Ratings based on 1,333 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

"Water park" had a non-functioning 2-story slide

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Pros: Clean room, comfy beds, overall friendly staff
Cons: Keeping promises or being honest during check-in. Restaurant is average at most. WiFi connection is slow.
Location: Kingston is a lovely place. Hotel is a 10 minute drive from downtown.
We chose this hotel in part for the 2-story water slide for our teenage boys. During our stay, they tried the water park 4 times; the slide was either being repaired, being tested by staff, or just shut down. At check in staff promised it to become functioning in a few hours, but alas. My teenage boys ended up very disappointed. Rooms were clean, beds were comfy. The restaurant is just so-so. Risotto tasted like Kraft. Overall, price we paid was to high for what we got...
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Québec, Qc

Bien..

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Bel hôtel. Quelques chambres de rénové, mais salle de bain qui serait à améliorer. Pas loin du centre ville de Kingston en auto. Par contre, peu de restaurants au alentour de l'hôtel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montréal

Hôtel correct pour court séjour

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: Accueil du personnel. Propreté de la chambre et de l'hôtel.
Location: 20 minutes du centre-ville.
Piscine familiale alors on oublie la détente. Chambre propre, mais lits pas assez fermes. Salle de bain propre mais petite. Hôtel loin du centre-ville. Déjeuner au resto bon, mais sans plus.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Last minute trip to see schools

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: The rooms were nice and bed comfortable.
Cons: Pool maintenance.
Location: It was close to everything - we had a great visit. Highly recommend this hotel for people wanting to visit Queens and the colleges around as we did.
Nice hotel and facilities, but we specifically booked for the pool and it wasn't pleasing at all. The water was murky and thus we chose not to use it. That was disappointing for us. Beds great. Staff great, food great, everything else was just fine. Very sad about pool and hot tub. It was to be a highlight for us.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from kansta on

Dated

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Very dated stains on furniture no toiletries had to find cleaning staff tv did not work wallpaper peeling stain on bedspreads odours in room
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ottawa, ont

Kids love the waterpark

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Hotel was great. Friendly staff, great rooms and having waterpark right there is amazing
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ambassador has gone downhill

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Years ago the Ambassador was a great place to stay but I was unimpressed this stay. Only one server in the restaurant. No air so too hot to eat. The price of food was horrible. The wifi signal was horrible in the room. housekeeping didn't clean our room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 12, 2016
It was a great stay. The only complaint I have is that a housekeeper kept knocking on doors at 830am to see if we had left yet so that she could clean the rooms. Checkout is 12 and I would like to think that we are able to stay there till then without disruption. As we were leaving she asked a few of us what rooms we were in so that she was able to cross it off her list.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overcharged

Posted Aug 11, 2016
We booked and paid through Expedia, just to get charged again with the card we put on the room for incidentals. When we called the hotel they acted like they didn't understand what my husband was saying. The manager then said that they take $100 out for incidentals and refund it if not used. We have never heard of that. While my husband tried to explain to him that they took the $80 from his card that was he price of the room, they then acted confused again when we said we had paid for the room already. We're now taking it up with Expedia.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PH ON

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Nice hotel could use some upgrades. Carpet in the hallways smelled musty. Water slide stairs are coroaded.