Ratings based on 1,352 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel, close to the beach

Posted Feb 26, 2018
Lovely place for a relaxing break. Close to the beach, great restaurants right outside the hotel and great hotel pool.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hunter Valley

Salt doesn’t deliver the Peppers brand promise

Posted Feb 16, 2018
Great location 2 min walk to Playground, Park, restaurants and beach. No need to jump in the car if you don’t have too. Fantastic to have access to two pools when staying at Bale. If you are a couple looking for romance or with older more self sufficient children, there are far better places to go on holiday than Peppers at Salt. Property is getting tired, staff are friendly however, there does not appear to be an ingrained commitment to excellence by employees. Simple things like, wiping the tables in the pool area, knowing your treatment procedures at the spa, maintaining a full functioning Free WIFI and in house movie service (terrible WIFI and no movies our whole stay- we received one free breakfast as a peace offering, which was average at best), decent “paid barista” coffee at breakfast (go to the French Patisserie at Salt Village), rust stains from furniture on tiles in room, stains on carpet, cleaning the sand out of the pool spa each day, cushions on pool lounges etc etc. Interestingly, Yet in direct contradiction to the behaviour of staff, there are many signs around the resort requesting all sorts of favours from guests... wash sand off feet, don’t put sand in pool etc. Very disappointing when Peppers has long been associated with quality. Salt in so many ways let’s down the brand promise. Suggest they align their pricing better with their offering. Sorry, 3 Stars from me....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Posted Feb 16, 2018
Very quiet area in resort setting. Nice hotel. It’s the second time that I stayed at the Mantra and I just love this hotel group. Nice seafood restaurant just outside the hotel and their food is fine dining standard. Lots of other choices if you want just casual dining.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from brisbane

Enjoyable getaway

Posted Feb 11, 2018
The location is superb, the resort excellent. A most enjoyable weekend getaway.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from surfers paradise

For the price of 380 was well overpriced.

Posted Jan 22, 2018
Cons: Cleanliness
Not private overrun by families noisy uncleaned Needs s a good clean.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from brisbane

Terrible stay in 5 star accomodation

Posted Jan 21, 2018
I booked a 5 star hotel because I needed relaxing time out. We were checked in easily and got to our tiny room, felt like I was staying in London! I complained to hotel staff in a nice way and was told I was entitled to my opinion. I left and stayed at salt, I had a bigger room for $40 a night cheaper. Feel so disppointed, I spent more for the luxury but the extra wasn’t worth it. Will never stay or recommend anyone stay there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from newcastle

Lovely experience

Posted Jan 18, 2018 on Wotif
Peppers knows how to do hospitality well. We had a very relaxing stay with our two year old daughter. The rooms and beds are extremely comfortable. Hotel pools are great for children and adults and food was delicious. Overall it was everything we needed for a relaxing getaway.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 17, 2018
Very relaxing and enjoyable stay with my children. I will definitely be returning in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland NZ

Second stay, excellent but needing a spruce up

Posted Jan 7, 2018
Pros: Great location and excellent amenities with a cool contemporary interior
Cons: A little tired and in need of refreshment, see above
Location: Right on the beach with its own life saving club and safe ocean bathing. The setting is great with a string of casual restaurants and cafes opposite.
We love this place, the location and the luxury. The basic concept still works well as it did the last time we visited. However we would not expect to pay the current rental levels if the apartment deteriorated further. Still its a 9/10 from us. Still time marches on and maybe its time to refurbish some of the furnishings in the Bale Apartments? One of the beds in the Apartment we rented was at end of life and the rug in the lounge was well past its best. Two of the showers leaked significantly and both taps in the master bathroom were faulty. Some of the decor items were a little tired and in some areas very sparse.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gold Coast

7 night family holiday

Posted Jan 4, 2018 on Wotif
Pros: Everything
Cons: I would like to see the cafe open earlier for morning coffees. Maybe more items on the menu with a price reduction. Kids movies should have bean bags
Location: Plenty of places to eat in Kingscliff. Great patrolled beaches.
A fantastic holiday for myself, wife, 7 and 5 year old. We loved having our own plunge pool and as our room was at the back of the resort found it very quiet. The resort was clean and staff helpful. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Free in house movies were a bonus as were wireless internet for the kids tablets.