Ratings based on 50 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Last minute stay

Posted Nov 2, 2016 on Ebookers
Pros: Location
Cons: The keys/ locks for the doors
This hotel is in an ideal location as it is within walking distance of all amenities in the city centre. We booked on the day the that we stayed so not a lot of chice available. The room had all fascilities but badly needs updating. Furnitire and decor very old. Bed was comfortable. the big problem that we experienced was that all of the bedroom doors are opened with actual keys. The directions on the door tell you to turn the key all the way to the right but believe me - easier said than done. It took us quite a bit of time to get into the room each time. The bigger problem was that others were having the same problem with their keys on their return to their rooms late at night and I spent most of the night listening to their attempts and their frustration. Please either get new keys or change the rooms over to a swipe card. I would have scored the hotel much higher if we didn;t have this problem
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg, Canada

Great location

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Lovely historical inn in the heart of Kilkenny. Fantastic 'full Irish' as well in the morning.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 23, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nova Scotia Canada

A unique Hotel experience

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: The friendly staff, the location and the attached bar & restaurant.
Cons: Nothing
A unique hotel experience. During our visit we received the warmest welcome and encountered the friendliest staff of any place we stayed while in Ireland. Although it is an older hotel and may not have all the amenities of a fancier hotel the staff more than made up for it by making us feel they appreciated the fact that we chose their hotel. Centrally located the hotel was clean and comfortable and included a fantastic breakfast. I highly recommend this hotel
4 out of 5
by David from Huntington Beach, CA

Kilkenny curio

Posted Jul 7, 2016 on Hotels
Very convenient location in the walled city. Close to the castle. Close to many live traditional music choices, and good restaurants. Nice bar with street patio, too. Breakfast was excellent with very efficient staff. Curious assortment of stairs to the rooms. If you have mobility issues, advise the staff, as this hotel is an amalgamation of several buildings. We found it charming.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from County Limerick

Lovely hotel, very clean and staff very pleasant.

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Pros: The location, the cleanliness, the staff.
Cons: Nothing
Location: We booked this hotel as we were attending a concert in Nowlan Park so this hotel was perfect for our needs.
Just an overnight stay but very pleasant. Free parking and free drink in the hotel bar on arrival - a very nice touch!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 25, 2016 on Hotels
Staff was very courteous and helpful. First night some apparently drunk guests were quite sleep disruptive. It seemed an aberration rather than a norm.
4 out of 5
by FAITH from San Diego, CA USA

Convenient.

Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
We had a great first night, but loud second night. Make sure you ask for room 1-9 if you have trouble with stairs.
1 out of 5
by siobhan from Wicklow

the bleeding bed

Posted May 29, 2016 on Hotels
I was bringing my 27 year old daughter away for her birthday she was so depressed with the hotel that we decided to go to bed,and watch tv there were only 2stations on a tiny tv that you had to keep moving to get reception !the sides of the beds looked like they were bleeding but on inspection it was rust from the nails !next morning the electricity went off so we couldn't watch tv use hairdryers or charge phones !!!the
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aussie

Close to town, good breakfast

Posted May 23, 2016
Difficult to get your luggage up to your room. Lovely staff, great breakfast.