Ratings based on 135 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Dined in Basil's , hour and a quarter before we got our starters so missed the first part of the show . Given a complimentary drink then found we had been charged for it . We're told the kitchen was busy with bar meals but the bar was empty.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 10, 2017
Everyrhing was as good as could be expected other than at breakfast which was a total shambles only one waitress and cook could not keep with demand. ie SHORT STAFFED.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 24, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Janet

Restaurant not serving on our stay

Posted Oct 15, 2017 on Hotels
Had to walk to their sister hotel for our evening meal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Posted Sep 27, 2017
We were on an overnight stay on our way to St Andrews. Hotel seemed quiet and finding correct entrance was a little difficult. The signage from the main road was small and not lit at all. Our room was spacious and clean but the shower temperature fluctuated, we did then report this. Breakfast had ample choices and good food. Evening meals are across the road at the sister hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Renfrew

Good value

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Pros: Swimming pool, Breakfast.
Cons: The odd carpet is threadbare but not so bad.
Location: Kinross itself is nice enough but not a lot to see, However there are plenty of things nearby.
A wee bit tired here and there, but not too bad, Pool a very good size, Breakfast full Scottish buffet, or continental, plenty of fresh fruit, 10 out of 10. Would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancashire

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Stayed here four times , although a little dated we always find it very comfortable and the staff are very pleasant and helpful. The pool & sauna etc is excellent. Would definitely return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Friendly, relaxed hotel,

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Very friendly, comfortable hotel with a relaxing vibe. Staff go out of their way to please , nothing is any trouble. Our room was a bit dated decor wise but was spotless and fresh. All in all very good and I will certainly return.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kiama, Australia

Disappointing

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Location: Location is excellent
Unfortunately The Windlestrae is a shadow of its former self. Looking very tired & a bit neglected. It's lost its lovely atmosphere. I would not recommend it to others.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from lancaster

Good for golf but not much else to do

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: The pool area is a bonus
Cons: Money needs to be spent to update things also good food again in the evening.
Location: There is a nice lock to see and to walk around and also if you get in a car you can see a lot of lovely places to go and see.
We have stayed at this hotel on several occasions but on this stay we have found the hotel has made some financial changes much for the worse. At breakfast you had to ask for most things not prepared for the number of people. Evening food you were asked to go across the road to a sister hotel, we had a room that had no cold water and the plumbing was not well making loud noises at all times. There is a lack of leadership at the hotel with most problems needing attention.