Ratings based on 459 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Springfield, MO

Very nice, next to interstate.

Posted Jun 1, 2017
Hotel was booked 3 hours in advance, very good price. No one was at the front desk for at least 10 minutes with others waiting with us. Hotel was very nice, and very clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 3, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
We can't thank you enough for your five star rating.Thank you so much for your kind comments and review regarding your most recent stay with us. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location and accommodations. We greatly appreciate that you've taken the time to tell us what a wonderful impression our staff made with their efforts to make you feel comfortable.We are all looking forward to your next visit and hope it will be just as enjoyable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Problems

Posted May 30, 2017
Pros: Right off the freeway.
Cons: Everything above.
The shower door had no rubber silicone to stop the water from coming out all over the floor. The glass panel at the end of the shower, did not meet the wall and more water all over. NO bath mat. Had to put towels down instead. The coffee pot was so corroded from the calcium deposits, we did not use it. The air conditioner located on the wall with the window, blew right in your face while your sleeping. No way to adjust it. The TV stand is placed right in between the couch area and the bed area. So no matter where you sit your still turning to see it. The glass panels in the toilet area and shower area are frosted glass. So if you get up at night and turn the light on, it lights up the whole room. Miserable night. Not a well thought out room at all. The sheer curtains hanging down all over the lobby are kind of creepy looking and annoying.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 3, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
I am so sorry to hear of your poor, uncomfortable experience following your stay here in our hotel. Your detailed feedback and assessment of the condition of the room you stayed in is escalated, our management team will evaluate your concerns in order to address the issue/s and call the attention of concerned staff. Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Duarte, CA

Great Overall

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: Overall great
Cons: The bathroom can have a divider for the toilet as we were a party of 5 and it was a bit inconvenient when one is using the facilities.
Location: Food... Red Lobster, Olive Garden, shopping, close to HWY 40. NAU is minutes away.
Our stay was wonderful. It is very close to NAU. The front desk helped us find a place to dine. We took advantage of the work out room and the delicious breakfast. Unfortunately, the pool was closed temporarily but the staff offered that we visit a sister hotel 1/2 a block away. The room was spacious. The beds were comfortable. The foldaway bed was cozy. It was quiet, too. Breakfast went till 10am on Sat. Perfect for us that had a slow start that morning.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and to acknowledge the efforts of our hardworking staff to be as accommodating, helpful and welcoming as possible. It is rewarding to hear that we have succeeded in making you feel at home and that you experienced no difficulties with our services or amenities.On behalf of our entire staff, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
2 out of 5
by Rochelle

If your from Colorado your not welcome there

Posted Apr 1, 2017 on Hotels
Maid called the cops on us because I assume we were from " Colorado ".. Saying she smelled marijuana... Turned out it was just burnt popcorn!!! Nevertheless we left early and will never return!!!
5 out of 5
by Ronald

Clean, convenient, and great staff.

Posted Mar 29, 2017 on Hotels
It was a very convenient stop on our Journey from Las Vegas to Phoenix.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, but room set up strang

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Pros: beds were very comfortable. breakfast
Overall the hotel was nice, modern and clean. Breakfast was good with the standard hot and cold choices. Checkin and out were easy. Only complaint is how my room was arranged with a separate toilet and bath room, each with a pocket door, which made using facility inconvenient as one had to go from one space to another when toileting. There also were no towel racks for wet towels, only a hook in each space. Had only 2 bath towels for room with 2 queen size bed. The tv was oddly positioned. The sofa in my room had a large prominent stain Built in ac was hard to regulate--bed next to unit cold, farther bed warm
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 1, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
We aim to provide our guests quality, reasonably priced hotel services in our hotel and it is heartwarming to hear that we met your approval on the condition of clean. You may request for additional towels at any time on your next visit, just please call our front desk. Thank you for your review, we hope to see you again.
5 out of 5
by Karen

Posted Mar 22, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017
Dear Karen, Thank you so much for your lovely review you have of our hotel! We are so glad to know that you had a great time with us and thank you so much for appreciating our efforts of providing you with clean and comfortable accommodations. We thank you for your kind comment and 5 star rating and look forward to your next visit when your travels bring you back to Kingman! The SpringHill Team
5 out of 5
by Christopher

Posted Mar 16, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017
Dear Christopher, Thank you so much for your lovely review of our hotel! We are so glad to know that you had a great time with us and thank you so much for appreciating our efforts of providing you with clean and comfortable accommodations. Thank you for your kind comment and 5 star rating! We look forward to your next visit when your travels bring you back to Kingman! The SpringHill Team
3 out of 5
by Quwana

Not Worth the Cost

Posted Mar 15, 2017 on Hotels
Staff in able to provide simple items, i.e., shower cap. Breakfast selection was very limited (expected more from Marroitt). Rooms are very nice, clean but narrow and not spacious. Wifi is good but could not proper connection to wire in to laptop. I would not stay again for the price. Save your money, not worth it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017
Dear Quwana, We are always thankful for comments like yours which addresses both positive negative aspects. Thank you so much for making us more aware of the details we need to continue to direct more efforts on. We are hoping to really bring your experience to a much higher level next time! The SpringHill Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lombard, IL

Nice hotel on old Route 66.

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Cons: Replace carpeting that's frayed and maybe look to add a hot tub in the pool area.
Location: Hotel is right on the old Route 66. Downtown Kingman has a lot of "trinket" stores and few good restaurants and couple breweries.
First, hotel is easy to find from the freeway. Check in was a breeze, front desk staffed by a very friendly ladies who explained everything their hotel had to offer. The hotel lobby was very clean and furnished in a modern decor. Our room was close to the lobby and easy to find. As we entered it, I noticed some frayed carpeting, which definitely needs replacing, right at the front door. The room was good size, very clean, and nicely furnished. The design was different from usual hotel rooms in the US as the toilet was separated from the shower, which is a nice convenience. The A/C unit worked nice and efficient. There was a small fridge and a microwave in the room. The king-sized bed was comfortable and big. I used the hotel pool, which was clean and water was at a comfortable temperature. There was no whirlpool/hot tub, which would be nice to use after a long day of hiking. The complimentary breakfast was plentiful and tasty. Lots of choices to please everyone. All in all, we enjoyed our night at the Springhill Suites and we recommend it to all who look for a nice hotel at a decent price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 1, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate your time in completing our survey and for sharing your thoughts on your stay with us. We will do our best to make your next visit another fine stay. We hope to see you again, and hear from you on your next visit. Have a great day!