Ratings based on 380 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mineral, Va

Not too bad for an overnight stay

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: The front desk and staff were extremely friendly. The bed was comfortable and We slept good.
Cons: The walls, and carpet and furniture all need to be replaced. The hotel also contacted me via text and requested me to improve my review, not cool!
Location: The hotel is located by a lot of shopping, restaurants and is a few blocks from the beach.
The hotel needs some serious updating. The bed was comfortable and I slept good. The room was clean but felt dirty due to the age of the hotel. The shower curtain had mold on it. The water pressure was very good an there was plenty of hot water. Also the TV, refrigerator and microwave was newer. Next is security, we were on the third floor and the door leading to the outside stairs was not secure. It had a room key lock but I could pull it open without the key. Also, my room door had a chain on it but it was falling off. One screw was missing and the other was only screwed in half way. When I see things like this, it tells me that the owners quality management is not good. Also, I don't think the hotel had an elevator ( the hotel has 3 floors). The hotel is ok for an overnight stay but that's it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Old

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: Not much.
Cons: Updated finishes, new ice machine, an elevator (which will never happen).
This hotel is just plain old. No elevator (don't get on the 3rd floor), old facilities. The rooms were clean, but smelled of old hotel and musty carpet. Ice machine didn't work. They were handing out little trash bags with ice (until they ran out). Swimming pool was crystal clear, it was 79 degrees, but the pool was locked up. Not sure why, it would have been nice to swim a little. I would not stay here again, nor would I recommend the hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Overused and Outdated

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Pros: Good location.
Cons: See above, old and worn.
Location: Close to Duck and the Blue Point Inn; great restaurant!
This hotel has been heavily used and is in bad need of updating. Carpeting is worn and stained, bedspread needs to be replaced, and everything could use some freshening up. Would not recommend, unless you are just looking for any place to stay on the Outer Banks.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Good weekend. Really enjoy it. Perfect seafood and wonderful view.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

Close to brach

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Would only stay here in a pinch - small room seemed dirty !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Excellent desk help very friendly and helpful. Older motel but very clean
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Raleigh, NC

Convenient hotel to beach and attractions

Posted Sep 1, 2017
We have been going to the Outer Banks since the late 1970's and this hotel has been a fixture since that time. Its not on the beach but a short walk. They do have golf cart shuttle service but only makes sense if you are a large group carrying many things to the beach. The hotel is '70's era and was probably last updated 10+ years ago, meaning its dated. A/C worked fine and the shower had decent pressure and hot water. The room was clean and the hotel staff very pleasant. This was a last minute booking during the summer season so the room rate was commensurate with the quality of the accommodations. If you are in the Outer Banks for a weekend, this hotel will do in a pinch if you are no expecting modern feel and touches indicative of today's mid-grade Quality and Holiday Inns.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Ok hotel near beach

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Pros: Friendly and helpful staff and location
Cons: Facility needs to be renovated, it is well worn
Location: 2 blocks from the beach, close to restaurants and shopping
The hotel staff is friendly and very helpful. The facility as a whole is clean and neat, but shows a lot of wear and tear and needs to renovated. The continental breakfast leaves much to desired in my opinion, but this is a personnel preference. Overall I would recommend this hotel for a short stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampton VA

Decent and clean, nothing fancy

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Good place to crash for a night or two but wouldn't be great for much longer. Room was clean but kinda outdated and tight on space. It's fine for sleeping but too small for hanging out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2017 by Cai, GM, Hotel Management
Hi Kevin! Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Expedia. I sincerely appreciate your honest feedback about your experience during your stay at our hotel. I do hope you enjoyed your visit to the Outer Banks, otherwise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Was pleasant hotel near restaurants helpful about places to eat and directions
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2017 by Cai, GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Expedia. I am very happy to hear that you find our property conveniently located near restaurants and attractions. I sincerely hope you enjoyed your visit to the Outer Banks.