Ratings based on 1,337 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Cozy hotel on the beach.

Posted Jan 2, 2018
Overall, the room was nice and I would stay here again. The room was clean, cozy, and comfortable. My only complaint it the loudness of the heater. The heat would turn on and off throughout the night and since it was so loud we would all wake up each time. Additionally, there was no option to have the fan run continuously.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Viirginia

A Favorite Hotel

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Pros: The friendly staff and the homey feeling to the lobby where you can enjoy the fireplace with a bag of popcorn or cup of hot tea or cider.
Cons: The internet service needs to be better. Most evenings we couldn't connect.
Location: The location is near shopping, restaurants, the Wright Brothers Memorial and of course, it's at the beach!
This was our second stay at this hotel and it was just as wonderful this trip as our trip last February. The staff is so friendly and make you feel welcome. The hotel is one of the oldest in the Outer Banks but it is very well maintained. Very clean and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from va

Excellent place

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Pros: price
Cons: curtain in room let light in making it a bit hard to sleep at the beginning
Location: nagshead is near , nice beach to walk. Avalon pier is super close too and is only $4 and then the sand dunes are close too and wright bros. memorial
The blonde blue eyed lady in the afternoon has the best customer service i have ever seen.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 20, 2017
It is close to the beach, nice people , clean and comfortable room
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Glass Half Full

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Pros: The breakfast was generous, there is a roaring fireplace in the lobby for your comfort, hot cider, and freshly popped popcorn at your pleasure.
Cons: They could clean the chimney, wash the tiles better, re-secure the sink, get bacon on the buffet, and update their security on the computer.
Location: Wonderful location, not far from Miller's restaurant, which was excellent. Also very near the Wright Brothers attraction.
I read the reviews of the motel, and I can testify that they are all true--both negative and positive. The staff of the Wilbur want nothing more than for you to be happy and satisfied--something that they cannot necessarily provide but that they will give every attempt to achieve. The motel is the oldest on the Outer Banks--something they do not tell you ahead of time, but it has been refurbished with all updated interiors. The work done is acceptable though not to the highest standard. If you are looking for quaint and not concerned with square footage and you want to be right on the beach, this place is what you are looking for. I visited during the off-season, during which there is a roaring fireplace in the lobby for your comfort, hot cider, and freshly popped popcorn at your pleasure. My phone would not dial outside the motel, but the staff allowed me to use their front desk phone when an unexpected emergency occurred at home. I could not be more grateful. The breakfast was generous, but you must like sausage and egg omelets--there will be no bacon. You may end up with a room that has no direct connection to the lobby or one that does. If it is one that does, you may find that your room fills up with the smell of wood smoke. This can be rectified by ripping up the numerous free publications available in the lobby and shoving them into the gaps around your door. Overall, my stay was positive--like most things, it could have been improved upon. Oh, and it may be haunted ;)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Posted Nov 4, 2017
Pros: Location, staff friendly.
Cons: Time to update the rooms.
Location: Beach is right there.
Room very small, bad smell inside, but great location (direct beach access a few hundred feet away). Breakfast below average. Staff kind and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Weekend Getaway

Posted Oct 31, 2017
Pros: Complimentary snacks!! Loved the popcorn, warm cider and cookies. The entire staff was very welcoming and friendly.
First time staying here and we will definitely return!! Next time we will opt for the suite to have a little more room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MN

Wonderful ocean stay

Posted Oct 28, 2017
We had the most wonderful room, clean. Comfortable, cozy. On the beach with the most knowledgeable staff of the area. They gave us insight on things to do and see that interested us. Will definitely be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Franklin, WV

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Stayed here before. Very nice building with beautiful wood work. Close to the beach and the staff is very accommodating. located near to all the Kill Devil Hills and Nags Head have of offer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Louisville, Ky.

Great Stay, Great Staff

Posted Oct 21, 2017
The staff was very helpful with recommendations on local restaurants and helping out with directions. My wife and I plan to go back to OBX and will most likely stay here again.