Ratings based on 851 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 16, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by carolyn

clean, comfortable and close to everything.

Posted May 14, 2017 on Hotels
from the wonderful young woman who was training on the front desk to the helpful staff who brought and extra blanket when we needed it, this is a great team. The room was clean and comfortable, and we enjoyed our stay.
3 out of 5
by Mohammad Reza

Posted May 14, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Mohammad Reza, Thank you for choosing us and for your time in reviewing our hotel. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again on a return visit. Sincerely, Andrew Holmes General Manager
2 out of 5
by Candice

Would Recommend Staying Elsewhere

Posted May 4, 2017 on Hotels
I booked here for a 1-night family stay that was very disappointing. The hotel has $16 parking. I should have read the fine print on this website as it does indicate this, but I didn't realize there was a charge for parking until I received my credit card bill. It would be more transparent if the hotel would note this when handing out a parking pass as I would have chosen to park elsewhere. The parking charge was comparable to what I pay to park in downtown Toronto. The person who checked us in was clearly overwhelmed, but she did a great job handling the high while working by herself at check-in time. The conditioner pump in the bathroom didn't work. Not a big deal, but no one answered on several calls to the front desk. When someone did eventually come to bring us conditioner, we received 1 tiny bottle for 4 people. I ended up driving to a local Metro at 6am in the morning to buy some. The biggest issue happened when a family member was drying her hair and a breaker blew, causing all the hydro to go out in the room. I figured re-setting a breaker would be a minor fix, but apparently not. With my family sitting there in the dark, I was asked whether we really needed hydro, and advised that if so, we'd have to move rooms as they had no maintenance staff in. I did contact the hotel to try and resolve this without posting, but just received a kindly worded apology. This is appreciated, but does little to make me want to come back. I will be staying elsewhere on my next visit.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Candice, I'm very sorry for your disappointment in our parking charge. We try to be as transparent as possible regarding our fees, so I regret that you missed our notifications. Please accept our sincere apologies for the issues that you experienced with our hairdryer; I'm sure that was frustrating. We take pride in providing the best amenities and service so our lapses during your stay are being taken very seriously. We value your feedback and have been in contact with you regarding your visit. Sincerely, Andrew Holmes General Manager
5 out of 5
by satnam

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 4, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Bettina

Nice stay for a family

Posted May 1, 2017 on Hotels
We had a very good stay with kids. Very comfortable mattress, with various-sized comfortable pillows. The pool was nice, bright room - the kids loved that there was no deep end, so they could play in the whole pool. The bathrooms seemed relatively newly renovated. What could be improved is the windows - it's a great view - but they need some window washers to do the outside of the building - too many old spiderwebs all around the windows and balcony that ruins the effect of the view. Also, we were very disappointed at the high cost of parking, considering it's free on the street on Sundays and after 5:30pm. There is hotel and public parking under the building, but the rates are too high. $16 per day - so that's an extra $32 if you're staying just one night there. It should be reduced for guests of the hotel.
4 out of 5
by Robert

Comfortable, clean

Posted Apr 30, 2017 on Hotels
A bit disappointed to find a dirty cup filled with cigarette butts on the balcony. Comfortable, clean but definitely starting to show its age.
4 out of 5
by tomas

Kingston

Posted Apr 25, 2017 on Hotels
Check-in and the hotel were excellent. Easy access to and out of the parking lot. Great downtown location close to many bars and restaurants. Only one negative..breakfast at the hotel was awful...eggs Benedict, smothered with packaged holandaise sauce, complimented with deep fried/oily/greasy sliced potatoes...much better and cheaper breakfast right across the road
3 out of 5
by Wayne

Over-Night get away

Posted Apr 19, 2017 on Hotels
The trip was an overnight stay in Downtown Kingston, something always talked about and never done. The location was great for our plan, the hotel was a disappointment.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Wayne, I'm glad our location worked for your travels, but I'm very sorry that you were disappointed in our hotel. We value your feedback and hope to have the opportunity to better serve you on a return visit. Thank you for choosing us. Sincerely, Andrew Holmes General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

The location is great

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: The location
Cons: Take care of the bleach/disinfectant smell in rooms.
Location: Walking distance to all the Kingston attractions.
It was our second stay in this hotel and everything was fine. We had no problems checking in and they were very nice to us. When we got to our room there was a strong bleachy smell that was a bit nauseating. We had to open the window to vent out the smell. Unfortunately they had a planned water shut off for the next day starting at 8:30 AM. Because of this, we had to wake up earlier than planned so that we could use the bathroom and shower. After we came back from breakfast we couldn't use the bathroom or brush our teeth since the water had been shut off. This was unfortunate.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I'm glad that our location was well suited to your travels. I have noted your feedback regarding our cleaning product odor. I regret that we inconvenienced you with our water shut-off. This was an extraordinary experience and not indicative of our norm. For this reason, we hope to have the opportunity to host you again. Sincerely, Andrew Holmes General Manager