Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely place to stay, but....

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: Good breakfast and sufficient food, even if you come at the tail end. Bed is comfortable. Good gym. Staff is great.
Cons: Dinner a la carte was meh and expensive. Cocktail menu is pretty limited. The overall hotel seems a little dated. Shower leaked a bit.
Location: In a quiet area. Can walk to the "city center." Not much night life nearby but Kigali is pretty small so can cab to anywhere pretty easily.
There for a long weekend. Staff are the best part - truly kind and helpful. They try to make you feel comfortable and tended to. Room was comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to review our property. We appreciate you compliments on the breakfast, quality of food, gym and staff. We have noted your feedback with regards to our menus and shower and assure you that necessary remedial measures will be instituted to correct these anomalies. Once again, thank you and we look forward to hosting you again soon. Warm Regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from brooklyn NY

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Beautiful comfortable stay. Great breakfast, great gym, very friendly and helpful staff. Beautiful pools very comfortable room. I always enjoy my stay at the Serena
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We are delighted that you had a pleasant stay and appreciate your compliments which will be shared with the team. We thank you for your loyalty and please do not hesitate to let us know what else we can do to ensure that your future stays with us a comfortable and relaxed. Warm Regards Daniel Sambai
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Upmarket hotel near city centre

Posted Sep 7, 2017
The ambience is great. Hotel extravagantly beautiful. Rooms are huge. Buffet breakfast superb. Choice of dining areas with wide range of meals. Security extremely tight and I felt safe because of it
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good stay. No complain.

Posted Sep 6, 2017 on Hotels
Good stay. No complain.
5 out of 5
by Richard

Serena

Posted Aug 18, 2017 on Hotels
The Serena is always a great place to relax in the city
4 out of 5
by Michael

Kigali Serena

Posted Jun 30, 2017 on Hotels
Very friendly service. Excellent breakfast. Fascinating city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Ya Gotta Stay Here!

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: The location and the food.
Cons: No.
Location: The location was fine. I went to the Rwanda Genocide Memorial...which was a really powerful and upsetting exhibit. It should be seen, but...
Great hotel. The staff was great and the location and food were excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from lebanon

Posted Apr 15, 2017
it is not my first time i stay and it will not be my last
4 out of 5
by Megan

Posted Feb 22, 2017 on Hotels
Great stay, the food was good. Had an issue with the front desk repeatedly allowing unwanted people to call my room late into the night, which was unacceptable. The internet was surprisingly poor for a Serena, as well. But other than that, I had a lovely stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nanjing, China

Expensive but Excellent

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Pros: Great relaxing pool side. Good food and service. Well furnished, spacious rooms.
Cons: Overly attentive staff. A few staff curt. Cold pool water. No maps available.
Superb breakfast buffet. Spacious comfortable, well equipped rooms. Get courtyard rooms. Fantastic service from friendly and attentive staff, who sometimes can be overly attentive. Great gym facilities with helpful attendant. Good, helpful business center.