Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great experience

Posted Jul 5, 2017
A place with a lot of history to it but is now a beautiful modern hotel with wonderful artwork around and a relaxing pool and bar area. Fantastic breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2017 by Jolly, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed the pool, bar area, the breakfast as well as our historic and beautiful modern hotel. We will be honored to welcome you back on your next visit to Kigali. Warm Regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

All Smiles at Mille Collines

Posted May 31, 2017
Pros: I enjoyed the friendliness and professionalism of its staff, the pool bar and its outstanding breakfast buffet.
Cons: I can't think of anything!
Location: Dinner at Khana Kazana (Indian) restaurant, 10 minutes' walk away. Also shop for cloth, craft and coffee beans at UTC centre, 5 minutes' walk away.
I stayed at Mille Collines at the beginning and end of a (work) trip to Rwanda. The hotel - which as most reviewers will note, was a refuge during the 1994 genocide - is an oasis amidst the bustle of Kigali. The staff are unfailingly polite and helpful and made staying there a real pleasure. The bedrooms are large and well-appointed, many of a view down into the centre of Kigali. The common areas are decorated with works of local artists (which are for sale from their galleries) and the pool and pool bar are lovely places to unwind, grab a quick bite and go for a swim. You can also have a massage in an area near the pool, though I didn't have time to try this. The breakfast buffet was outstanding. Many people come to stay in a piece of Rwanda's history but this hotel stands as a fantastic place to stay in its own right. Highly recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2017 by Denis Wollner, Hotel Management
Dear Sareta, Thank you for taking time to share your review and for recommending us. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay and most importantly the friendliness & professionalism of staff, the meals, the art pieces for sale, and the swimming pool. In deed our hotel is an oasis amidst the bustle of Kigali. We are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Rwanda. Warm Regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gaborone

Nice hotel in City

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: central location and friendly staff
Had a great stay at the hotel. good food and ambiance.
4 out of 5
by Keith

Posted Apr 20, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel in good location ,staff vey accommodating especially on early check in.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017
Dear Keith, Thank you for taking time to share your review from your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and most importantly the location and staff. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next visit. Warm Regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from KAMPALA - UGANDA

Nice hotel & lovely staff!

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Pros: cleanness and supportive staff!
Cons: Bed mattress & lining are a bit old!
Location: Location is great for business!
I stayed for two nights! the hotel is very clean and the management were co-operative and supportive as I was allowed to make a late check - out! I will recommend this hotel for my friends!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by Denis Wollner, Hotel Management
Dear OSAMA, Thank you for taking time to share your review from your recent stay and for recommending us. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and most importantly the cleanness, supportive staff and location. In regards the mattress and lining, we have addressed it to the team in charge and it is being resolved. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next visit. Warm Regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cape Town

Convenient and Comfortable.

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Easy for business meetings, but a relaxed feel would also suit tour groups and holiday makers.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2017 by Denis Wollner, Hotel Management
Dear Penny, Thank you for taking time to share your review and for recommending us. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us but most importantly the comfort and convenience for business meetings. We are looking forward to hosting you again soon. Best Regards,
5 out of 5
by Chancli

Great stay!

Posted Jan 25, 2017 on Hotels
Our stay was fabulous! Very friendly, helpful staff. Great rooms and breakfast. We'll definitely be back for another visit!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2017
Dear Chancli, Thank you for taking time to share your review and for choosing to stay with us. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and most importantly rooms, meals, friendly and helpful staff. We are looking forward to hosting you again soon. Best Regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pretoria, South Africa

Nice hotel & friendly staff.

Posted Dec 6, 2016
A kettle with coffee/tea and a fridge as standard equipment in the room would be nice. I had to arrange specially to have it in my room. Also an ice machine on every second floor (like the Sheraton hotels) is a good idea. Booking through Expedia was also very painless and easy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2017 by Denis Wollner, Hotel Management
Dear Des van Schalkw, Thank you for taking time to share your review and your feedback is valuable. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and in regards the room amenities we are glad to inform you that we offer a kettle and fridge upon request. For the ice machine on each floor recommendation, it has been addressed to the management for consideration. We are looking forward to hosting you again soon. Best Regards,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 3, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good for historic reasons

Posted Oct 22, 2016 on Hotels
It was good to stay in 'Hotel Rwanda' during our trip to Kigali. Stayed just one night. Wanted to try the restaurant but it was booked for a function. Eat at the outside bar which was quite nice. A real lack of choice for fresh juices etc which you would expect for a class hotel. An enjoyable stay but overpriced for what it is.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2017
Dear Lester, Thank you for taking time to share your review and for choosing to stay with us. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and most importantly the meals. Kindly allow my sincere apologies for not getting fresh juice during you recent stay. On your next visit you will surely get juice and delight in the perfect fusion of European and Rwandan hospitality. For the pricing, it has been raised with the management and it is under review. We are looking forward to hosting you again soon. Best Regards,