Ratings based on 272 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxford UK

Fantastic original special hotel

Posted Jul 20, 2017
The hotel really added to our brilliant long weekend in fab Killarney. Lovely staff, great period decor. Really special. Highly recommend. Very central. There was a cheap car park just 4 mins from the hotel. 3 Euros for 24 hours. Yummy breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northampton

Fantastic Hotel. Exceeded Expectations.

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: Everything about the Arbutus is wonderful. Lovely architecture. The rooms are a bit dated but has a lovely comfortable homely feel and very clean.
Cons: I AM been penecity,but I would have liked a chest of drawers to separate my items especially as we were staying for seven nights.
Location: Lovely Churches,shops,pubs, tea rooms, jaunting car rides to lakes, ross castle national park and much much more
We arrived early evening for a seven night stay, it was a little chilly,but as we entered the lovely lobby with fire on we felt at home straight away. We were greeted by Ina at reception, very welcoming,informative and helpful member of staff,nothing too much trouble for her and offered us complementary tea and ginger cake when we had settled in which was much appreciated. The other receptionists'that we had dealings with"Michelle and Katie"were friendly and very helpful,again,nothing too much trouble. Our ensuite room on 1st floor was spacious,very clean and comfortable and although we were facing the Main Street on an extremely busy weekend we were not disturbed by noise of any description. The freshly cooked breakfast was second to none and Betty our main waitress did not have to be reminded how I liked my toast and egg cooked every morning.(I am a bit odd and like my toast burned,white of egg cooked well with the yoke a bit runny) I was not disappointed. I was not made to feel I was a nuisance for wanting something different as sometimes happens even in 5* hotels. "Well done Betty" but all the staff we met (sorry don't know everyone's name)were very helpful and professional.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in downtown Killarney

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Great hotel. Breakfast is great. The only thing I would think can be improved is giving more instruction on Parking.
5 out of 5
by GEORGE

Pleasant surprise.

Posted May 12, 2017 on Hotels
Spent 2 weeks through London and Ireland and this was the nicest, cleanest place we stayed the entire time. A lot of other hotels did not look like the pictures we saw when we booked. This was the only one that exceeded our expectations, family run and great location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Comfortable hotel in the centre of the city

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Comfortable hotel within walking distance of a lot of Irish pubs. Close to bus stops for the Ring of Kerry.
5 out of 5
by Ajit

Excellent

Posted Apr 13, 2017 on Hotels
It was a very good comfortable stay with excellent courtesy
5 out of 5
by Mike

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 7, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Co. Limerick

Town center walking distance

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Pros: warm friendly staff & spotless accommodation
Cons: nothing
Location: The hotel is minutes walk away from train & bus station & shopping outlet Its also minutes from the town center
We stayed in this hotel on a Saturday 03.12.16. Upon arrival we met a very pleasant & most welcoming receptionist, she was extremely friendly & got our stay off to a good start. The room & en-suite were spotless, & warm. The hotel is minutes walk away from train & buses & also minutes from the town center. On Sunday morning our check out experience was again top class. Dont know where this hotel hires it staff from but alot of other places could learn alot from these two ladies that looked after us. Top marks well done.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from b

Fantastic Killarney Hotel! Highly recommend!

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Orbitz
My husband and I had a lovely stay at the Arbutus hotel. We would definitely recommend it to our friends and family! Betty served us breakfast and it was delicious. The hotel staff couldn't be friendlier! The location was central to town. The only drawback's were that parking was down the street but it was easily accessible. The rooms were well appointed in the bathroom was large and clean. My only minor complaint was that the bed was a bit hard but nothing that would keep me from staying there again. We enjoyed sitting by the fireplace in the lobby! Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Hotels
really enjoyed my stay all staff v friendly . nice irish welcome and hospitality would definitely stay again