Ratings based on 1,655 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cobourg On

Posted Sep 26, 2017
Everything was fine except for the mildew in the grout lines in the bathroom. It looked like mildew to me .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stratford, ON

A little shopworn and tired

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Pros: Convenient to highway 401
Cons: New carpets, repaint/paper walls would go a long way to dressing up this old style hotel.
Location: Downtown Kingston a reflection of the room We parked one block off the main drag and were surprised at the amount of trash and broken sidewalks.
Title says it all the staff were nice; friendly and helpful. Room was adequate. Public areas of corridors very old and tired. Would not stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A nice hotel away from the centre of town.

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Cons: The West Tower rooms are in need of some updates.
We enjoyed our stay. Plenty of amenities and easy to access hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 24, 2017
We were given a room next to a hydraulic elevator which was extremely noisy. The room had no natural light coming in. The only window was facing an internal court area and we had to keep the blinds closed to maintain some privacy. Despite our complains, the staff refused to accommodate our request for a different room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Pros: We liked the pool, open after 10:00pm for adults only.some of the furniture could
Cons: Some of the furniture could be touched up.
Location: Location central for colleges, train station and downtown
We checked in easily. We probably should have asked to be in the tower od the hotel, because we wanted easy access to the pool. we had to go briefly outside to get there.outherwise things were fine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfy, clean room

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Very pleasant at the front desk and other staff heLpful when assistance required. The beds and pillows were comfy. The bathroom and room were clean. The bathroom has been updated, but needed to have a bar to help those needing help getting in and out of the tub. There was a problem with a leak in the hallway just outside of our room which was a little worrisome. Also, there were only ice machines on the fourth and fifth floors and the one on the fourth was broken. The room also had a fridge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Pros: comfortable and clean
The room was clean and the service was good. It was nice having the convenience of a mini fridge and coffee maker.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ontario

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Front hotel staff was very unacomadating We were not allowed to use are visa/debit to use as a security deposit like most other hotels. Even though we booked online. We were forced to scramble to use a family members visa to secure deposit even though I was able to pay full amount up front with debit. If not we were told there was nothing they would do and have to find another hotel. We traveled 3 hours to get to kingston and this was our first experience. Very disappointing with the lack of willingness to help!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tired and worn hotel with good bones

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: Price and location were good
Cons: On,y one elevator worked and bathroom was frankly horrid and every fixture needed replacement asap
Location: Great location off highway
Ambassador motel has been a Kingston tradition for years. It needs some TLC and quickly
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brantford

Good Value

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Good value for money. Close to downtown Kingston and St Lawrence College.