Ratings based on 114 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New York, New York

Amazing!

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: The customer service was amazing. The food gourmet and the grounds and manor house impressive.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: There is a downtown a mile or so away and you can shop, dine and go on tours from there. You can also walk their impressive grounds.
Such a quietly elegant place. You feel like you are in Downton Abbey. The staff understands service and was gracious, helpful to a fault and friendly but never overbearing. The bathroom had a deep tub, heated towel rack and floor. It also had a terrace and a separate room as a closet. I was not in their best room but a mid-level room. There were many activities for both rainy and sunny days. This information is listed in the hotel manual. For example, you can go horseback riding or on a "jaunt" (carriage ride and picnic). When I go back to Ireland I will make this hotel a priority. This is the best place I've stayed in Ireland or anywhere.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2017 by Emer , Hotel Management
Dear Elisa, Many thanks for your fantastic review, we are thrilled to read how impressed you were with Cahernane. Yes, there is certainly lots to do in Killarney, no matter what the weather. Within our guest directory we have options for all types of days for our guests. A jaunting car from the hotel to Muckross Abbey is a lovely trip to take. Thank you for the superb comments on the food and staff. We look forward to having you come back and stay with us again. With warm regards Emer & all the team.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Love this Irish hotel.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Great location. Very friendly and helpful staff. Great breakfast. Didn't eat dinner there but menu looked lovely. Felt very irish which is what we wanted.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2017 by Emer, Hotel Management
Dear Kathy, Thank you for the great review. We are fortunate to be in such a location, close to town but on the edge of the National Park with just sheep and cows for neighbours ! Thanks again and warm regards Emer & all the team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Eatonton, Georgia

Historic charming hotel close to downtown

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Pros: History, antiques, staff, location, charm.
Location: Killarney is near by along with Muckross Castle, Ring of Kerry and Dingle. So much to do!
We loved this hotel especially the staff. They were very friendly and helpful. Our room was comfortable and clean. The view from our room was excellent. There is a restaurant on site that has great food - and the breakfast in the morning was supurb!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2017 by Emer, Hotel Management
Dear Maureen, Thank you for this lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the food. I will pass on your comments to all the staff too. Once again, thank you and I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holidays, Kind regards Emer & all the team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Beautiful Country Manor

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Fantastic old work charm and service. Beautiful bucolic surrounds. The bar snacks were amazing and well priced. Only a 19 minute walk to town but you could be a million miles away.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2017 by Cahernane, Hotel Management
Dear Bazza, thank you for this lovely review and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Our great bar food is available daily from 12.30pm and then we serve dinner from 6.30pm. We are fortunate to be so close to the busy town of Killarney, yet we are in a world our own at Cahernane. Many thanks again and warm regards Emer & all the team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles CA

Luxury at value prices

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: Absolutely everything
Cons: Nothing -- maybe switch up the menu every few days but seriously, everything I ate was swoon-worthy
Location: Killarney is a cute town. You can use this hotel as a leaping point to many destinations or just enjoy the National park which is huge and fabulous.
We lucked upon this gem at the last minute. We booked 3 days and now we are staying 6. The hotel is gorgeous and kept well. The staff are unparalleled. The food is amazing. The grounds are incredible and the location is ideal, 450 meters down a private driveway, off of the Ring of Kerry. It abuts the Natiinal Park. The high street of Killarney is just a few kilometers away. Parking is easy and the wifi flawless. Did I mention the food? Oh. My. God. If you ever wanted to feel like what it might have been like to be "to the manor born" this is the place for you.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2017 by Cahernane, Hotel Management
Thank you Alexis for this wonderful review. We so enjoyed having you both with us last week. Please pass on my regards to your mother, it was a pleasure chatting to her. Kind regards, Emer & all the staff.
5 out of 5
by Stacy

Relaxing, full-service hotel.

Posted Apr 13, 2017 on Hotels
The staff here goes above and beyond to make sure that you stay is special--Mary made tour reservations for us and even delivered room service that was not typically offered!
5 out of 5
by Clay

LOVE IT!!

Posted Apr 8, 2017 on Hotels
I have fallen in love with this fantastic old manor hotel. It's the second time I've stayed -- and I'll definitely be back again! ❤❤❤
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous common spaces; rooms 'OK'

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Orbitz
LOVED the great rooms and fireplaces. Mulled wine in crystal punch bowls - divine. Rooms themselves were average and chilly but worth the stay for the grounds and common areas alone. Staff is friendly and helpful and the porridge (yes really) was FANTASTIC.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very enjoyable despite some shabby bits

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderful welcome, great food, huge room. Some public areas very charming and historic. However, the place needs a lot of work, and the good news is: work is underway just now--so if all goes well, this place will soon live up to its full potential.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Classy; like downtown abbey

Posted Dec 10, 2016 on Hotels
It was just wonderful. Just stayed a night but it was so restful it felt like longer. lovely atmosphere; different drawing rooms to 'withdraw'; beautifully decorated for Christmas; old fashioned but modern touches where needed; staff fantastic; dining room fab and the best evening meal we have had for a very long time. Just wonderful - thank you