Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from The Adirondacks of New York

If you like to listen to the sea...

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: Loved the location on the sea, quiet side of the island, easy navigating to anywhere else. Knowledgeable and helpful owner. The decor: simple calm.
Cons: the shower leaked
Location: Snorkling at Cane Bay, Off The Wall beach bar, hotel restaurant, breakfast food truck all within walking distance. watching fish in the wave pool.
We were blown away by the view from our room! The sea in all of it's expansive glory was right there! The bed was comfortable and the room spacious and attractive. The staff was super friendly when they saw us but gave ample privacy overall. We enjoyed our dinner at the restaurant. Thank you Chef Tully and our lovely waitress (originally from Buffalo - I'm sorry I don't remember your name) so much that it was hard to keep our commitment to trying a new place every night. It was also incredibly cool that we could walk down the road for more coffee at a breakfast truck and a swim in the mornings and we could walk to the super friendly beach bar, Off The Wall, for music, beer and pizza. Oh and Laura ( the owner) hooked us up with a great massage therapist (Julie) right away so we could really take advantage of our downtime.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Nice island hotel

Posted Mar 18, 2017 on Orbitz
"the Waves" is accurate. The waves break right under your balcony! Very "islandy" hotel. A little older place, but very comfortable. Short walk to Cane Bay (beautiful beach, great scuba). Really good food truck about 500 yards down street for breakfast. Zero cell phone reception and zero internet. Restaurant in hotel is very good, dinner only, reservations required. We like this place!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ct

Posted Feb 19, 2017
The location was outstanding that's what made this stay terrific. We had reservations at the restaurant downstairs of the Wave and the food was wonderful and the table was perfect.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rhode island

Amazing time here

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Wake up every morning with huge open views, sounds and scents of the Caribbean. Couldn't ask for more. This was the best place I've ever experienced in my travels! Thank you Laura!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hoboken, NJ

European style hotel with fabulous views!

Posted Jan 11, 2017
The Waves is a lovely hotel. We had a large, pleasant room with a very comfortable king-size bed. The host, Susan, was helpful and caring. The restaurant is excellent and since we were staying at the hotel, we were guaranteed a table. A few suggestions to make this an even better experience: more frequent room service, including fresh towels and bedding, fix the persnickity a/c and provide healthier room snacks. All in all, we enjoyed our stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Magnificent views and restaurant

Posted Jul 1, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent in-house restaurant. Great views from balcony. Close to beach and dive centre. Spacious room. Housekeeping proved a little sketchy, though (failed to come in on one day).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Basic necessities. Spacious rooms. Great location.

Posted Dec 21, 2015
We stay at this hotel because it is a very short walk to cane bay. We like to spend the day on the beach there. Great snorkel and scuba location. The hotel has the basics nothing fancy. Nice big balcony and you are right above the ocean. The restaurant at the hotel has great food (get the fresh lobster and also coconut ice cream)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice!

Posted Aug 23, 2015
It's not luxury but can't beat the view. It was comfortable and has a great location . Close to cane bay and lots of restaurants. The restaurant Waves was great-the room was spacious the bed comfortable-was never sure when we were going to get towels or the bed changed, but would stay here again . Laura was super friendly and the staff at bar was really helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Waves!

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Pros: The overall location to water and other sites.. Although it didn't have beach access, the beach was a 5 minute walk away. The great restaurant!
Cons: Perhaps the only thing would be a small box of tissue, but other then that; the hotel was perfect.
Location: We took daily walks til the road ended at Carambola Beach Resort We also walked up Hwy 69 a good uphill hike. Cane Bay for the beach.
Laura, the manager was very professional, friendly and helpful. Our room was clean, stocked with snacks, several bottles of water and coffee to get us started. They provided beach towels for our use as well as the option to use beach chairs if we needed. The room was large, clean and had magnificent views of the ocean with the sound of the waves crashing on the shoreline. Each room has a fabulous, large deck with two lounge chairs and small table. Morning Yoga was never better. The restaurant was fabulous. We ate several meals there and were not disappointed. The hotel is located on a "walking/biking" route which made it wonderful to go for our morning walks. There are several restaurants within walking distance. There is also a small beach, dive and scuba area within walking or short drive from the hotel. You do need a car to get to the center of St. Croix and other areas, but all are easily accessed from this location. We enjoyed this hotel very much and will return again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 5, 2014 on Hotels
The Waves was a great find! Three things that we liked: Night music (waves crashing all night long), the kitchenette, and, great restaurants not only at the hotel but in the surrounding neighborhood. There really isn't anything negative to say about our stay. We loved St. Croix and can't wait to return someday.