Ratings based on 96 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
55% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

Eclipse trip hotel

Posted Aug 26, 2017
It's obvious this hotel is older compared to nearby hotels, such as the HI Express. One obvious sign is that there is no elevator. I was also charged a high rate for the type of facility it was, simply because of the eclipse. The hotel staff were nice, the breakfast was decent, and the room was comfortable overall.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wiscosnin

Clean hotel with nice staff.

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: See above.
Cons: Fresh fruit (bananas, apples) at the breakfast buffet would be nice. I like raw fresh foods--not glop.
Location: There were other places to eat in the vicinity. We did not go far from the hotel.
Staff members were nice and accommodating. The room was clean. The breakfast was fine. I felt that the staff members went out of their way to be helpful. We went to see the Aug. 21, 2017 solar eclipse. Many places were selling eclipse viewing glasses at inflated prices. But the hotel had FREE ones on the front desk. They also told me that if we wanted to check out closer to 1:00 p.m. we could, if that would help us. Since we had no place to go, it would have been helpful, but I didn't want to put them out so we did check out on time. I was very comfortable here, and I liked the staff and the way the hotel was being run.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hot room, freezing pool

Posted Jul 26, 2017 on Hotels
The room was a furnace when we arrived - 90 degrees. We were told unsympatheticly the cleaning staff turns off the A/C during the day. We turned on the air and left for a couple of hours to let the room cool down. The hotel is hard to find from the main road. Parking lot was in bad shape. The clerk warned us the heater for the indoor pool was broken so the water was very cold. I saw a kid jump in and immediately climb out and not swim anymore. The room for the indoor pool was ironically and unnecessarily much cooler than our guest room. The hot tub is tiny and not too hot either. Otherwise the room was comfortable after it finally cooled down. Breakfast was good and exercise room was okay. Would consider a different hotel next time or call ahead to see if the pool was working properly, although one shouldn't have to do that.
3 out of 5
by Neil

Miserable stay

Posted Jul 25, 2017 on Hotels
The check in was good and the assistant was great. The room was bad, the shower was dirty, the bedspread/comforter was stained as well as the pillowcase on one of the beds. The beds were very firm, might as well have slept on the floor. The breakfast left much to be desired. The bread for toast was dried out and hard. The toaster was preset to 3.5 which made the toast like breaking styrofoam. The eggs had a funny taste to them as well as the prepackaged cereal. Did not try the sausage or gravy, maybe that would have soaked up the dried out bread. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from stl

Good for price

Posted Jul 14, 2017 on Hotels
it was OK needs more updates... pool was freezing and hot tub was not hot
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pretty good

Posted Jul 14, 2017 on Hotels
It was a good stay overall. The sheets were a little rough-feeling,and the hot tub was not warm. But no real complaints. Would stay there again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rice MN

Very nasty

Posted Jul 10, 2017
The room was disgusting! Bedding had blood, urine and puke on it. Floor had about 3-4 inches of dust around the whole edge of the room and under beds.
3 out of 5
by Earl from Missiour

Good Enough

Posted Jul 9, 2017 on Hotels
Good place when passing through
3 out of 5
by Jake

Posted Jun 26, 2017 on Hotels
Hot breakfast was just that, hot. Wouldn't want to have to eat it again
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

comfortable and friendly

Posted Jun 17, 2017 on Hotels
We appreciate the comfort and friendliness of the staff. Breakfast was decent.