Ratings based on 186 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable and convenient.

Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
The beds are very firm, harder than I like. The town is very cute and parking was easy. I recommend it as a good stay if you are passing through, but probably not ideal for basing your visit to the Black Forest area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Dec 4, 2016 on Hotels
Visiting family nearby, good location.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice and comfort hotel, lacking an elevator

Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice and comfort hotel with a great service from the stuff. Lacking an elevator making it challenging to if you come with some bags. The room was big and comfortable and stylishly decorated.
5 out of 5
by Shankar from London

Black Forest Holiday

Posted Aug 14, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed in this lovely hotel for over a week, to visit various places in the Black Forest area. It's located 10 mins walk from the train station which was very convenient to get to Freiburg (just 10 mins or so), and also to the other nearby attractions like Titisee (under 30 mins). There are also bus services to nearby Todtnau, so in all found the location to be very good. Good Breakfast was served with a good variety of bread and usual breakfast items. Lots of Tea options for Tea lovers. Though we stayed for over a week, we weren't bored with the food. We didn't have any other meal here as there were other options in Kirchzarten for dinner like Spritzenhaus Pub minutes away. The Hotel was well decorated, our room and common areas were always clean throughout our stay. The people were very friendly and helped whenever we needed. As the hotel provided KONUS Gastekarte, it reduced our local travel costs a great deal. WiFi worked well. The room is not air conditioned but then we only came back late in the evenings, so the breeze was enough to keep it cool. We'd definitely go back to this Hotel if we were visiting this region of Black Forest in a few years time!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from w

Nice hotel, comfortable and made feel very welcome

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Excellent staff very friendly and helpful. Room good size and comfortable will definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
by Mikal from Kristiansand

Cozy hotel near Freiburg

Posted Aug 3, 2016 on Hotels
We were very pleased with our stay at Hotel Sonne. Kirchzarten was a lovely place set in beautiful surroundings. Breakfast was great. Good service. Very cozy family-run hotel. The suite on the top floor was spacious and great for a big family like ours. Hope we get the chance to stay there another time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Crawley, West Sussex, England

Lovely hotel in a picturesque Black Forest villag.

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Despite arriving very early after a long overnight drive from England the staff at this family owned hotel were extremely welcoming. I was offered breakfast after parking by which time my room our room was available. Everybody was friendly and polite and I would not hesitate in recommending The Sonne Hotel Kirchzarten to anybody looking for a comfortable stay in the Black Forest with easy access to walking trails, cycle trails and the train station. Thank you Sonne Hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Elegant hotel with nice foods

Posted May 4, 2016 on Orbitz
Location: it is about 10 minutes walk to the Kirchzarten train station, but few walks to the shopping center.
We stayed for 3 nights, their assistance very good, the breakfast just be wonderful, of which my wife and I love very much. also clean room and polite service make us a nice staying experience. It is near Titisee, a very small but peacefully town, better for a leasuring. The free tickets provided by hotel make us travel around without any costs on the transportation
5 out of 5
by Kristen from Sarasota

Wonderful! Wonderful! Wonderful!

Posted Dec 23, 2015 on Hotels
This was one of our best experiences with a hotel and location. Andy and his father were more than nice and helpful. The staff were so nice and kind to us as well. The hotel entrance in right through the restaurant which is fantastic. Breakfast was awesome (buffet) and lunches and dinners were just as nice. Room had a view of the black forest which was nice. No elevator but the staff carry your luggage up (they won't let you do it!). Shower and toiletries were wonderful and we had three adults in our room yet their was so much space for us and our luggage. Dad is very tall and big, but the shower was perfect for him. Lots of storage too in entrance part of room. Beds were nice and warm. The town is wonderful to walk around in (shops and restaurants) and the Hotel is 7 minutes walk to train station. We got the train into Freiburg one day and Lake Titisee another day. We loved the hotel and town so much, we hope to go back one day and explore more of that whole area of Germany.
4 out of 5
by Carolynne from Kyabram

Lovely village setting.

Posted Oct 2, 2015 on Hotels
We had a lovely room with balcony facing the front of the hotel. This was light and airy and it was nice to sit out on the private balcony in the evening. The bed was not as comfortable as it could have been and pillows had no substance to them. Had to ask for extra, but were amiably supplied. Staff were very friendly and helpful. They even allowed us to use the sauna late in the evening and it was nice to sit out on the deck chairs in the private courtyard to relax afterwards. A very enjoyable stay and such a lovely village rather than staying in nearby Frieburg. The free rail passes were appreciated too. We went to nearby Badeparadies Schwarzwald, a huge water park with spas. Great for a rainy day and nice to get off the motorbike for a break.