Ratings based on 382 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Allentown, PA

Nice hotel if you are traveling with children

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Pros: The room was clean.
Unfortunately, we were not traveling with children which made our stay a bit unbearable. We were put in a room that was next to the patio where they were showing evening movies. At midnight, we had to call the front desk to ask when the movies would be ending as it was very loud in our room. There were kids running up and down the hallway and doors banging late into the night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from scotland

Comfortable hotel

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Very helpful check in, we arrived early but they phoned us after a short time to tell us our room was ready. A nice 10 minute walk into town. Very family/ young children friendly. Breakfast was the only slight disappointment one morning the bacon, sausage etc from the buffet was cold at 8.30am. Would recommend staying here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cleveland

Posted Jul 9, 2017
It was a little chaotic when we arrived because a wedding reception was being held in the lobby. The breakfast was very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel in Kilkenny

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Pros: The Children's Adventure Trail, the food, the staff, cleanliness, comfortable rooms.
Cons: Air conditioning in rooms.
Location: Kilkenny Castle, shopping, dining, about an hour from Rock of Cashel, about an hour from Glendalough and the Wicklow Mountain area.
Our family of four stayed one night at Newpark Hotel. I most appreciated the hotel check-in staff. I could tell something was wrong with our reservation as he asked twice for our name and then if our reservation could be under a different name. Then he took our confirmation page and excused himself for a couple minutes in the back room. He then came out, apologized for the delay, and gave us our room information as well as gift bags for the children. He never once made it seem like it was our problem, but handled it himself. Our children loved the Nature Trail, filled with animals, a playground, a small zipline, etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle upon Tyne

Great hotel Walking distance to Kilkenny.

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Only criticism I have is being woken up at 2-30 am by unconsiderate guest. Staff and hotel fab.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic Hotel for Children

Posted Jun 13, 2017
We traveled with a 2 year old and 9 month old. This hotel was so friendly for children. They got a goody bag when they arrived, which my 2 year old loved. Outside there was a playground, animal park, fairy trail, and nature walk. There is also a pool, but we arrived too late to use it. My kids loved playing everywhere and we felt comfortable the whole time traveling with children. We would highly recommend for parents with children!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Pros: Food
Cons: Level of service and hospitality
Hotel appears to have had grander days, but rooms and hallways are tired and smell mildewy and stale. Breakfast and dinner were nice. Most disappointing was the checkin staff and manager. Not hospitable. We had a booking problem but instead of simply advising us that there would be an extra fee, the staff made us sit and wait in the lobby - a very tired family of 5 of us. When I finally got up to check on the status of our rooms since we'd been waiting a while, I was told we couldn't get into even one of our rooms until they worked out the booking error. When I finally understood all the hotel wanted was to charge me extra I grudgingly said fine but please let us into our rooms. They still insisted that we take the keys to 3 rooms instead of two even though I'd paid the fee. Then to make matters worse the manager called 20 minutes later to check on us but didn't offer any sort of understanding. Still insisting that even though I'd paid the fee I had to occupy three rooms. Beyond crazy and for the level and class of hotel this is supposed to be, it was not at all what I would expect. We travel a good bit and stay in nice places most of the time but I've never encountered such inhospitable service in this class of hotel. DONT SPEND YOUR TIME (or money here). Try something else
3 out of 5
by David

Good hotel but my room was not the best

Posted May 24, 2017 on Hotels
Room was next to games room; was noisy in morning and room was also quite hot with noise from some Machine outside the window.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good ammeneties

Posted May 23, 2017
Lots to do. Could use some upkeep in some areas. Faucets not really connected to the sink etc. Basic things that make the otherwise nice bathroom seem cheap. The pool is very busy as the pool and gym seem to be the town's fitness club and elderly water aerobics. The elderly crew tend to dominate the pool for many activities. The grounds are nice with a great animal viewing and fairy walk. Food was good. Staff was helpful. There was a backed up plumbing issue that really permeated much of the hotel. But is was quickly handled and things were fine in the hotel most of the stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: Pleasant decor and comfortable
Cons: Remove the smell.
Unpleasant floral smell in reception area. No lift to level 1. Breakfast good especially the coffee. Evening meal uninspiring and greasy kitchen smell in the restaurant