Ratings based on 128 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by James

99 years young

Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Hotels
Great no frills place to chill before and after skiing. Price point perfect wifi decent and location proximate to amenities.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 15, 2017 on Orbitz
Old inn with serious charm. Bathrooms are new and updated and room was clean. Perfect for a quick stay close to sugarloaf
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brookline

Great Value

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Location: Hotel is near Sugarloaf; we were able to get to the mountiain within 20 min of leaving the hotel.
This is a beautiful, if worn, old hotel. The staff is very nice and the room that we had was clean and quiet. You may not get the ammenities you come to expect from a branded hotel chain, but what you do get in an excellent value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orono, ME

Wonderful historic ambiance

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: Fair price, ambiance, nice art on walls including the Common Ground Country Fair posters.
Cons: Continental breakfast, with treats from the excellent local bakery, and tea as well as coffee in the morning.
Location: Skiing! Huts and trails! Day trip up to Stratton Brook Hut for lunch was spectacular.
A very comfortable and endearing step back in time. With great recent renovations to the rooms. I look forward to further expansions, including bringing the dining room back. Also especially nice for us that they allow dogs.
5 out of 5
by Dawn

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 23, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Medford, MA

Great, Charming Hotel Near Sugarloaf

Posted Jan 23, 2017 on Orbitz
Cons: Thicker room doors might help limit hallway noise being heard in the rooms.
Herbert Grand Hotel is a great, budget-friendly hotel that is only ~20 minutes away from Sugarloaf. My room was very clean and comfortable. The manager is extremely friendly and works to make sure every guest enjoys their stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cold, cold, cokd

Posted Jan 23, 2017 on Hotels
I had a family emergency and they were not willing to amend my bill for 1 night. The room was very cold. And even though I turned the heat all the way up it still did not warm up. They only offered coffee in the morning and the website made it look like a bar was available...the bed was comfortable but the frame squeaked every time you moved. But close to Sugarloaf with out the high cost
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 13, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Joseph

Herbert's excellent hotel

Posted Dec 31, 2016 on Hotels
Ski trip
4 out of 5
by Anthony

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 29, 2016 on Hotels