Ratings based on 1,649 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel with basic comforts

Posted Jan 17, 2018
Overall, this hotel is a good basic hotel with clean rooms. There is a pool and water slides, so I could see families liking it (but I didn’t use those facilities). It is a bit dated, and you can really see the wear and tear from over the years (e.g., marks on the walls, both in the room and hallways), but overall clean and comfortable. It is about a block to the nearest bus stop, and the busses easily get you to downtown and the train station, which is really handy. There is also a ‘panrty’, with snack and toiletries for purchase. Prices aren’t bad, but some items looked a bit pricy. Overall, for the price, it was a clean and comfortable place to stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 18, 2018 by Ashley, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time out of your busy schedule to leave a review with us. I do appreciate the feedback on the pantry as well as the hallways, that is something we are always striving to improve on!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Posted Jan 9, 2018
Good location (not to far from the 401 hwy). Great client service and rooms were clean and comfy. Recommended.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2018 by Ashley, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review! I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 9, 2018
Easy check in Easy drive to all Kingston has to offer Rooms clean
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2018 by Ashley, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 9, 2018
Nice accommodations, friendly staff and a nice pool.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2018 by Ashley, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Belleville

Great Hotel... Expedia, no so much

Posted Jan 8, 2018
Pros: Booked a suite Rm 522. Bath was HUGE!
Location: To do nearby... really!? We had a night in hotel without our 5 kids running around screaming... :/
Hotel was great!!! However... a few hours after booking through Expedia a $1500 Air Canada flight was charged to my card and another $3500 of unauthorized transactions were attempted.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2018 by Ashley, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us! I am so terribly sorry you encountered the issues with Expedia, have you contacted them?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The water slide is the best feature..

Posted Jan 7, 2018
Cons: A lightbulb was burnt out in room
The water slide is the best feature of this hotel. My 5-year old daughter LOVED it. The pool is also warm, although gave the sense it may have not been that clean. Staff were very friendly. Lots of other families. Negative aspects - the hotel is aging - decor could be upgraded, and the room especially gave a feel of being outdated. However, overall, given price and experience, I would recommend this hotel. For me, I will be going back for the waterslide!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2018 by Ashley, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Muskoka

Water and price were good but some not-so-good too

Posted Dec 29, 2017
Price was great via Expedia and others. The kids were extremely happy to have the pool. It was clean, busy and pleasant. One of the two hot tubs were not working. One of the two saunas were not working. The pool was warm. The big slide was really really cold the first night but warmer the next days. The lifeguards were friendly but unfortunately the one lifeguard behind the desk played on her phone most of the time we were there... For many families, the pool would be the reason to come to this hotel. Room was decent and pretty normal in many regards except two... there were crumbs all over a chair when we arrived the tv was terrible. The restaurant during the Christmas Holidays operated on a skeleton staff. They were pleasant and did their best but they were overwhelmed and they needed more support from management who scheduled them. I felt bad for them but even so, it wasn't a great experience. Food itself was decent. Price was also pretty fair. Still, consider ordering food in? I'm not picky so I promise that I wouldn't go out of my way to look for bad things to talk about. I guess you get what you pay for sometimes and we didn't pay too much. That said, I think I'd pay a little more to try another place in Kingston.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2018 by Ashley, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sory about your experience with the lifeguards and housekeeping, I'm showing it to the Executive Housekeeper to ensure there is better attention being paid.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Dec 27, 2017
We had a good stay at the hotel, no issues. The bonus was we were able to do an early check in which helped us out a great deal.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2018 by Ashley, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from trenton ontario

Close to amenities but the hotel is worn and tired

Posted Dec 24, 2017
We checked in on a Friday evening , there was chipping in the tub and paint . Two lights did not work and we were not able to adjust the thermostat at all . Both jacuzzis were broken and the steam room was also out of order , additionally the water in the pools was freezing . Our kiddos didn’t last long and were so so cold
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2018 by Ashley, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay as much as you could have!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Nothing Presidential about the Presidential Suite

Posted Dec 16, 2017
Pros: The friendliness of the staff.
Cons: Cleanliness, maintenance and staffing.
Location: Close to the Cataraqui Cemetary where we had to go.
Booked the Presidential Suite, 1 Bedroom, Fireplace and can honestly say that after several hours waiting because the room wasn't ready, it was disgusting. The tables weren't cleaned, the jacuzzi tub had a ring around it, the glasses weren't cleaned, broken fixtures and so much more disappointment. Having to wash everything down is not my idea of a restful stay. The reason they said that the wait was so long was that they were cleaning it. Really???? It may have been a bit cheaper than staying downtown but not worth it. The furniture was minimal and if you are putting in a mini kitchenette, you should stock it with some clean cutlery/glasses a dishtowel or two, a dishcloth and at the very least, some paper towels. Because I didn't have a blacklight handy (will definitely invest in one) I couldn't tell if it was new clean sheets or the bed was just remade...the sheets were overly wrinkled. Also, try staffing better - the Manager of the Hotel was bussing tables. Overall, won't stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2018 by Ashley, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review. I apologize for the issues you encountered during your stay, we are definitely better than that. Again, my most sincere apologies.