Ratings based on 1,102 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, Texas

Fabulous Renaissance Atmosphere

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Pros: Architecture , staff and ambience
Location: there is a train directly from Gatwick Airport to the St. Pancras hotel/station. Lots of nearby shopping.
Historical and fabulous architecture matched with impeccable service! The entire staff from registration to doormen were friendly and knowledgeable. Be sure to ask them about the hotel's history, its very distinct and interesting. We arrived so early in the morning and although our room would not be ready for hours we were given access to the spa for changing and freshening up. Loved, loved loved the Chambers Club which we had access as Gold members.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leicester

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Room wasn’t ready at check in by staff very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Paris

Very nice

Posted Nov 8, 2017
Xvellent rooms. Lots of space to Move around. Very clean. Staff friendly but very professional. Overall experience excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxfors

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Very convenient location top quality hotel Very fine restored features
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Large beautiful hotel in train station

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: Location, bar, and room size
Cons: I asked that my room be cleaned before noon but when I got back at 1215 it had not been touched.
Location: Located in a train station so you have many places to eat and shop. Metro near by.
Generally a good experience. large, noisy reception area. Very big, beautiful, and busy bar with a wonderful sellection of drinks and food. Very friendly staff. Large room with expected amenities. Express check-out.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel room very average

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: Staff
Cons: Clean the leached deposits in top corner of bar.
Location: Good location for transport and very close to London theatrse , shopping and business areas
The hotel room was no better than most hotels I have stayed in recently but is a lot more expensive . if you have a drink in the bar make sure you ask the price first or you could be in for a shock. I f you wish to use the hotel pool it is very small and was overcrowded. On the plus side there are some nice features like the Grand staircase and the staff were excellent although check in was a bit on the slow side. Over all nice hotel but overpriced .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver island

Elegant hotel close to trains

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Wonderful old hotel with modern convenience. Staff were lovely and most accommodating. We were early arriving from overseas and our room was not ready. Recognizing we were tired the staff upgraded us and gave us the room immediately. The glass of bubbles while we were checked in was appreciated. Had drinks, dessert and our breakfast in the hotel restaurant and enjoyed the service and the room. Lots of restaurants in the area. Easy walk with luggage to the train to Paris in the morning. great start to the vacation
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rome, GA

Beautiful architecture, great location

Posted Oct 10, 2017
This is a beautifully restored old building. The service and staff were great. We really enjoyed The Booking Room, the bar and restaurant adjacent to the lobby. Room was comfortable and clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great historic hotel

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Beautiful building. Great friendly staff. Easy access to tube and north bound trains! Will be back🇬🇧👍
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancashire

Hotel steeped in history disappointing

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Pros: The staff were very friendly and the hotel is very clean
Cons: All grades of room should be able to use more facilities within the hotel
We booked the hotel for a celebratory silver wedding and 60th birthday as a stopover in London before we headed off to Southern France via the Eurostar. The room we were allocated had no outside windows and overlooked the events room lucky for us there was no event on that evening but they were setting up early in the morning for the next day. The staff were really good and offered us an upgrade if we paid extra money but when I asked for a better room they told us they were fully booked. The room we had booked did not come into the category of being able to use most of the facilities within the hotel. The hotel is steeped in history and some parts are really really nice. We would recommend the hotel only if you got a better grade of room.