel was quiet, staff helpful, room clean. The hotel is old but well maintained. Elevators are working fine, hot water in the tap, clean nice bed sheets, etc. Concluding – good night sleep.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old building but very clean.

Posted Dec 20, 2016 on Hotels
I read many of the reviews before booking this hotel because it has much affect on my decisions. The hotel was overall pretty good, but then again i am not picky either. There were some reviews that had issues with slowness of elevator, bad WiFi and maid coming in unannounced into your room. But my experience was the elevator was very fast, WiFi was very fast and the staff was friendly and spook good English. Also, it is right next to the Metro and 10 minutes to Kreshchatyk Street. McDonald's and Dominoes Pizza right across the street along with other small shops and restaurants. Overall, my stay at this hotel was very good and I am glad i did it. The hotel building is a old Soviet era building so it is not the Hilton but for budget conscious people this hotel is hard to beat. I would stay again...
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sydney

a hotel you may have to share with dogs.

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Pros: most people at reception are friendly, the manager was nice, clean rooms.
Cons: it is a hotel for humans, no dogs should stay there unless there are special areas where only dogs stay.
Location: good location.
it is disgusting and disgraceful when human beings are forced to share a hotel with dogs andthat is exactly what happened to me at this hotel. one morning I was woken up to the barking of a dog, then another dog, I went down to complain and there were a whole bunch of dogs going in lifts used by humans. how pathetic and disgusting this is. planes carry dogs but they are in special areas where there is no human contact at all. this hotels is worse than a brothel because brothels do not allow dogs. this hotel should be less than zero stars.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
This is a rather tired Soviet-era hotel. The breakfast was also somewhat disappointing. However, the staff were friendly and spoke good English, making the stay easier.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lumberton North Carolina

Close to metro and with excellent resturant

Posted Nov 6, 2016 on Orbitz
Good deal for the money with outstanding resturant attached to the hotel. Great view also.