Ratings based on 134 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colombia

What an excellent hostess Dawn is!

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Pros: Dawn is an excellent hostess.
Cons: I always miss a TV in the room when there isn't one.
Location: I was just passing by and needed a place to sleep, so I actually didn't get to know the location.
After a mistake I did making a reservation at this hotel (a mixup in dates), Dawn, the manager, made a very big effort in helping me solve the problem. She accommodated me according to the dates I needed, for which I'm very grateful. As for the hotel, the property is an antique property turned into a hotel. You can find very nice and fine touches in the hotel. Rooms were spacious, very clean and comfortable. The antique touches that the property has are very good. Sometimes you feel in another time.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from York County Maine

Vintage hotel

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Had a reservation for a room with a queen bed and got a room with a double bed. Was promised by the desk staff that there will be coffee and tea in the morning and there was only coffee. Convenient location/ interesting old building.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

Expedia did not inform us totally

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: That it was step back in time and had history.
Cons: . more antiques of period fresh flowers fresh linens matching towels quilts insulation in walls dollies clean windows soft music sitting area
Location: Indian museum... the best thing we did. Walking across the bridge, have lunch across the way, and going to the store up the road.
We were so surprised to park and see the tables upside down in the lounge/ dining area. Yes we found it as we opened the door it was under renovations. When we were talking to the manager the house keeper kept going down the stairs and back up. She seemed very unfriendly. We felt like we really should not stay but decided to check out the room anyways after the manager showed us the lounge area. The manager also said we could not get our money back if we did not want to stay. We found an earwig in the tub and wonder what other types of bugs were there. We were on the third floor. Then I got a weird feeling like we were not wanted in that room. We had left all our bags in the car. We were glad of that. We were going to spend the night in the car if we couldn't find another place. We found out the place is a certified haunted hotel. What that was not disclosed either. The stairs to the third floor where not accompanied by a lift or elevator. Being a senior myself found that it was a tough hike to the third floor. The parking is in a shared lot with the next building or you can park on the street. There is no picnic area as noted in hotel description. We were there early September 2017.. We were totally disappointed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

older hotel,good for rest when travelling

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: quick check in - out
Cons: for the price good value
Location: eating near by
came in late afternoon stayed one night off early next day
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from FL

Comfortable

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Easy check in, great staff, comfortable bed! Great dinner in restaurant across the street (staff recommended). Terrace needs to be cleaned; gliders need to be replaced, but would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Loved our stay!

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Loved this historic hotel. Room was like "wow" to us from the old light switches to radiator heater. Very comfortable. We were trying to see a moose as we had never seen one before ... and with the "moose map" they had we were successful! Thank you! Longfellow's across the street had excellent food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Good night's sleep

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: Clean and simple. Lots of antiques and old telephone booths are quite unique. Easy parking in front and beside the building.
Cons: Staff seemed a bit shy or awkward and not used to dealing with tourists.
Location: Great restaurant right across the street.
Great place if you're making a quick stop to sleep overnight. We had a good night's sleep and were on the road again the next day. If you're a light sleeper, ask for a room in the back. The front rooms are on the main highway and you'll hear truck and motorcycles passing by.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SC

History revisited

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Pros: I enjoyed the casual and relaxed atmosphere of the Hotel. The staff was helpful with out being all about your business.
Cons: I'm looking forward to seeing the dining room re-opened and seeing the locals enjoying the Herbert as in days past
Location: Located on the road to Sugarloaf Mountain and near-by access to the Bigalow Mountain Range and Flaggstaff Lake region. Farmington is a short drive
I used to live in the Kingfield area and have witnessed the ups and downs of the Herbert Grand Hotel as it has changed hands over the years. I booked rooms there for my visit last week. Dawn was wonderful, friendly and accommodating. She helped relocate us to better rooms than we had booked on line due to availability. Visitors should not loose site of the fact that this hotel was built in 1918 and was and is the heart of downtown Kingfield, ME. Over the years, the grandeur of the lobby with it's fumed woodwork, the portico on the second floor overlooking town, and the quaintness of the rooms that still have transom windows over the doors and antique dressers, all maintain the original integrity of the Herbert Grand Hotel. All of the rooms have been renovated and have new clean bathroom fixtures. The rooms are freshly painted and decorated with Art Deco posters. Although the dining room only functions for special occasions, fresh coffee is provided for the guests and adult beverages are available for relaxing around the lobby and the upstairs porch. I would highly recommend The Herbert for anyone wanting to step back in time on a budget! Conveniently located within walking distance to cafes, restaurants, convenience stores, the Carrabassett River, art galleries and more.
5 out of 5
by Peter

Interesting historical hotel in it's 100th year

Posted Apr 6, 2017 on Hotels
This structure does not look very interesting from the outside, but inside it is a really interesting historical hotel and in very good condition. The baths are modern and up to date. If you are a history buff you'll love this property.
4 out of 5
by Sarah

Good value, will be back

Posted Apr 4, 2017 on Hotels
Quick drive to Sugarloaf, walking distance to a perfectly good restaurant. Friendly staff, clean and comfortable rooms. Coffee available in the morning, alcohol for sale in the lobby. The only problem: sound travels very well, and there will be early risers on a winter weekend. We unfortunately had a pretty loud family staying (way) down the hall, so I was up with them at 6:30. I found it to be a minor inconvenience, and for the price it's an excellent value.