Ratings based on 344 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Very nice hotel & friendly staff

Posted Aug 19, 2017
We enjoyed our short stay at the hotel. I had read reviews regarding unfriendly staff prior to going. That was absolutely not our experience. Staff was super friendly & helpful. Hotel had a great vibe to it & location was beautiful. If we visit St. Croix again, I would not hesitate staying at this hotel again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 16, 2017
The hotel is very close to the beach, not overcrowded. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, but the cleaning services weren't the best e.g., wouldn't provide clean towels and you need to call to request...
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2017 by James K. Manager, Hotel Management
Olgusha, Thank you for you kind review of us. I am sorry that our staff failed to deliver the proper level of service. We look forward to you next stay with us.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 16, 2017
Walls were thin. We could hear neighbors coming and going. Lighting in rooms was very poor. Crack around front door allowed roach in.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2017 by James K. Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of us. I am sorry that we failed to wow you during your time here. We look forward to you next stay with us, when we will have the chance to serve you right.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sherman, Tx

Beautiful setting, ocean view from room!!

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Rent a car and explore this great island!! and Stay Left!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2017 by James K. Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your great review. We look forward to you next stay with us.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Westchester NY

No entertainment and no food for an island.

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Food at hotel was ok sometimes but mostly very bland. Also during my stay the pizza oven was not available on their limited menu. 40 min drive to get food from other places on island.very disappointed!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2017 by James K. Manager, Hotel Management
Jake, Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am sorry to hear that we failed in helping you discover the many nearby locations for entertainment and good food. Perhaps on your next stay with us, we can explain the new delivery service, stxdelivery.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tampa, Florida

Posted Aug 13, 2017
We stayed for a full week and definitely enjoyed our stay. Staff members were wonderful, room was clean and had all the amenities needed plus more. Dive shop is located at the hotel which was great. Beautiful view, loved the Happy Hour, entertainment, breakfast was delicious (only complaint would be price, but understandable). Everyone was friendly and happy.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

St.Croix vacation

Posted Aug 9, 2017
I expect more with Marriott products. They set the standard in hospitality. The hotel has a prime location, the setting is beautiful. The staff not so much. From check-in to check-out all I saw was unsmiley faces, with no 4star service. The maintence crew were friendly saying hello. The restaurant grill food needs to be worked on. It's expensive and not made with love. The waitresses are blah, not interested in the customers. Couldn't even find ours for 45minutes. When you stay at a resort there's a certain level of hospitality you expect, I didn't see that. All the rooms have ocean views. They need a class on employee ownership, customer service and adding those resort touches. It was a motel 6 staff at the ritz Carlton. The band that plays on Friday night was great, although I wouldn't of known about that since no one told me at check in. I also didn't know I had hotel credit. Hospitality is in the details, I am not hard to please and they didn't meet my standards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Appleton, Wisconsin

Being so close to the beach was wonderful!

Posted Aug 9, 2017
An hour on the beach then walk to the pool for an hour...hydrate...repeat. Fantastic!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Searcy Arkansas

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Hotel is in need of renovations. Renovations are in progress as far as painting the exterior. However, the new paint has a carnival look. Just not classy when you consider or think of Marriot. I realize the Caribbean has bright colors but one should also consider a small amount of taste to go with it. Just my opinion!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cold-hi-o!

Will be back soon...

Posted Jul 18, 2017
This Resort is absolutely beautiful we had a beach front room and we were right on the ocean love the room so much will request the exact same room 143 when we return saving our coins right now as we speak. my only concerns are trivial one the dresser in our room was broken so the drawers would not stay shut every drawer stayed open. they need to do a better with extermination hopefully I didn't bring any of those little roaches back home that was very concerning!!! The staff was great from the top of the resort with security all the way down to housekeeping no problems, no complaint... the office staff, the bellhops, the waitresses, everyone was very pleasant! Somehow, someway though the resort should work with the town of Christiansted or frederiksted or whatever it is coming from the airport on those directions and signage. Before you knew it you passed the signs, we had serious difficulties finding the resort from the airport and GPS did not cut it, but once we arrived, started to find our way around it was nothing but bliss!!! Loved it!!! Thank you for a wonderful vacation Marriott Renaissance! One major complaint that I almost forgot about because everything else was wonderful...that BED was indeed the hardest bed I have ever slept on I think! Marriott needs to invest in some new mattresses!!! I personally have health issues and laying on that bed did not ease my pain at all it actually exasperated it, but none-the-less thank you for a wonderful vacation Marriott!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017 by James K. Manager, Hotel Management
O-H-I-O, Thank you for you excellent review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Renaissance Carambola in St. Croix. We look forward to your next visit. James Klawitter Front Office Manager