Ratings based on 71 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Wonderful hotel!

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Pros: Everything
Wonderful last night of our trip to Ireland. The hotel was lovely and the staff was super friendly. A special shout out to Rupert who was wonderful!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from franklin park, United States of America

Great place for kids

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: Very kid friendly - staff very helpful - plenty of free parking - nice restaurants
Cons: Bed maybe a bit hard for my liking. More staff on desk for check out.
Location: Kilkenny town was a bit of a walk but no complaints from the kids - the zoo was great and the nature walk looked as though would have been interesting
Quick check in, nice Christmas diorama in reception area, kids loved the game room and the zoo and also the Fairy path. Restaurants on site were also very good with great staff and service - had both breakfast and evening meals there. Room was very spacious and nice modern bathroom with plenty of towels etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful family centered hotel!

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Wonderful greeting, easy checking. Staff eagerly helped us get our bags and get is settled. Nice family room. Wonderful pool, spa and sauna. Breakfast was fantastic!! Outdoor kids area with animals was amazing!! I would definitely stay here again. Thank you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto,Canada

Very nice break fromB&Bs and Guest Houses

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Location: Kilkenny is a lovely town for exploring
Very friendly staff. Breakfast waitress noted my Brother was coming down with a cold. She made him hot lemon and honey with out asking. About a 20 minute stroll to down town. Cab ride back only €5 if you are too tired to walk back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Great hotel close to town center

Posted Oct 1, 2016
Pros: Everything
The staff were very helpful, food was great and location easy to find and explore from.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Very nice hotel with a short distance to town

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, the Jacuzzi hot tub on the balcony.
Cons: Comfortable pillows, better quality of food for the dinner menu.
Location: Short drive to town where you basically can spend the whole day exploring the castle, river walk and taking a tour of the city on the tour "train".
This was a very nice hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful. We arrived in the midst of a wedding reception in the lobby which made it special. After checking in, we decided to head to the hotel pub which was filled with the wedding guests. The bartender were great and made our drinks to our specifications. We had some very tasty snacks and relaxed as we did "wedding people" watching and the enjoyed the procession of the wedding couple as they passed us by. We were also on our honeymoon and so wished them well on their new journey together. The room was clean, spacious and modern. We had a hot tub on the balcony and enjoyed it both nights we were there despite the drizzly weather. It was fun and different. The hotel is family friendly and had an outside petting area with farm animals and was great for families with children and as adults we enjoyed it as well. The hotel breakfast was similar to all the other hotels, with typical Irish fare as well as plenty of cereals, pastries, fruit and breads to satisfy any traveler. Our first night's dinner was just so-so. I had ordered the prime rib which was really a few slices of overcooked beef. The only complaint we had was the uncomfortable pillows which made our sleep less than restful. The hotel is a short drive to town. We chose to take a cab in for dinner at a wonderful Italian restaurant so as not to deal with driving or parking issues. Overall this is a very nice hotel and we would definitely recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Pros: Staff and food
Cons: Nothing very good sort walk to town
Location: Very good lots to do and see in Kilkenny.
Staff very good food good best hotel we have stopped in for a long time we all enjoyed our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful, family friendly hotel

Posted Sep 15, 2016
The hotel farm, play area and fairy walk were fantastic for my son. The hotel was beautiful and clean. 20min walk to town. Only negative for us were children not allowed in jacuzzis
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very clean and comfortable, excellent breakfast

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness , ease at checking in and checking out. Outdoor pool
Cons: Indoor pool could be made to be more attractive
Location: A little out of town , but if you like walking it takes around 15 mins . Plenty of Restaurants and bars. Excellent food and great entertainment.
We travelled to Kilkenny from Dublin using bus and train , trains are exceptionally clean and cost was about 34 euros return on the train and 10 euros return on the bus. It took about 3 hours but the station is very central and it's a very easy journey to make. People are very friendly and the food was very reasonable with ample portions and a great taste.live music in lots of bars making this a great place to visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from co cork ireland

Very nice hotel

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: Friendliness of staff stood out
Cons: It would be the classic rooms
Location: Location was ok as well
Excellent staff all round from the moment we went to the reception desk they were very pleasant and helpful to us also all the staff in the restaurant day and night as we had lunch and dinner there were outstanding, we did change room because we didn't like our first room as if was just a classic room and we found it very boring and dull as there was a big tree outside our window blocking all the light but Sarah the girl at reception gave us a superior double with no problem at all and it was lovely so I would recommend this hotel to our family and friends