Ratings based on 537 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good value, easy access once you know the place.

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: fresh fruit option for breakfast
Not much to say...it's a typical motel but it's good value for the money. All I needed was a place to sleep for a couple of nights while seeing the sights. The food service (sports bar/grill) on sight was geared more for lunch/dinner so the complimentary breakfast was OK but pretty starchy. I ended up buying a fruit cup from a supermarket nearby for the second day. The room was comfortable and well appointed for the price.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kingston

I was quite happy with the entire experience.

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Location: It's Kingston. If you are travelling for pleasure, there are not enough hours in the day to do all that one could do.
The room was very clean which i think is the most important aspect of any hotel stay. The staff were quite friendly and helpful. The only issue i had was with the Wi-Fi service. There were a number of times when the service would drop out. I brought this to the attention of staff and they said they would fix it. This is not an uncommon problem when travelling anywhere. Other than that, it was a most enjoyable stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 11, 2016
I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel thanks to it wonderful staff . They were very helpful , polite and welcoming . My room was pretty nice and i had a relaxing time there most importantly i felt safe staying there by myself that was a big factor to me . I guess yet again thanks to the wonderful staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Out of a horror film!

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Everything!
Location: There were homeless people as well as inebriated customers from The Don Cherry Sports bar in the parking lot.
The room reeked of cigarette smoke; the towels were worn thin; there was a beetle on my pillow & a spider hanging from the ceiling. We did not receive a copy of our statement at checkout & have no idea if any extra charges were on it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from München

perfekt für einen kurzen Aufenthalt

Posted Oct 3, 2016
sehr nettes Personal - sehr saubere Zimmer - Stadt ist wenige Gehminuten entfernt - Fazit: empfehlenswert
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Guelph, On


Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: Really!!!!!!!.....nothing at all
Cons: Just about everything!
Location: The setting of hotel was in an undesirable area. Kingston is a beautiful city and there are so many activities.
While checking into the Howard Johnson, there was a drunk man passed out in the lobby. I had booked the hotel room for 4 people and was told that 2 people were the capacity...extra fees were involved in order to accommodate the 2 extra people. The carpet was very dirty and stained, the mattresses were old and sagged toward the middle, the towels and sheets were old and very thin, the continental breakfast was pathetic(although the coffee was good), parking was insufficient and very congested, interior of microwave was dirty, toilet did not flush properly, stains on the bedspread.....Do not stay in this hotel! Such a disappointing experience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, ON

Close to downtown Kingston, ON

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: Clean and friendly staff.
Cons: Warning sign about step stepdown into room (2nd floor). Absolute MUST - taller toilets & hand bars by toilet and in shower for seniors.
Location: Was passing through Kingston, but did stop by to view Sir John A. Macdonald's resting place.
This was a short overnight stay. Hojo was recently renovated...tall comfortable beds, modern washing and bathroom area. Don Cherry restaurant adjacent to Hojo.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nepean, Ontario

Nothing Fancy

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: Comfortable but nothing fancy.
Cons: rugs were stained and could use a good cleaning
Location: Good location - a bit hard to see as you drive by - tucked back from the road
Staff were very friendly and accommodating. Good value for your money if you just need a place to sleep. Breakfast at Don Cherry's was included in the price
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brampton On

Shabby appearance.

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: Central location for easy access to downtown attractions.
Cons: Exterior is shabby and in need of good cleaning/fresh coat of paint. Continental breakfast leaves much to be desired.
Location: Good location for access to historical sites and 1000 island boat cruise.
Front office staff and pleasant and courteous. Continental breakfast consisted of bowl of cereal, bagel & cup of coffee. Which begs the question "which continent are they emulating ?" Certainly not Europe. Room although nothing special was clean and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 8, 2016 by Harp Grewal, Hotel Management
We are emulating the country we are located in. Canada. Europe is over 5000km away. Thanks for your great review
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kassel, Hessen

Gutes Preis-Leistungsverhältnis

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Wir waren auf der Durchreise 1 Nacht in Kingston. Das Hotel liegt zwar etwas vom netten Zentrum am Hafen entfernt aber bietet für den günstigen Preis eine gute Möglichkeit für kurze Aufenthalte. Das inkludierte Frühstück gibt es nebenan. Leider aber nur eine kleine Auswahl süßer Snacks. Alles in allem aber zu empfehlen.