Ratings based on 97 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Homey and convenient location

Posted Oct 5, 2016
The hotel itself is very cozy and has a homey feel especially since the staff are so welcoming, there's a laundry facility, complimentary DVD rentals and you can also borrow board games, slow cookers and other kitchen appliances. So it really feels more like an apartment complex. The first room we walked into had a musty, mildew-y smell but as soon as we told the front desk they assigned us to a new room which was completely fine. We were really impressed with all the amenities as the stove top, pots, coffee maker, microwave- in general all the cookware and appliances were new and in good condition. The only slight downside was that the pillows weren't as puffy/full as I prefer, but not a deal breaker especially for the price, convenience regarding proximity to the hospital and the great amenities. Would recommend to stay at this location for sure.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from R

Okay place

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Nice hotel and staff. Room had a smell can't describe! It was almost like paint fumes but no painting going on. Stairs to hotel are steep and ramp is narrow! You have to purchase food from hotel store so no free breakfast.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Nice Stay

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Pros: Close to the freeway and restaurants
Cons: A good cleaning of all of the carpets in the hotel
Location: Shopping, eating.
The hotel is right next to the freeway, within a mile of all the shopping you would want to do. Candlewood does take pets and I adore mine. My first room smelled of urine and feces, even after I sprayed with a bottle of frebreeze. The staff were apologetic and moved me to another room, as soon as possible.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Paris, TX

Nice hotel centrally located

Posted Jul 31, 2016
What is shown as a suite on Expedia is not a suite at this location. They only have a room with a king or a room with two queens. It's advertised as a studio suite that will sleep up to 4 and this location does not offer a king suite that does that.
5 out of 5
by Michael

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 19, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Scherman from Houston. And the name is Sherman

Just Passing Through

Posted Jul 19, 2016 on Hotels
The Hotel was good except the bedding sagged too much could not get comfortable. Glad it was only for one night. Aside from that it was ok
1 out of 5
by Alyssa from Spring, TX

Between the mold, pot, and roaches...NEVER AGAIN

Posted Jul 18, 2016 on Hotels
Spoke to Hotels.com to get my room. The hotel did not have the room I requested. They put me in a different room. As soon as I walked in I became nauseous with the overwhelming smell of mold. Further noticed the curtain near the AC unit had mold all over the bottom of it. They had no problem putting me in a different room, but there was not enough beds, so we had to get a rolling cot. Which was very uncomfortable. When I first got to the new room on a different floor, we were walking down the hallway, the strong smell of marijuana was horrendous and was bothering my daughter. She was coughing and her eyes were burning. A dead roach in a doorway a couple doors down was there for at least two days. This place was horrible, and I will NEVER stay there again!
3 out of 5
by LINDA from Brenham

Posted Jul 17, 2016 on Hotels
I was there for medical tests. The carpet felt wet; the bed felt wet the first night. I realized it was a suite but I did not realize you had to buy your food at considerably high prices. The staff were great, always friendly greeting us.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Thumbs down

Posted Jul 16, 2016 on Hotels
Positive comments first; the toom had high ceilings which made it feel larger and the hotel has a cabinet where you can borrow items and a selection of dvds,too. On to not so positive; the room had a unpleasant odor, the ac unit made very loud noises throughout the night-loud enough to wake us up several times. The beds were stiff. There were alot of construction type workers staying there that made it awkward when trying to walk my dog due to being stared at while they were outside smoking and drinking. And, the hotel staff knocked on our door once around 830am-ish to leave a note advising of the early checkout process. And,2nd time was a maintenance man asking if he could take a look at the carpet @ 11am, arent people showering and getting dressed so they can leave at that time. I dont know if any reason id be going back to Temple anytime in my life, but if i did, id rather spend the extra ~$50 and stay across the street.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dale, TX

Nice Hotel

Posted Jun 23, 2016
It was a really nice hotel. A great price and location.