Ratings based on 349 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Great resort and the beach

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Had a great time enjoyed our vacation, resort is comfortable and spacious
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Katy, TX

Picture Perfect Vacation

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: My room was nice and clean. I loved the flat-screen TV in the bedroom, as well as one in the living area. The Resort grounds were clean as well.
Cons: Free snacks from the Gift shop during your stay.
Location: The location was steps away from the beach/ocean area.
My Resort stay was excellent. I had a great view of the Ocean (Room 182) and it was only a short walk to the beach/ocean. I loved the peace and tranquilly of the Resort. The food was a bit pricey, but I did not allow that to dampen my stay at Carambola. If I ever go back to St Croix, I will definitely stay there again. I also want to point out my taxi drivers (Justin and Hobson) that were at my disposal for shuttles to many places. Although the fees were a bit expensive, both directions, I still had a blast. Regards, Paula Angelle August 2017 Birthday Vacation Trip
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2017 by James K. Manager, Hotel Management
Paula, Thank you for your great review. I am so glad you enjoyed your time with us, here at Carambola. We look forward to your next return visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Very nice hotel & friendly staff

Posted Aug 19, 2017
We enjoyed our short stay at the hotel. I had read reviews regarding unfriendly staff prior to going. That was absolutely not our experience. Staff was super friendly & helpful. Hotel had a great vibe to it & location was beautiful. If we visit St. Croix again, I would not hesitate staying at this hotel again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2017 by James K. Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your great review. I am so glad you enjoyed your time with us, here at Carambola. We look forward to your next return visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 16, 2017
The hotel is very close to the beach, not overcrowded. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, but the cleaning services weren't the best e.g., wouldn't provide clean towels and you need to call to request...
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2017 by James K. Manager, Hotel Management
Olgusha, Thank you for you kind review of us. I am sorry that our staff failed to deliver the proper level of service. We look forward to you next stay with us.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 16, 2017
Walls were thin. We could hear neighbors coming and going. Lighting in rooms was very poor. Crack around front door allowed roach in.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2017 by James K. Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of us. I am sorry that we failed to wow you during your time here. We look forward to you next stay with us, when we will have the chance to serve you right.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sherman, Tx

Beautiful setting, ocean view from room!!

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Rent a car and explore this great island!! and Stay Left!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2017 by James K. Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your great review. We look forward to you next stay with us.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Westchester NY

No entertainment and no food for an island.

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Food at hotel was ok sometimes but mostly very bland. Also during my stay the pizza oven was not available on their limited menu. 40 min drive to get food from other places on island.very disappointed!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2017 by James K. Manager, Hotel Management
Jake, Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am sorry to hear that we failed in helping you discover the many nearby locations for entertainment and good food. Perhaps on your next stay with us, we can explain the new delivery service, stxdelivery.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tampa, Florida

Posted Aug 13, 2017
We stayed for a full week and definitely enjoyed our stay. Staff members were wonderful, room was clean and had all the amenities needed plus more. Dive shop is located at the hotel which was great. Beautiful view, loved the Happy Hour, entertainment, breakfast was delicious (only complaint would be price, but understandable). Everyone was friendly and happy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2017 by James K. Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your great review. I am so glad you enjoyed your time with us, here at Carambola. We look forward to your next return visit.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

St.Croix vacation

Posted Aug 9, 2017
I expect more with Marriott products. They set the standard in hospitality. The hotel has a prime location, the setting is beautiful. The staff not so much. From check-in to check-out all I saw was unsmiley faces, with no 4star service. The maintence crew were friendly saying hello. The restaurant grill food needs to be worked on. It's expensive and not made with love. The waitresses are blah, not interested in the customers. Couldn't even find ours for 45minutes. When you stay at a resort there's a certain level of hospitality you expect, I didn't see that. All the rooms have ocean views. They need a class on employee ownership, customer service and adding those resort touches. It was a motel 6 staff at the ritz Carlton. The band that plays on Friday night was great, although I wouldn't of known about that since no one told me at check in. I also didn't know I had hotel credit. Hospitality is in the details, I am not hard to please and they didn't meet my standards.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2017 by James K. Manager, Hotel Management
Tom, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear that we failed to meet our standard level of service during your time here. I hope that you will return so that we can show you the proper level of service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Appleton, Wisconsin

Being so close to the beach was wonderful!

Posted Aug 9, 2017
An hour on the beach then walk to the pool for an hour...hydrate...repeat. Fantastic!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2017 by James K. Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your great review. I am so glad you enjoyed your time with us, here at Carambola. We look forward to your next return visit.