Ratings based on 690 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean & Comfortable

Posted Jan 14, 2018
The hotel is nice. Very large and our room was very clean. We were a little disappointed as we arrived in Kingston early to explore downtown but it was freezing out so by 2pm we were hoping our room was ready. It wasn’t and there’s not much of a lobby to sit in so we waited in our car for another hour to stay warm. Also annoyed that we paid a lot of money to stay here and were charged $20 to park while attendees of the bridal show upstairs could all park for free.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2018 by Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
Hello Anonymous, Thank you for your review. Event parking can be tracked and paid by the group rather than an individual paying. Sincerely, Felicia Cadotte Assistant Guest Services Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Amazing hotel

Posted Jan 8, 2018
This hotel exceeded out expectations!!! Patrick from the front desk was extremely welcoming, our rooms were beautiful like the pictures, breakfast downstairs was delicious and staff were amazing :)
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 11, 2018 by Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
Hello L, Thank you for your complimentary review. We are delighted to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations and that you had such a great experience with out staff. Sincerely, Felicia Cadotte Assistant Guest Services Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 30, 2017
Clean rooms, comfy beds. Washroom was super tiny.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2018 by Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
Hello Anonymous, Thank you for your review of the Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront. Sincerely, Felicia Cadotte Assistant Guest Services Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Very nice hotel

Posted Dec 27, 2017
Pros: See above
Cons: Free hot breakfast? Free parking?
Location: I checked in after 7pm so haven't looked around yet.
Check in was made delightful by the super friendly staff - I wish I knew her name so I could nominate her. Dinner experience was also very positive - friendly server, quick service, delicious food (I had the fish tacos).
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 27, 2017 by Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
Hello Tony, Thank you for your complimentary review! We are thrilled to hear that you had a great check in experience and enjoyed dinner in our Dox Restaurant, Bar & Patio. Sincerely, Felicia Cadotte Assistant Guest Services Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. Downtown on the lakeshore.

Posted Dec 22, 2017
We were in a room that had no heat. Staff were courteous and accommodating. We were given an adjoining room to make the move easy and breakfast vouchers. Lovely location!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 25, 2017 by Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
Hello Anonymous, We do apologize that you had issues regarding your heat, however, we are delighted to know that you were well taken care of by our staff. Sincerely, Felicia Cadotte Assistant Guest Services Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

NEEDS UPDATING

Posted Dec 21, 2017
Pros: Convenient location - friendly staff.
Cons: see above
Bathroom taps need repair. Bathroom door very old - wood veneer splintered and peeling on bottom. Carpet in room old and stained. Convenient location for downtown. $17 a night for outside parking. Overpriced!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 25, 2017 by Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
Hello Michael, Thank you for your candid review of the Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront. We do apologize that you were checked into a room that had some maintenance issues, these have been directed to our Maintenance Manager to ensure these issues are resolved. Sincerely, Felicia Cadotte Assistant Guest Services Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Not bad just ok

Posted Dec 19, 2017
Pros: Staff were great. Kitchen made me a fantastic breakfast for room service.
Cons: Rooms need updating
Initially things were good. Checked in no issues got parked and all was well. Got to room and it was alright. Booked river view, got parking lot view. Went to the bathroom and ceiling had all chipped paint over the shower. Looked old and in need of an update in the bathroom. It was cold in the room so I adjusted the thermostat but it didn't seem to help. I know it's winter but you'd expect the heating to work. Room service breakfast was outstanding. Great work in the kitchen. issues leaving the parking lot on my last day. Couldn't get out and it took the staff to come and get the gate lifted manually for me to leave. Bit of pain. Overall great staff, very helpful and nice, the facility just needs updating. I'm in Kingston a lot for work and not sure I'll stay there again. Probably wouldn't recommend it to anyone either with other options available.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 21, 2017 by Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
Hello Zee, The management of the Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront was distressed to read your review and would like to thank you for taking the time to leave such candid feedback. By reading each of these reviews we are able to recognize areas in need of improvement and take the appropriate actions to correct them. We do hope that you would reconsider and stay with us again in the future. Sincerely, Felicia Cadotte Assistant Guest Services Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

convenient spot to Queens U and downtown

Posted Dec 18, 2017
Pros: bed and pillows were comfy, internet was great.
Only reason I booked this hotel is because of the indoor pool, my sons really wanted to swim while nothing much to do during the winter months. We can see debris, black colour stuff and dead bugs at the bottom of the pool, very disappointing!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 21, 2017 by Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
Hello Bowie, Thank you for your review of the Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront. We do apologize for the issues you incurred with our indoor pool, it is cleaned every morning. Sincerely, Felicia Cadotte Assistant Guest Services Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Totonto

Nice hotel close to so many nice restaurant.

Posted Dec 11, 2017
We have a dinner at an Indian Style restaurant just besides of the hotel. It's very nice town with lots of splendid stores nearby. I'm very happy for this visit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2017 by Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
Hello Kelvin, Thank you for your complimentary review of the Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront, we are so pleased to hear that our location is perfectly suited for you. Sincerely, Felicia Cadotte Assistant Guest Services Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not good.

Posted Dec 6, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Everything.
Not coming back. This hotel does not offer slippers.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 10, 2017 by Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
Hello Anonymous, Thank you for your review of the Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront, we do apologize that we do not have slippers at this location. Sincerely, Felicia Cadotte Assistant Guest Services Manager