Ratings based on 128 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Good night's sleep

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: Clean and simple. Lots of antiques and old telephone booths are quite unique. Easy parking in front and beside the building.
Cons: Staff seemed a bit shy or awkward and not used to dealing with tourists.
Location: Great restaurant right across the street.
Great place if you're making a quick stop to sleep overnight. We had a good night's sleep and were on the road again the next day. If you're a light sleeper, ask for a room in the back. The front rooms are on the main highway and you'll hear truck and motorcycles passing by.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SC

History revisited

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Pros: I enjoyed the casual and relaxed atmosphere of the Hotel. The staff was helpful with out being all about your business.
Cons: I'm looking forward to seeing the dining room re-opened and seeing the locals enjoying the Herbert as in days past
Location: Located on the road to Sugarloaf Mountain and near-by access to the Bigalow Mountain Range and Flaggstaff Lake region. Farmington is a short drive
I used to live in the Kingfield area and have witnessed the ups and downs of the Herbert Grand Hotel as it has changed hands over the years. I booked rooms there for my visit last week. Dawn was wonderful, friendly and accommodating. She helped relocate us to better rooms than we had booked on line due to availability. Visitors should not loose site of the fact that this hotel was built in 1918 and was and is the heart of downtown Kingfield, ME. Over the years, the grandeur of the lobby with it's fumed woodwork, the portico on the second floor overlooking town, and the quaintness of the rooms that still have transom windows over the doors and antique dressers, all maintain the original integrity of the Herbert Grand Hotel. All of the rooms have been renovated and have new clean bathroom fixtures. The rooms are freshly painted and decorated with Art Deco posters. Although the dining room only functions for special occasions, fresh coffee is provided for the guests and adult beverages are available for relaxing around the lobby and the upstairs porch. I would highly recommend The Herbert for anyone wanting to step back in time on a budget! Conveniently located within walking distance to cafes, restaurants, convenience stores, the Carrabassett River, art galleries and more.
5 out of 5
by Peter

Interesting historical hotel in it's 100th year

Posted Apr 6, 2017 on Hotels
This structure does not look very interesting from the outside, but inside it is a really interesting historical hotel and in very good condition. The baths are modern and up to date. If you are a history buff you'll love this property.
4 out of 5
by Sarah

Good value, will be back

Posted Apr 4, 2017 on Hotels
Quick drive to Sugarloaf, walking distance to a perfectly good restaurant. Friendly staff, clean and comfortable rooms. Coffee available in the morning, alcohol for sale in the lobby. The only problem: sound travels very well, and there will be early risers on a winter weekend. We unfortunately had a pretty loud family staying (way) down the hall, so I was up with them at 6:30. I found it to be a minor inconvenience, and for the price it's an excellent value.
4 out of 5
by Paul

Ski Trip

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
The room was very clean a little small and no TV. This was a total shock to my teenager but the wifi worked so he was all set. Got a good night sleep, no frills but beautiful historic bldg.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Gem of a place close to Sugarloaf

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: Personal service and historic charm. Very good value and price for long weekend stay.
Cons: I pretty much enjoyed everything about the place.
Was very easy to find after a long drive up the east coast. Good parking. Extremely friendly and personable hotel manager. Entire hotel and individual rooms were historic, clean, and tons of character. Bathrooms immaculate and large. Plenty of hot water. Access to a couple of local restaurants and bars (across the street and down the road). Local water is same used in the Poland Spring Bottled water - excellent tasting water. Next door to a Sugarloaf affiliated ski and snowboard gear store (that was well stocked). Short 20 minute drive to Sugarloaf. Great location and awesome hotel. Can't wait to return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Place to stay when skiing at Sugarloaf

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Neat place with lots of history. Clean rooms. Great to have good foods across the street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charm and Character

Posted Mar 3, 2017 on Orbitz
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this charming, old-fashioned hotel. Clean, comfortable, affordable and close to Sugarloaf.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MA

Well kept structure but some issues

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Pros: Old structure in generally good shape. Historical value.
Cons: Probably can't do much for noise reduction, but offering "hot" coffee should be easy to get done.
Location: Closeness to Sugarloaf was the reason for staying there.
Structure is from past years. Generally well kept. Major issues with closeness to the road and logging trucks rolling by starting at 4AM. Suggest requesting a room on the rear side of the building if you want sleep. Also disappointed that coffee was only luke warm at 7AM. Must have been brewed the night before and put in insulated containers that can't keep contents hot for overnight.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 28, 2017 on Hotels
Liked the lobby and the staff that worked there. There are no tvs, refridgerators, or vending machine and the town stores close very early. Nice drive back and forth to the mountain