Ratings based on 138 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from maine

Classic

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Cozy place with no room phones or tv which makes for a nice quiet night. Restaurant/lounge not open yet from remodel but if lobby is any example resturant should be attractive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colombia

What an excellent hostess Dawn is!

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Pros: Dawn is an excellent hostess.
Cons: I always miss a TV in the room when there isn't one.
Location: I was just passing by and needed a place to sleep, so I actually didn't get to know the location.
After a mistake I did making a reservation at this hotel (a mixup in dates), Dawn, the manager, made a very big effort in helping me solve the problem. She accommodated me according to the dates I needed, for which I'm very grateful. As for the hotel, the property is an antique property turned into a hotel. You can find very nice and fine touches in the hotel. Rooms were spacious, very clean and comfortable. The antique touches that the property has are very good. Sometimes you feel in another time.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from York County Maine

Vintage hotel

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Had a reservation for a room with a queen bed and got a room with a double bed. Was promised by the desk staff that there will be coffee and tea in the morning and there was only coffee. Convenient location/ interesting old building.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

Expedia did not inform us totally

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: That it was step back in time and had history.
Cons: . more antiques of period fresh flowers fresh linens matching towels quilts insulation in walls dollies clean windows soft music sitting area
Location: Indian museum... the best thing we did. Walking across the bridge, have lunch across the way, and going to the store up the road.
We were so surprised to park and see the tables upside down in the lounge/ dining area. Yes we found it as we opened the door it was under renovations. When we were talking to the manager the house keeper kept going down the stairs and back up. She seemed very unfriendly. We felt like we really should not stay but decided to check out the room anyways after the manager showed us the lounge area. The manager also said we could not get our money back if we did not want to stay. We found an earwig in the tub and wonder what other types of bugs were there. We were on the third floor. Then I got a weird feeling like we were not wanted in that room. We had left all our bags in the car. We were glad of that. We were going to spend the night in the car if we couldn't find another place. We found out the place is a certified haunted hotel. What that was not disclosed either. The stairs to the third floor where not accompanied by a lift or elevator. Being a senior myself found that it was a tough hike to the third floor. The parking is in a shared lot with the next building or you can park on the street. There is no picnic area as noted in hotel description. We were there early September 2017.. We were totally disappointed.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 5, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

older hotel,good for rest when travelling

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: quick check in - out
Cons: for the price good value
Location: eating near by
came in late afternoon stayed one night off early next day
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

Charming hotel in a great location

Posted Aug 24, 2017 on Orbitz
We love the Herbert and stay there twice per year on our way to Cathedral Pines. Staff (owner's mom) is awesome! Best deal in the area! Well- maintained and updated rooms with plenty of hot water for a leisurely shower. Charming ambience, but just wish I would hurry up and meet one of the resident ghosts! No TV in the rooms which is fine by me. Nice restaurant across the street. Looking forward to the opening of the artisan pizza lounge in the hotel...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from FL

Comfortable

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Easy check in, great staff, comfortable bed! Great dinner in restaurant across the street (staff recommended). Terrace needs to be cleaned; gliders need to be replaced, but would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Loved our stay!

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Loved this historic hotel. Room was like "wow" to us from the old light switches to radiator heater. Very comfortable. We were trying to see a moose as we had never seen one before ... and with the "moose map" they had we were successful! Thank you! Longfellow's across the street had excellent food.
5 out of 5
by Edson

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 11, 2017 on Hotels