Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Kathryn from Montague, CA, USA

Real castle atmosphere and feel

Posted Sep 27, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed one night at Kinnitty Castle Hotel. It is a bit run down and not as kept up as it could be, but this only added to the charm of it and the true castle feel for us. The staff were wonderful and went out of their way to help. The food was good in the pub. My only complaint is that the beds are a bit hard and the room could have been cleaner. It's not as kept up as it could be for the price. But, if you are looking for a real castle experience, ghosts and all, it's a cool place to stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa c

Nice castle to stay at

Posted Sep 12, 2015
Pros: The staff, the Library bar and restaurant room.
Cons: The lighting in the rooms, our room was rather dark with light on! Staircases, step creeped. Wouldn't want to have a room in close proximity.
Location: Thir was various activities at this castle. Birr was nearby and there were plenty of things to do and take in. Birr castle is right in town.
Staff was most attentive. Food was excelent accommodations was spacious,but staircases creaked! To be expected for such ab old castle. The grounds are vast and well maintained. Was not a problem to get to.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Paul from Berkshire

Irish Treat

Posted Sep 6, 2015 on Hotels
Fabulous place to stay a real find, we adored it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle Australia

Picturesque retreat

Posted Aug 6, 2015
Pros: Our stay was very comfortable I really enjoyed the homemade jam at breakfast
Cons: The wall paneling in the hall was in need of repair and detracted from the grandeur of the castle.Flowers were nearly dead on reception desk bad look,
Location: Visit Brinn and the castle , garden and centuries old telescope. Forest walks.
We stayed for two nights, visited the local villages and enjoyed the forest walks nearby the castle.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Roger

a real legit castle

Posted Aug 3, 2015 on Hotels
For the money, it's a good deal if you really want to stay in a castle. Keep in mind, it is indeed a castle that is 900 years old, so expect some old furniture and odd smells. It's a bit run down in some places, but that adds to the castle atmosphere. Hotel could use some renovations, but overall, not a bad deal for the experience and also a decent value for the money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Kinnitty

Posted Jul 27, 2015 on Hotels
Super fun stay! Great lamb and service. Connor at the bar was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Memorable Castle Experience!

Posted Jun 12, 2015
Pros: The decor, friendly staff and restaurant/bar on site
Location: Horse trek through the Slieve Bloom Mountains provided a fun day activity and great views from the mountains
My partner and I stayed at Kinnitty Castle Hotel for 1 night and loved it! While many of the castle hotels in Ireland have been updated, Kinnitty provided a genuine castle experience with its decor throughout the castle. We appreciated the canopy bed, dark hardwood and claw foot bathtub in our room. We had dinner in the Sli Dala restaurant and were not disappointed. The Library Bar was also very cool and added to our castle experience. We went on a horse trek through the Slieve Bloom Mountains, which was a lot of fun. Maeve from the Birr Equestrian Centre met us right behind the castle at the stables, which was also convenient. All of the staff at Kinnitty Castle Hotel were friendly and helpful, especially Simon who kindly allowed us to borrow his travel adapter for the evening. Unfortunately, the Dungeon Bar was only open on weekends, so we did not get to experience drinking or eating here, but were able to go downstairs and wander around. It was nice that the castle was not very busy as it added to the eeriness at night. Would definitely return to Kinnitty Castle Hotel!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

June 2015 stay

Posted Jun 6, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel staff were nice and hotel was lovely but very outdated and the bed was hugely uncomfortable as the mattress was so worn there were springs coming through. Very picturesque location but absolutely nothing in local village.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 28, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by oana from avignon

Cadre médiéval

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: Calme, ambiance rétro coupe du reste du monde
Cons: Equipement des chambres et isolation
Location: Buren et clics loger
Calme, charme de l'ancien, nature ,bon restaurant, bon petit déjeuner' équipement sommaire de la chambre pour un 4etoiles, problèmes avec la douche l'eau était brûlante À conseiller quand même coucher du soleil en juin magnifique.