Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A hotel in Norway where the Internet is bad?

Posted Sep 19, 2016
I am generally a huge fan of the Thon chain for its combination of comfort and value. Thon Kirkenes not so much. Chief complaint is bad internet, as in "no internet' available in my room for the two days I stayed there, though guests in other parts of the hotel had no problem. Avoid rooms on the "town" side, I guess. Otherwise, great location, free delicious breakfast, great views of the water.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely view, amazing food

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Pros: Location, breakfast
Location: Take photos! Also crabbing expeditions, war museum, drive to Russian border, take Hurtigruten ferry cruise, shop in the town square.
The room was typical Scandinavian décor. Comfortable bed, nice bathroom with a large shower. The hotel sits on the edge of the water and the views were lovely on both sides of the building. Out over the water, and looking at the church on the other side. A short walk up the hill took us to the town square, where Russian women were selling their wares. The next morning, we again took the walk and the police department had a booth set up and were making breakfast. We watched as two groups of small children were led down the street to the booth and served breakfast. They could have been pre-schoolers. Charming place and fun to walk around. At the hotel, the breakfast was truly wonderful. We travel a great deal, and this was by far the best included breakfast we've ever had! Quite a surprise in this remote, top of the world location!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Saratoga, CA

Great hotel and restaurant

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Location: Go to the "war exhibit" in the South Varanger Museum. It's very moving!
Small but beautiful room with a stunning view. All that we needed and more.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

View from room over fjord

Posted Jun 16, 2016
Pros: Location, quiet.
Location: Not much, war museum was very interesting.
Fantastic king crab platter meal. Quiet town. Quiet town. Quiet town. Quiet town.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted May 30, 2016
Pros: View from our room, breakfast buffet.
Stayed here might before Hurtigruten cruise. Hotel just opened after month long strike. Room and desk staff were great. Restaurant staff were friendly but often 'missing' - took too long to order and get the check.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bodensee

Bester Service, sehr zuvorkommend, super!

Posted Apr 1, 2016
Pros: alles
Cons: Ich wüsste nicht was.
Location: Unmittelbar am Meer. Viele Aktivitäten für Abenteurer und Naturliebhaber.
Obwohl nur normales Zimmer gebucht, wurde uns die Suite ohne Aufpreis angeboten. Suite war riesengroß und hatte fast Panoramablick über Berge und Polarmeer. Vom Zimmer aus war die halbe Nacht das Polarlicht zu sehen. Frühstück vom feinsten mit mehreren Köchen die alle Wünsche erfüllten. Besser geht's nicht.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pensacola

Surprisingly NJ ice!

Posted Mar 20, 2016
For Such An Out Of THE Way place, this hotel was nicer than we expected. Kind of thought that they had a captive audience provided by the cruise boat industry and the accommodations would be lacking, but we were pleasantly surprised. Modern, clean room with a nice bathroom. Small, yes, but not tiny. However, front desk staff was surly and useless. Restaurant staff however was outstanding and charming. Food also was a pleasant surprise.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

guter ausgangspunkt

Posted Jan 1, 2016
gut für zwischenstop, preis-leistung hat gestimmt, guter ausgangspunkt für touren