Ratings based on 276 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Top notch hotel on edge of Kilkenny city

Posted Dec 18, 2015
Pros: Room , staff, location, bar, fireplace, decor
Cons: bacon at breakfast slightly overdone, needs some baked beans. shower pressure needs improvement / adjustable hose/ flex and larger bath towels
Location: near enough for a nice long walk into town. v good hotelgym and wildlife out the back
check in was excellent, very friendly staff offered me a mince pie and some hot chocolate and a room upgrade as i hadbeen at the hotel 30 years previously. Hotel has changed, been upgraded and my room was on a par with any of the 5 star hotels i have stayed at in Asia. Lovely ambiance in the hotel, bed was v v comfy. excellent coffee at breakfast. Will return in summer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Declan from Dublin

A good, but not perfect, night away

Posted Nov 2, 2015 on Hotels
The room smelled of poor plumbing and yet the bathroom was fine. I also had to ask for a caretaker to help me turn off loud sound in the bathroom from the TV...it turned out the switch was missing next to bathroom door. The restaurant was closed for painting so I had to settle for a meal in the lounge. The food was excellent but no-one asked if it was all okay, all the attention was given to the large group next to me. I have to say the massage I had was excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Excellent service

Posted Nov 2, 2015 on Hotels
We attended a wedding. The food was excellent, service was great and so was everything else.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Harry from Ipswich

A relaxing break

Posted Oct 27, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent stay, comfortable, clean with great facilities and friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Stig Erik

Posted Oct 19, 2015 on Hotels
Kilkenny var en trivelig by og Newpark hotel var et glimrende valg
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lindsey from Chicago

I cannot recommend this hotel

Posted Oct 8, 2015 on Hotels
The pictures on Hotels.com versus what we got was so disappointing. I even emailed management of Newpark to let them know how disappointed I was with our stay. The room was only ok but for ~90 euro a night it was just not up to par with the other hotels we stayed at on our road trip. The pictures on hotels.com make it look huge and modern but our room (and our friends room) was old and outdated. Staff was not welcoming or very friendly. My husband is 6'2" and our friend is 5'11" and they had trouble comfortably showering because of how cramped the shower stall was. I emailed management over 2 days ago and have not received a response. The hotel is actually about a 15 minute walk to the city centre.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sergio from Sacramento

Great Night's Sleep

Posted Oct 5, 2015 on Hotels
This is a quality hotel. The check-in process was very easy and the hotel staff was very kind. The hotel room is very spacious, clean, and quiet.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 4, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Michael from Ottawa

Holiday Inn with a Large Bar

Posted Sep 30, 2015 on Hotels
Could hear the neighbours from the other room whisper/sneeze/talk. They gave us the disabled/Wheelchair accessible room with one towel and wide windows where people could walk in front.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Satisfactory

Posted Sep 22, 2015 on Hotels
Clean Hotel