Ratings based on 98 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Orleans

Perfect "non-resort" resort!

Posted Oct 13, 2017
This boutique resort was perfect for us. In the heart of Kihei, far away from the mega high-rise condos & hotels, we got a taste of the real Hawaii in yhis lovely town. The rooms are more than spacious, the gardens, pool & spa just lovely, and walking across the street to sit on the beach to watch sunsets far from crowds & noise -- pure perfection. Their location is easy for driving to explore many of Maui's treasures. My only hesitation in leaving this review is that I don't want so many people to discover it that it becomes inaccisble!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from The Bay Area in California

Nice hotel with friendly staff

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Nice hotel near beach with friendly staff and good breakfast. In addition they provide all the stuff needed for any beach goer. The room is comfortable but not very large. Overall, it's a good hotel and I highly recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

lovely place to stay, friendly staff

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: everything
Location: nice and close to the beach, you need to drive or catch a bus to town
best place we stayed at while we were in Maui, friendly staff nice breakfast, everything we needed
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Across the street from beach

Posted Aug 23, 2017
We had a room that faced the ocean with a patio. This was probably the best ones they had and we liked it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Nice spot right across from the beach

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Super customer service. A comfy spot in Kihei, close to shops. Only the road separates you from the beach. Tthe breakfast was a full spread. Highly recommend this place. I'm fussy :-)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los altos, CA

Small hotel with great service

Posted Aug 5, 2017
We picked this hotel because we were in town for only 2.5 days and we wanted to cover both sides of the island. This hotel is in the middle on the south side, so it's less time to drive to the Hana side or the volcano than if w were to stay at a big resort on the west side. It did turn out to be conveniently located. The staff is very attentive and friendly. There are ice chest and beach towels that we can borrow. The room is spacious and clean. Breakfast includes basic hot items (eggs, sausage, bacon), some pastry, fruit, cereal, etc. All in all, we are very happy with the stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baltimore, MD

Boutique hotel with genuine customer service

Posted Aug 2, 2017
I enjoyed my stay at this quaint hotel. This is a small hotel so don't expect insane amenities. The pool is small but who needs a pool when the beaches of Maui are across the street. There is a hot tub as well which was great for relaxing. There is a legit breakfast served each morning. We rented the cheapest room available and it was just eh, but again we didn't come to sit in a room. There was a nice little snack basket in our room containing waters, microwave popcorn, snack bar and chips. The best part about this hotel is the customer service. Everyone we interacted with went above and beyond to assist us and did so with a genuine purpose to please. They will also let you come back after check out to shower and freshen up before your flight home. They have a rooftop shower area which was perfect. Great little hotel for an on the go trip!
5 out of 5
by Paul

Part of the Family

Posted Jul 20, 2017 on Hotels
Service was inspired, everyone made us feel like we were at home and part of the community.
5 out of 5
by Steven

Trip To Kihei, HI

Posted Jul 13, 2017 on Hotels
This is an older property that has been well maintained. The service was outstanding and the location is directly across from a small beach. The room was small but that is typical for Hawaii
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017
Aloha Steven, Mahalo for your review of Kohea Kai. It is much appreciated. We are so happy you had a great experience with us and on Maui. We fondly look forward to your return our our island paradise. Warmest Mahalo, Sean
5 out of 5
by Douglas

Great hotel with friendly staff

Posted Jul 8, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel staff are very helpful and friendly. There are great extras which include beach chairs, umbrellas, and ice coolers to take to the beach each day. The daily included breakfast is wondful and a great time to meet the other guests.I really enjoyed my stay and will definitely come back again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017
Aloha, Thanks for your comments. They mean a lot to us. So glad you enjoyed your stay at Kohea Kai. We look forward to your return sometime soon. Warmest of Aloha, Sean, General Manager