Ratings based on 96 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

nice hotel,close to the ski mountain

Posted Mar 22, 2016
Pros: small hotel,nice & quite.history on the walls
Cons: coffee in the morning !!
mother of the owner was very nice! told us about dinner options in town. can't say much more-got in late & left early
4 out of 5
by Brad from Morristown

Really cool old hotel

Posted Mar 15, 2016 on Hotels
This is a really nice old hotel with a lot of history. The rooms are in need of renovations, however, they are clean. Overall a very fun place to stay.
5 out of 5
by Farruh

Posted Mar 8, 2016 on Hotels
Nice old fashioned hotel with pleasant staff. The room was clean and cozy. No TV in the room, but I actually liked that, cause I liked the "old times" feeling of the hotel. It gave us a sence of adventure.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

Convenient location close to Sugarloaf

Posted Feb 13, 2016
We like this Hotel, it is inexpensive and only 20+ minutes away from Sugarloaf. If you are expecting chain hotel amenities then you will be disappointed. This Hotel is more in the family of charm and character. We would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
by JOHN from Cumberland

Great New England hotel

Posted Feb 3, 2016 on Hotels
This is a great old New England hotel. Maintains the feel of a different era and remains comfortable, clean and quiet. I return each year during the winter and recommend to my friends.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from portland, me

Great value in the sugarloaf area.

Posted Jan 18, 2016
Could have asked for a better experience for such a great value. I'll be returning to the Herbert grand hotel soon
2 out of 5
by Patricia from New Hampshire

Seen better days

Posted Aug 18, 2015 on Hotels
Clean but very rundown. Not even a bedside table.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Blainville Qc

Stay away

Posted Aug 9, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: Good location for ski in the winter and hiking in the summer. This is in a nice part of Maine.
Old Hotel, quaint building and, that's where it stops. Grossly overpriced. Should be in the cheap motel range. No TV's, window A/C that dates back to the 70's. Old run down furniture. The cheapest brown towels they could find. Soap 1 x 2in. I can't beleive this is Expedia's lst Try a B&B instead you'll do much better.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 29, 2015 on Hotels
Absolutely disgusting!!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Posted Jun 6, 2015
Pros: centrally located
Location: Hike, look for moose, golf
Hotel has a nice parlor. Does not have TV's which was ok since most of out time spent on outside activities. Mainly used the hotel in the evening. Nice bar and grill across the street. Fifteen minute from a very nice golf course.