Ratings based on 159 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Debatable cleanliness

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Pros: Location suited our requirements
Cons: Cleaning routine improvement! Get your cleaners a Hoover with attachments!
Location: OK place to stay for nearby Thousand Island cruises and Tower
This place advertises itself as clean. This is debatable. The beds were comfortable and linen fresh and new, bathrooms were also spotless.However, it was let down by the state of the floor edges and corners. There was a large accumulation of dirt and spiders webs in places the vacuum cleaner cant reach! These areas havn't been cleaned in months! Check-in staff was friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2016 by Sam, Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for your review. We appreciate the feedback regarding the cleanliness of the floors in the room and will certainly look into measures to improve this for the future.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hamilton, ON

Air Conditioner/Heating/Breakfast

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Location: We went on the 2 1/2 hour boat tour. It was awesome! However, the Handmade Gift Shop wasn't open for anyone to purchase gifts.
The room was fine. However, the air conditioner/heater did not work the way it should have. The first night we didn't get much heat. After speaking with the front desk clerk on the second evening, we did what they said to do but it didn't work either. We set the fan was set to medium and the temperature at 72. It kept going off all the time. It would run, then shut off for about 30 seconds and then run again. We finally unplug the system as it would wake us up. The outside door was a bit of a pain. Most of the people going in and out of the hotel would just let the door slam. That wasn't very pleasing especially when our room was right outside the entrance door to the inn. Breakfast, well there was only bananas for fruit that weren't rip enough. They were too green. There was two servers with signs that indicated that one of them was eggs and the other was sausages. There was none in the dishes. I asked the young man if he was going to put out more and he said that they only serve eggs and sausages on the weekend. Those dishes should not have been there if they weren't going to serve eggs and sausage. The dispenser for the Raisin Brand cereal was broken. No one could have this cereal. For the second morning we decided to go to a restaurant for a proper breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2016 by Sam, Hotel Management
Hello Cindy and thank you for your review. We are sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your stay with us and that in particular you had issues with your air conditioner/heater as well as with the provided breakfast. We will certainly look into the heater to fix any technical issue and we apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. The breakfast that we provide has switched to continental for the weekdays seeing as it is the off season and we are sorry that we did not inform you about this on checkin. We hope that aside from these issues you were able to enjoy your stay with us.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Camden, DE

Used to be a nice place to stay in the day

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Rooms small, noisy neighbors, no kleenex in room, towels pathetic, small TV, slow at sign-in and I had already prepaid. Ice machine broken in area. Overall look of outside area you would see paint peeling and wood rot. Not being taken care of.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2016 by Sam, Hotel Management
Hello Dusty and thank you for your review. We are sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We appreciate the honest feedback and will do our best to improve on these issues.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Upstate NY

Trip to the Canada side of the 1000 islands

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: Good night sleep, clean and close to the finger lakes and a casino.
Cons: It does need some updating and the cable came in somewhat fuzzy.
Location: Close to the finger lakes and a casino nearby. The US border is less than an hour away.
So the place is old but it was clean and somewhat comfortable. It was down the street from a casino and is right in the 1000 islands region of Canada. The free breakfast consisted of scrambled eggs and sausage. Toast, fruit, muffins and cereal are also available. Just get there early to get a better selection of fruits. The tour bus group got in their early and left just a few pieces of fruit but they were bringing out fresh scrambled eggs which were real and not the powdered variety. They had redone the bathroom of our room and the beds were comfortable. It had a balcony to sit out on but the view of the Tim Hortons was what we had so it left something to be desired. Would I say there again? Yeah, it wasn't the worst and not the greatest but the price was right and we did get a good night sleep. for a little excitement there is a casino just minutes away and plenty of restaurants around and the finger lakes and the US border are less than a half hour away.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2016 by Sam, Hotel Management
Hello RaderWayne and thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and in particular that you got a good night's sleep and that you enjoyed the location. We appreciate the feedback regarding the need for renovation and are in the planning stages for just that. We look forward to seeing you again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean and comfy

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Stayed one night and found the beds and linens very comfy. Room was clean and nice. We appreciated having a fridge and microwave in the room. Breakfast was good. This is a larger complex than anticipated with nice grounds and outdoor pool. An older hotel with lots of character, but could use a refreshing coat of paint on the outside. Short drive to Gananoque's beautiful waterfront, very close to restaurants. We would stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2016 by Sam, Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for your review. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that in particular you liked your room as well as our outdoor space. We appreciate the feedback regarding the need for renovation on the outside of the building and will keep it in mind when discussing future renovations. We look forward to seeing you again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Brampton, Ontario

Nice hotel - easy to locate.

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Pros: It was nice - outdoor and indoor pools where everyone seemed to be having a nice time.
Location: Perfect location - close to restaurants and easy to locate when we came off the highway. Easy access to 1,000 islands expressway also.
Easy to locate - speedy service checking in. Quiet location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2016 by Sam, Hotel Management
Hello karen and thank you for your review. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that in particular that you appreciated our outdoor space and our location. We hope to see you again soon!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Easy to find. A bit run down. Comfortable. Would not return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2016 by Sam, Front Desk Attendant, Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for your review. We are sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your stay with us enough to want to return. We are always trying to improve and we are planning renovations for the near future. We hope you will decide to visit us again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nothing spectacular

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Hotel was ok...staff weren't very friendly. Could use a little more up keep...
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2016 by Sam, Front Desk Attendant, Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for your review. We are sorry to learn that you did not have enjoyable interactions with our staff. We appreciate the feedback regarding this and regarding the upkeep of the hotel. We hope you will decide to visit us again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Ok location

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Pros: Nothing really
Cons: The whole place..swamp behind the facility
Location: Really good
Hotel is old..needs updating..will skip this hotel next time we are in area..
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2016 by Sam, Front Desk Attendant, Hotel Management
Hello Sandi and thank you for the review. We are sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We appreciate the honest feedback on the hotel, however we wanted to make a point that the swamp you are speaking of is quite far back from our property and that it cannot be seen or smelt from any of our rooms. Once again thank you for your review.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mount Albert, ON

Relaxing atmosphere

Posted Apr 18, 2016
Pros: Quiet and Clean
Cons: Nothin
Location: Very close to the Thousand Island Cruise (recommended!) and the casino if you like that!
This is our third stay at this hotel. That should tell you something, although we've never had a chance to enjoy the spa side of things we come back because it is quiet and the staff is wonderful, rooms are clean and neat and very comfortable. Also it is attached to the most wonderful restaurant (Cousins on King). They have wonderful food and all the servers we have had have been lovely. We've done both dinner and breakfast, highly recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2016 by Sam, Hotel Management
Hello Michele and thank you for the review. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you also enjoyed the time spent at our restaurant. We look forward to seeing you again!