Ratings based on 1,462 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Room was run down and not the cleanest. Water bottles remained in fridge from previous guests. Won't stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2016 by Ashley, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review. I am so terribly sorry you encountered so many issues. Did you call down to have a housekeeper go up to remedy that for you?
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Overall it was nice and convenient location

Posted Nov 20, 2016
The only drawback was the stale, musty smell on the room which was worse when the AC/heat unit was on. I'm not sure why the AC was on when we got there - it is November in Canada after all.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2016 by Ashley, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review! Our maintenance team is working on cleaning all of our HVAC units so this won't be an issue the next time you come stay with us.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Last minute need fulfilled

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Our stay was a last minute requirement and we were pleasantly surprised. Although there were two sizeable groups booked and very few rooms available, we were pleasantly surprised that our room and the hallway were quiet. Nicely done staff!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2016 by Ashley, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review! I am so glad we were able to get you a quiet and relaxing room so you could enjoy your stay in a similar fashion! Looking forward to having you back!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Posted Nov 10, 2016
There isn't a whole lot to choose from in Kingston, so we usually end up coming back to the Ambassador while in Kingston for hockey, Queen's reunions etc. This hotel is getting old and needs a facelift. Our room wasn't the cleanest, and the walls had marks all over like kids had been playing hockey inside. The hotel staff are pleasant but again, the hotel just needs some polish.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mississauga

Great service, clean room but water issues

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: Staff is kind, friendly and attentive.
Cons: The water damages
Location: National park for hiking and bird watching Great restaurants and boutiques; we walked on the street viewing all the nice places St Mary's Catheral
The room was comfortable and clean. We felt the hotel safe. Those are my top criteria. The carpet on level 4 had a huge stain from previous water damaged, the hall ceiling was leaking; a bucket was placed under the leak. I hope this is resolved soon as it doesn't give a good first impression. Staff went far from beyond good customer service by provinding is with a printed map to a national park we wanted to go too.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room bathroom wasn't clean.

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Pros: The location was close to the downtown area and close to the university. Check in was fast. Other than that I didn't like much about this hotel.
Cons: Cleanliness and condition of hotel in general. Huge stains in hallway, wallpaper peeling off walls in rooms. Poor service in restaurant.
Location: Close to queens university and downtown Kingston
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from quebec

Kingston

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: Said in review
Location: Liked the location. Close to stores food
We have stayed at this location a few times before with no issues. HOWEVER this time we were given a room that the window overlooked the pool. We had to keep our curtains closed at all times. If I wanted to sleep in a box with no windows I could have done that by sleeping in a cardboard box. A lot cheaper. There was a small heater in the room but not adequate enough to do the job. Very disappointed
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great location

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: location and staff
Cons: pool area not working correctly
Location: pretty much central location easy to get to tourist things as well as city attractions
staff very friendly.. pool area not functioning fully. disappointed slides only for Friday/Saturday .. staffing .. showers not working in that area. Very bright rooms with lots of space.. a bit of updating is sure on list .. comfort stay great value wish they offered complimentary breakfast
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 24, 2016 by Ashley, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I would like to apologize for the issues you encountered during your stay with us. We are working hard to get the pool back up and running and get back to our best! Looking forward to having you back so you can enjoy the steam room and see how amazing we really are!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from montreal

Not the worst, not the best

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Hotel is a little outdated, seems straight outta the 1980s. The location was great for me as I needed to be close to the via rail station. Any complaints about the time warp decor take a back seat to the staff-- everyone I dealt with was really awesome!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 24, 2016 by Ashley, Hotel Management
Thanks so much for your review of our hotel. I really appreciate you taking the time out of your busy schedule to let us know how we're doing. I am so glad the staff really wow'ed you. Looking forward to having you back again soon!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great family hotel

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Location: Nothing near by to walk to. Although good restaurants are just a few minutes drive. 5 minutes from historic downtown.
The water park is definitely a great feature. Be ready to hear trains unless you have white noise running at night. Room is nice except carpet condition.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2016 by Ashley, Hotel Management
Thanks so much for your review! I'll pass on your feedback! Looking forward to having you back again soon!