Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

quite for a pub

Posted Dec 6, 2013
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Give it a miss

Posted Sep 25, 2013
Pros: The staff
Cons: Good management
Location: Wonderful little town
The staff were great but the rest was not good enough. Very poor maintenance. Broken light fittings, door handles, dirty and worn paint. Our bathroom had old cracked flooring, dirty ledges. The bedroom was furnished with junk and awful fabrics. The mattress was as old as the hotel ! When you got up the springs popped !! Can't imagine what it looked like, we couldn't face looking at it. We were so pleased to get a room last minute now wondering if it was abandoned by former bookers !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by trudy

Nice bed and breakfast

Posted Sep 17, 2013
Pros: Clean comfotable. Nice staff very helpfull.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Central close to bars and shops.
Lovley pub comfortable and clean room. Food and breakfast delicious.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 6, 2013 on Hotels
The pub & our room is in need of redecoration. Our bathroom was in a poor condition. The staff were not welcoming, is the pub struggeling?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by john from paisley

Middle of the village

Posted Jul 30, 2013
Pros: Everything
Cons: Creaking floors
The hotel bar was cosy and friendly, the room quirky but that's its attraction,a nice wee hotel, recommended!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel for a short break

Posted Jul 20, 2013
We were made very welcome and had an excellent stay, we had booked a small double and it was quite roomy enough for our one night stay and very peaceful. The staff were really very helpful and welcoming and we enjoyed our stay with them and hope to return
2 out of 5
by BG from UK

Pub in heart of Kirkby Lonsdale

Posted Jul 17, 2013
It's not a hotel; it's a pub with rooms above the bar/restaurant. Old and in need of a face lift - nice towels and coordinated cushions are not enough. Breakfast good. Parking very difficult and limited. Lots of noise at night from hen parties staggering up and down Main Street; traffic noise too made for a sleepless night. Central location in pretty town - overrun by bikers on a Sunday morning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by DP from Perth, UK

Character hotel in very quaint town

Posted May 22, 2013
This is a very old hotel with quirky floors, low doors and character! Our room was facing street and above the bar. You have to live with that or go to the back of the hotel. Food was good pub grub with excellent real ales. Parking is interesting, through a quite narrow lane and tight manouvering are with 1st come, 1st served system but local parking with in the square nearby is acceptable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Okay for a night

Posted Apr 1, 2013
Needs renovation staff pleasant, good location. Needs new carpets and decorating
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dated and in need of renovation

Posted Mar 26, 2013 on Hotels
Heating did not work and evening meals were not available. will stop elsewhere when next in the area