Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

2.6 out of 5
17% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from HAFC

Sleep before nightshift

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Arrived at 21:45 to find restaurants closed and gad to knock a door behind the establishment to gain entry. Room was warm and clean with private facilities. No time for breakfast as I left at 4am
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and friendly hotel.

Posted Dec 20, 2016 on Hotels
The location of this hotel is central and very convenient and the owners can't do enough to make sure that your stay is enjoyable. The 3 children with us said that the best part of the trip was when they had their evening meal in the hotel so that's praise indeed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unusually early checkout

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: Well priced and good location in the town centre. If all you are after is a bed for the night and shower facilities then it offered good value.... If you're an early riser then there's not really a complaint to be had.
Cons: Checkout is too early at 10.30 and they made a point of reminding us of this by knocking on the door at 9.30....
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 10, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Dale from St athan

Poor

Posted Aug 18, 2016 on Hotels
Room was old fashion no central heating was cold and felt damp
4 out of 5
by Paul from Liverpool

The Copper Kettle

Posted Jul 31, 2016 on Hotels
I was attending a friend's wedding. The B and B was ideally located for the church and the evening reception. The proprietors were friendly and welcoming. The breakfast was very nice.
4 out of 5
by Peter from Godmanchester

Charming B&B with character

Posted May 29, 2016 on Hotels
The Copper Kettle was fairly difficult to find as it has only a small frontage, and there was no waiting where it fronted onto the (one-way single vehicle width) street. However, there was private parking to the rear - not obvious but certainly adequate. It's an old property with a lot of character, which adds to the charm, but a 3rd floor room with only stairs is not ideal. I would unhesitatingly stay there again, as the plus points far outweight the negatives. The hosts were brilliant. Nothing was too much trouble!
3 out of 5
by wayne from St Helens

A nice place for a stop over.

Posted May 17, 2016 on Hotels
It was like 17th century meets 1970. The room was clean and the beds were very comfortable, beautiful new white sheets then a old fashioned top cover. I agree that it needs some TLC and a lot of money spending on it but the warm welcome that we received and the delicious breakfast more than made up for the dated furniture. We did only pay £55.00 so we got what we paid for. Would probably stay again, it's situated in the very centre and parking was free. The owners were very friendly and accommodating.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wirral

Copper kettle b&b Kirkby Lonsdale

Posted Apr 18, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Pull it down and rebuild.
Location: The location of Kirkby Lonsdale is absolutely superb. Good eating places nice shops. Very friendly people. Within easy reach of the lake district.
The smell of used grease hits you immediately. The cooks cloths were dirty and although the two owners were very polite they gave off an air of couldn't care less. The room was not cleaned to a very high standard. The over all feeling was one of going back to the 70s. I would not send my worst enemy to this hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

thorn between a rose

Posted Dec 31, 2015
Pros: The land lady was very welcoming and made sure we had everything. She explained the routine of the hotel to us.
Cons: As we walked around the village most of the other hotels were very modern and offered a high standard of service.
Location: Location was very good which made it even more of a disappointment as we entered the premises after seeing all the other hotels and bars.
The hotel needed to be updated, the decor was faded and shabby. Dining room was very old fashioned and tables looked as they dated back to the 60's. Everything looked very tired.