Ratings based on 543 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not very clean and needs a lot of maintenance mold

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Pros: staff
Cons: cleaning and upkeep, wall damage, mold in bathroom
Room smelled moldy damage to walls, not clean, will not stay here again or recommended to anyone,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yakima, WA

It was a nice quite spot. Not the top of the line.

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Pros: It was very reasonable priced and a quiet spot. Friendly staff.
Location: Ideally located off 405.
Staff and guest were very friendly. I will go back again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kirkland, WA

Flashback to the early 90s

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Hopefully the new owner will update this property because it's in a prime location! The decor was pastel southwest but the furniture in the lobby was Asian. There were no flowers or plants in the numerous planters, only dead stuff. The room showed signs of a renovation. The beds were comfortable , the ac was cool, and the tv was a flat screen. I never took a shower there because of the mold in the tiles around the tub and the towels were extremely thin and cheap. There was a breakfast of sorts, yogurt, trail mix bars, juice, and coffee but there was no one in attendance . This was Labor day weekend but there wasn't anyone around expect the desk help, they were very nice. We left the room on Saturday around 1130 and the housekeeping was aroud so we left the hand towels out and the beds unmade with a sign on the door. We didn't return until 7 and the room was untouched . I was charged more than a 2 star property but I think next time if the Courtyard is full I'll just stay at the Comfort Inn instead.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

quiet hotel but in rough part of town

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: the night clerk was attentive and helped us with directions.
Cons: dust the common areas watch the expiry dates on the food you are providing to the guests clean your pool
Location: location is in industrial area that is undergoing development into a mall. Deserted, safety concerns.
Night clerk was friendly, helpful, and brought up extra towels immediately Free internet and parking, hair dryer and toiletries provided as well. Free breakfast, which was unexpected. Breakfast consisted of yogurt, granola bars, instant oatmeal, milk, coffee, tea, and some outdated orange juice (had turned dark and was about a month past due) Outdoor pool, which we weren't using anyways, but water was green. Room was clean. Older building. Hotel felt very neglected, dusty in main areas and lots of deserted common spaces. In an area that is being developed. Industrial-like site, mall being developed nearby. However, we had problems with a gang near the Ross Dress for Less in the mall being developed. Verbal harassment outside the store in the parking lot. Some concerns for safety and security as this occurred near the hotel and our car is noticeable in the parking lot with the BC plates.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from vancouver BC

Posted Aug 25, 2017
I think this hotel has been overrated at Expedia.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Long Beach

Dingy, Dirty, Musty, Outdated, Slow

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: Nothing
See above. I don't like it when you force me to write more than I want to.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by Tyler, Hotel Management
Silvia, I'm so sorry that your experience here did not meet your expectations. This is not our standard of service and I will be following up with housekeeping to ensure this doesn't happen again. We are currently undergoing renovations and remodels so I'm hoping that we don't have any of these issues again if you'd like to give us a chance to redeem ourselves in the future. Please contact me if you have any further questions and we'd love to help.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Save your money, stay somewhere else

Posted Aug 21, 2017
This is a very basic motel which is overpriced, shabby and out dated. We booked on Expedia and paid CAD$400 for two nights!! The room was in dire need of a facelift. The walls were marked, there was mildew around the windows, mould at the top of the bathroom door, stains on the bathroom ceiling, scuffed paint around the bathroom door, tiny threadbare bath towels, stained chairs and a strange floral smell emanating from under the bed. The hotel was advertised as providing breakfast; it does not, it provides snacks. There was a toaster and no bread and nothing to put on the bread even if there had been some, a waffle iron and no waffle mix, instant oats and no boiling water. There were overripe bananas on one day only, yogurts in the fridge which only one of us could eat, chocolate chip granola bars and bags of chips. The only positive comment I can give the Totem Lake is that there was free WIFI and the guy on reception helped us fix the toilet. Seriously just save your money and stay somewhere else.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by Tyler , Hotel Management
Sir or Madam, Thank you for choosing Totem Lake Hotel to host your stay in our neighborhood. I'm very sorry that your stay here didn't meet your expectations. This is not the service we strive to deliver and we would like to make this right. Please give us a call at the hotel and we'll see what we can do to meet your expectations.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Mexico

TERRIBLE DIRTY HOTEL

Posted Aug 5, 2017
Pros: LOCATION-NOTHING ELSE
Cons: TEAR IT DOWN AND START ALL OVER.
Location: LOCATION WAS GOOD AND THINGS TO DO WERE NUMEROUS
THE TOTEM LAKE HOTEL STAY FROM 7-15 THROUGH 7-21 WAS ONE OF THE WORST WE HAVE EVER STAYED IN. WE ARRIVED AND WERE GIVEN A ROOM. WHEN MY WIFE PULLED BACK THE SHEETS SHE IMMEDIATELY LET OUT A SHRIEK. I RAN IN TO SEE THAT SHE WAS LOOKING AT A LOT OF HAIR ON THE SHEET FROM THE PREVIOUS PERSON IN THE ROOM. IT WAS OBVIOUS THAT THE SHEETS HAD NOT BEEN CHANGED. I WENT AND SPOKE TO THE PERSON BEHIND THE DESK AND HE GOT US TO CHANGE TO ANOTHER ROOM.WHEN WE GOT IN THE NEW ROOM IT APPEARED,ON THE SURFACE,TO BE NICER AND CLEANER.WELL WHAT WE SAW ON THE SURFACE WAS WRONG. THE SHEETS DID APPEAR TO BE OK EVEN THOUGH THERE WAS NO BEDSPREAD.IT OVERLOOKED A DIRTY GREEN SWIMMING POOL THAT I ASSUME WAS CLOSED. THE SINK IN THE BATHROOM WAS FULL OF GNATS.THE TUB HAD MOLD IN IT(we only took a shower because we did not dare sit in it) THE COFFEE MAKER STILL OUT OLD COFFEE IN IT AND THE CUP HAD DRIED UP OLD COFFEE IN IT.THE CARPET WAS DIRTY(we made sure to leave our socks or house shoes on) THE PILLOWS HAD NO PILLOW COVER ON THEM AND ONE HAD WHAT APPEARED TO BE A BLOOD STAIN ON IT. THE FREE BREAKFAST CONSISTED OF A SMALL CUP OF COFFEE WITH A GRANOLA BAR. ALL IN ALL THIS WAS ABOUT THE WORST WE HAVE STAYED IN. IT WAS DEFINITELY NOT 2 1/2 STARS..THE ONLY REASON WE STAYED IS THAT WE HAD PREPAID THROUGH EXPEDIA AND IT WAS NOT REFUNDABLE. PLEASE SEE ATTACHED PICTURES
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2017 by Brian - Ops Manager, Hotel Management
Jack, I sincerely apologize for your experience at Totem Lake Hotel. This is absolutely not the standard at which we operate and would like to make this right. We have a new Operations Manager and some new expertise to help us with our ongoing remodel of the property and hope that we can redeem ourselves to you should you provide the opportunity. I will be discussing these issues with the housekeeping department to ensure that we are being more thorough with our cleaning procedures. Again, I am very sorry that you had to deal with these issues and I can understand why you'd be upset. I would like to make this right. Please call the hotel at your earliest convenience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wilton, CA

Older hotel, but has character

Posted Aug 5, 2017
Pros: It's age and charm :)
Cons: The showers are a puzzle to use and the information for _how_ to operate them should be in the room!
Location: Area is under construction, so there's not much to do nearby ... yet.
It is an older hotel, but they are in the process of refurbishing it. Some of the amenities were not available during my stay, such as the pool, but the hotel was still quite good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2017 by Brian - Ops Manager, Hotel Management
Jesse, Thank you for choosing Totem Lake Hotel to host your stay in Kirkland. I'm happy to see that you enjoyed the charm of our hotel. We are doing our best to highlight the character that's developed over the years while giving it the modern amenities that we hope our guests can enjoy. I appreciate you taking the time to write such a nice review about us. Please have a wonderful day and feel free to contact our hotel if you have any other questions or feedback for us.
4 out of 5
by Raymond

Good

Posted Jul 24, 2017 on Hotels
Room was clean and comfortable. WIFI was bad, hard to get connected, and I tried from other areas. They have a good asian restaurant, but limited breakfast.