Ratings based on 583 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 14, 2018
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North West UK

Dissapointed

Posted Jun 9, 2018
Tried to charge me on arrival despite already paid. Very tired decor. Dinning room more like a conference venue room so ate in the bar with young daughter. Needs modernising could be very nice with some TLC.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 9, 2018
Lovely grounds, loads of parking. Somewhere, however, there is misinformation with regard to proximity to Hampton Court, which is much further than stated.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Llandudno

Posted May 29, 2018
Very good location for going to Twickenham as there is a direct bus from Kingston to Twickenham. Staff were all very pleasant. Excellent breakfast.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 23, 2018
Great staff, friendly and efficient. Large hotel car park. Large and clean room
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 19, 2018
Better than the reviews give the impression.Will certainly use again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ireland

Had to sleep on the floor

Posted May 18, 2018
Pros: Nothing this should not be advertised as a Hostel
Cons: Keep agreements regarding promised location of room Soundproof walls, Larger beds with New commercial Hotel Mattress Bar staffed in afternoon Lifts
Location: Good restaurants within a 15 minuite walk and Kingston and Surbiton equal distance
Requested ground or first floor only followed by a telephone call to reception who reserved a ground floor double room across the courtyard. On arrival given a 3rd floor room in same area no lift. They only had an alternative 2nd floor room in main area. The Double bed was only 4 foot wide. A domestic mattress that you could not lie on a foot each side or you would fall out of the bed. They could only offer as an alternative a third floor twin in the other area so they brought me a sleeping bag, a blanket and duvet so I could sleep on the floor. Very small bathroom Very hot room with windows fully open and fan on and stud partitioned walls so you could hear everyone. Breakfast Luke Warm buffet.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Huddersfield

Posted May 16, 2018
It was good staff and place but certain services were limited
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 14, 2018
My room was located in the Garden Block, an outbuilding at the other end of the pleasant rose garden, which was full of song birds. The restaurant looks onto the garden, which creates a tranquil setting for breakfast. The self-service breakfast buffet was extremelty generous, both in variety and quantity. The staff were friendly and polite, and only too happy to help. Initially, I was checked into Room 116, a single en suite on the ground floor, which overlooked a busy road and the university campus. It was a gasping hot day and the room was as hot as an oven despite the curtains having been closed all day. There was no climate control or ventilation except for a table top fan to circulate hot air around the room. I tried to open the window but there was no security latch to prevent the window from opening fully, and it was only letting in the fumes and noise from the road. I went back to reception to request another room, and they bent over backwards to find me one on the cooler, garden side of the building instead. I was checked into Room 309, which was a clean, comfortable, and newly decorated en suite single on the top floor. Again, no climate control but the table top fan helped, and I could open the window as wide as I wanted. The room was a sun trap in the morning and heated up quickly. Sleeping with the window wide open unfortunately meant awaking to the noise of rush hour traffic and the beeps of reversing lorries, which even ear plugs couldn't block out!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane, australia

Posted May 1, 2018
Very comfortable and friendly hotel, providing all guests with an excellent breakfast. The rooms are a little dated, however they are clean and very comfortable. Very good value for money. Only 10 minutes from public transport and a easy walk to Kingston town centre. Thoroughly recommended as an alternative to staying 8n small expensive rooms in London