Ratings based on 1,196 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from north carolina

This is no 5 Star but....

Posted Nov 24, 2017
This is no 5 Star but it’s a great hotel for a great price. The location is perfect and exactly what we needed. Cheap but not too cheap for a family of 5. We got the suite. This area is the best kept secrets for inexpensive family fun planned at the last minute. Bed were much more comfortable than anticipated and have stayed at many hotels to include 5 stars. For the price it met the need.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2017 by Travelodge Hotel, Hotel Management
It is always appreciated when a guest takes the time t review their recent stay with us. I am so glad that our "secret spot" was suitable for your family. We are one of the least expensive hotels here in the Outer Banks, centrally located right in the midst of all kinds of activities and with a great location right across from the beach. We are often complimented on our comfy beds-and it is because we spared no expense on them-they are top of the line Beautyrest. I am glad your family was able to get away for some "last minute" fun and encourage you to come visit us again. Every month and every season offers something fun and unique here on the Outer Banks. Thank You, D.Lorditch Guest Relations Manager
3 out of 5
by Edward

Posted Oct 31, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2017 by Hotel Guest Services, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us . We hope if you find yourselves back in the Outer Banks we can be of service to you again. Sincerely yours, D.Lorditch Guest Relations Manager
3 out of 5
by Wayne

Posted Oct 27, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2017 by Hotel Guest Services, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us . We hope if you find yourselves back in the Outer Banks we can be of service to you again. Sincerely yours, D.Lorditch Guest Relations Manager
4 out of 5
by Tammy

Posted Oct 24, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 27, 2017 by Hotel Guest Services, Hotel Management
It is always appreciated when a guest takes the time to rate their stay with us. We strive to give every guest the best possible experience so it is nice to see that you were able to give us out of 5 STARS in our score,. We hope the next time you come back to the Outer Banks you will stay with us once again. Sincerely yours , D.Lorditch Guest Relations Manager
4 out of 5
by BRETT

Posted Oct 24, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 27, 2017 by Hotel Guest Services, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to rate your recent stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed our property enough to give us 4 out of 5 STARS. We strive to be the best we can. I hope the next time you find yourself back in the area you will choose us again Sincerely yours, D.Lorditch Guest Relations Manager
5 out of 5
by DAVID

Great value, comfortable bed, clean room

Posted Oct 17, 2017 on Hotels
I never stayed here before. As I arrived the lady at the front desk was very nice and informative. I got a small room with only 1 bed because that was all I needed. I must say I was surprised by how nice the room was because of the price, needless to say I feel like I got a great value, great bed clean room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2017 by Hotel Guest Services, Hotel Management
It is always appreciated when a guest takes the time to review a stay with us. When that review is positive and is accompanied by 5 STARS-it certainly shows that we are doing a great job. I am so glad you enjoyed everything and hope the next time you are in the Outer Banks you will choose us once again. Sincerely yours, D.Lorditch Guest Relations Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beach Hotel

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: Location and hotel staff.
Cons: Door latch was worn and difficult to open.
Location: Convenient to the beach and local seafood restaurants. 3 blocks from the Wright Brothers Monument.
Used the hotel as a base to visit Duck, Corolla, and Hatteras Island.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2017 by Travelodge Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We always appreciate when a guest points out the pros- so perspective guests see our good points. We also appreciate the cons because it helps us to know where we have room for improvements. We strive to be the very best we can and value our guests input where necessary to keep the hotel up to the high standards we hold ourselves to. We hope you will choose us again on a return visit. Respectfully yours, D.Lorditch Guest Relations Manager
5 out of 5
by gerald

Great value

Posted Oct 5, 2017 on Hotels
Great staff ,clean,quiet,easy walk to beach
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 7, 2017 by Hotel Guest Services, Hotel Management
It is great when we get a 5 OUT OF 5 STARS on our reviews for so many reasons...the most important one being that we have had yet another satisfied guest stay with us. Thank you so much for taking the time to let others know about us. We look forward to the next time you can join us for a getaway, Thank you, ' D,Lorditch Guest Relations Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not Good

Posted Sep 25, 2017 on Hotels
We will never stay in a motel that allows animals again. We almost got bit by a dog in the hall. Breakfast was scanty. Cleanliness was not good. We reported a problem with a lamp and it was never fixed. We do not think that the sheets were ever changed while we were there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 28, 2017 by Hotel Guest Services, Hotel Management
It is appreciated when a guest takes the time to offer constructive criticism so that we can see where we may need to make improvements. We keep an excellent log book at the front desk so in the event we need to address any issues we can do so with an educated and informed answer. It is your right to review anonymously-however that doesn't allow me to look up what room you stayed in so I can investigate further....also during the time frame around your stay I only see just one report of a bathroom light not working and the front desk took care of that right away. We offer over 25 items on the complimentary breakfast with a variety of choices including-waffles, assorted donuts, 4 kinds of both grits & oatmeal, assorted bagels and toasts, fruits, fresh yogurt, juices milks and of course our "never empty" coffee urn. We are centrally located though and there are several restaurants within 2-3 miles of the hotel which offer breakfast until 2 p.m. for our guests who desire something more than we offer, Our many- many positive review about the cleanliness of the hotel speak of themselves. As far as your sheets being changed- we as many other hotels participate in the "Go Green" program. There is a card hanging next to your towels on the bar, that card states that if you need clean towels simply put the dirty ones in the tub so housekeeping will know you want them replaced. It also says.."We make up your beds each morning-if you wish to have your sheets changed out please simply place this card on one of the beds so housekeeping knows. Of course a phone call down to the front desk could have rectified that issue at once. Lastly-in ALL my years working I have not ever -not once had a guest tell me they ALMOST got bit by a dog-and I have NEVER had a guest actually bit by a dog. This is something we would take VERY seriously as I would assume the person alleging the issue would as well. There is no mention anywhere in our front desk log about a guest stating they almost got bit by a dog. Please accept my apologies for the issues you brought to our attention and I hope that my explanation and reply helps to clarify that we take every review seriously and appreciate all reviews. Respectfully yours, D.Lorditch] Guest Relations Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel very close to the beach

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Expedia dropped the ball on my reservations but the hotel staff was really friendly professional with making things right with my 3 rooms
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 26, 2017 by Travelodge Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am glad that in spite of an issue you had with expedia messing up your reservations-you still were happy and had a good experience due to the front desk staff. We strive to be sure every guest has a positive experience. In the event there is a "glitch" due to a 3rd party booking site-we will always try to go above and beyond to rectify the problem and prove to YOU our valued guest -that we deserve your business. I am glad we were able to get you into all of your rooms quickly and without any more issues once we figured out Expedia's mistake. We trust the next time you can get away for a short stay or an extended vacation you will remember the professional staff here at the Travelodge Hotel. Sincerely yours, D.Lorditch Guest Relations Manager