Ratings based on 899 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baltimore

Good economical place to stay.

Posted Dec 13, 2017
Pros: Right on beach, cheap.
Cons: Suggestion, when we stayed it was almost empty, if you would have upgraded us to a view we would be stopping by every time we travel through, but no.
Location: Beach
Clean, friendly place. Not 4 stars but exactly what I ordered - clean, friendly inexpensive place to stay, free breakfast. Some parts showed their age, I will repeat, some parts showed their age (but nothing that mattered), weird elevator set up, beach access was kind of limited and no views at all of the beach from anywhere actually inside the hotel if you weren't in a view room (no main window to look out from or passage from inside to outside with a view, the back side balconies looked over a/c units and a roof - horrible, but I didn't pay for an ocean view and I didn't get one - that was my decision. We were just passing through so we would have had to pay extra for an hour of view before it got dark - not what I decided. It was clean, they were friendly, economical, right on the beach. Since I ran out of room in the suggestion box, here are more suggestions: Note to management - manage expectations. We paid for a base room and that is what you gave us and I am fine with it. However, our hotel the next night was also almost empty (as you were) so they upgraded us to a better room for free - we didn't ask or pay for it but got it anyway. The next hotel now has customers for life because we asked for B and they gave us A plus. Also, one older gentleman on your staff used the bathroom without washing his hands - very unprofessional. Finally, on the waffle batter machine, it says to "push" but it is not clear as to push down or back (it is back) - clarify that.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from va.

It was a good hotel it is close to the beach

Posted Nov 28, 2017
Pros: Close to the beach and the breakfast in the morning
Cons: The beds are too hard and pillows to soft
Location: Location was good close to the beach and the pears and restaurants
It was ok all I did was sleep there, but it was good to get away and whine down away from work for a little while I would do it again.close
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 8, 2017 by Lynsi Wilson, Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope that will come back to see us soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lancaster pa

Great location and great staff

Posted Nov 28, 2017
So all the rooms heating elements were going out, it was very cold in our room, and they had to move us. They didn’t have any more heating elements and couldn’t fine more! Crazy- but this was happening all over the same hotel- but the hotel staff were awesome, upgraded our room even though they had comparable with working heater. We asked and they gave. Breakfast was good with very little gluten free options, unless you want eggs, bacon and yogurt, but my husband and Mom loved the waffle makers and chocolate chocolate chip muffins :) right on the beach and we woke up to the surf and a beautiful sunrise every day!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 8, 2017 by Lynsi Wilson, Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope that will come back to see us soon!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Older hotel but nice staff. The room was sufficient and clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 24, 2017 by Lynsi Wilson, Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Come back and see us again soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

our stay October 2017

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: Just needs conscientious people to keep things a bit more polished.
Location: Dinner at Black Pelican is a must.
There was only one elevator for a 4 story hotel. Lots of waiting! I didn’t like the fact that the only access to the beach was thru the hallway and past guest rooms with beach chairs, etc. It was off season, but the pool was green and a very unattractive view for those with a pool view. There were places around the outside with trash in the bushes. We were there for 4 days and no one ever cleaned up. The bed was fairly comfortable. I thought it was overpriced.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2017 by Lynsi Wilson, Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We appreciate your feedback, and we will use it to be better in the future! We hope to see you again soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This hotel needs an update.

Posted Oct 17, 2017
I checked in at midnight. The clerk was not the friendliest. The room looked a bit rundown.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2017 by Lynsi Wilson, Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We apologize that you were not satisfied with your stay, and we will deal with the staff issue you mentioned internally. We hope that you will consider staying with us again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Not what I expected.,.

Posted Oct 17, 2017
The hotel is located next to the beach which is great however once you enter the hotel and venture to your room you get a different picture. The lobby was nice and clean but as we proceeded to our rooms we immediately noticed the wear and tear of the building. There was a weird musty smell in the hallway and the “crown molding” in the hallway was horribly done. The actual rooms needed more indoor lighting, the blanket on the bed had some spots on it but luckily we had brought our own sheets. The room definitely needed a new paint job, there was an old shower head in the bathroom and the water took a while to go down the drain as you showered (yuck). The room has a wet feel in the atmosphere which was weird so we had to keep on the slightly noisy AC. The door that led out to the balcony seemed to be swollen so it was not fully closed but there was another lock on the door to keep it closed. Once we stepped on the balcony we noticed that the ceiling was rotted out in different places so we did not step out onto it. I will not recommend staying at this facility until they make the much needed renovations.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2017 by Lynsi Wilson, Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We apologize that your stay was not what you expected. We have forwarded the issues you mentioned to our maintenance department for them to evaluate and repair. We hope to see you again soon!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from VA

Great location. Nice hotel for the money

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Room was comfortable. The only issue was internet service kept going out. Great breakfast. For the locations and price I’d come back! It was clean but not fancy. For my needs I was very happy with the stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2017 by Lynsi Wilson, Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback! We will definitely look into the internet issue you mentioned. We hope to see you again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from newport news va

Staff great, beach great, breakfast great

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Great stay came down for wedding. Great time. Breakfast was great, staff was pleasant. Room was very comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 13, 2017 by Lynsi Wilson, Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We appreciate your feedback, and hope you will come see us again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Nice hotel close to the beach.

Posted Sep 27, 2017
Pros: Clean room, great location.
Cons: The exterior was deteriorating and there were cigarette butts on the ground.
Location: Super close to lots of shopping places to eat.
The room was very clean and the staff was great. The exterior of the building (on the beach side) was aged and needed some work / cleanup. But overall, you cannot beat the location. The ocean is right over the sand dune and they even had a nice deck for relaxing. I would definitely stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 13, 2017 by Lynsi Wilson, Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We appreciate your feedback, and hope you will come see us again soon.