Ratings based on 1,115 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Insect problem

Posted Aug 17, 2017
I found out at the last minute -- too late to cancel, so I lost my money -- that recent guests got bed bug bites. During my stay in Kingston I dropped in to Confederation Place to let them know I was very upset at losing my money. I was told that the guests didn't get bites; they were "just sensitive to the material of the blankets." I told them that I just heard from a friend of a friend that their room at Confederation Place, two months ago, reeked of insecticide. I was told that was not for bed bugs - it was for spiders.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It got the job done

Posted Aug 17, 2017
The price was better than other hotels in Kingston the weekend we went. Visiting friends so we weren't in the room too much. Room was clean. Bed was comfortable. Staff friendly. Tired and dated. Would stay again in a pinch. Skipped breakfast at the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from quebec

Neir tout attractions

Posted Jul 29, 2017
Good expérience just une Nighthawk on transit tout Chicago
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bowmanville

Close for shopping

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Nice stay, Tuesday night. Most shops close 5:30-6:00 pm during the week. Breakfast wasn't great but ok for continental. Had cereals , toast, strawberry yougurt , hard boiled cold eggs, sausage and hash brown thing so enough variety to put something in your stomache:)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Barrie, On

Great location along the waterfront and convenient

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Pros: rooms and view
Cons: parking in front for check in
Location: already did above
The only issue we had was lack of designated parking out front for check in . Also check in was slow on the days we arrived. Morning breakfast great and staff exceptionally helpful. Underground parking worked well I am not providing any more info . Do I look Ike I am your advertising or promotion agency .. You are lukcy I took th time to do this as I have already submitted my review on Trip advisor
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2017 by Gord, Hotel Management
Thanks very much for staying with us. I agree that the check in can be a bit challenging. Thanks so much for your patience for that and also with Expedia's lengthy questionnaire. have a great day,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Burlington, ON

Average hotel but great location.

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Overall cleanliness, ensure rooms are in working condition (eg, bath tubs are in working condition)
Location: Excellent location - close to boat cruise, city hall, stop for hop-on-hop off stop and restaurants.
Overall good stay, average hotel and breakfast. Great location, close to cruise, city hall and hop-on-hop off bus stop. Some good restaurants around. Room was average, the water blocked in the washroom tub and had to ask for room change after we were all settled. Had 83 year old mother with me and was tough. Should have received credit for the discomfort we went through. Breakfast was below average.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2017 by Gord, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and providing your balanced account of your stay. I am sorry for the slow plumbing. Do consider staying with us again. We try to provide the best value down town. Thanks again
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Ontario

It needs to be updated!!!!

Posted Jul 19, 2017
This place is early 90's old... it really needs to be upgraded and fast!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newmaket

Average. Close to river and restaurants.

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Pros: The staff and the continental breakfast were great! Location was very convenient.
Cons: As mention, the decor (no big deal) and especially the cleanliness!!!
Location: Right on the river/lake. Close to restaurants, shops and things to do!
The staff were great! Especially Leann who went above and beyond in helping us get ticket reservations and information. The hotel seemed to need a lot of work. Clanky elevators and outdated decor. The room (405) was standard size with microwave, coffee maker and fridge. The carpet was dirty and in one place sticky. The towels were prestained and the bathtub had some chunks of things in it that I had to wash down before getting in the shower. It was hard because it did not drain well at all. The wallpaper was peeling and definitely needed cleaning of the cobwebs, dust and green stuff growing at the ceiling line. The floors behind the toilet had moldy grout. Oh, and the table in the room was very rickety. I had to tighten it myself so it wouldn't collapse...lol. We were only there for one night and it was not that expensive so no biggy but any longer and.....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Location

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Good location. Parking a bit of a nuisance, very few spots available under the hotel itself, no street parking nearby, but there was a public pay lot across from the hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

On the waterfront

Posted Jul 16, 2017
The location is the best thing about this hotel. The staff are friendly and helpful and the rooms are clean. The basics are good but there is nothing special about the hotel. No restaurant. Pool are and hot tub area are not inviting.