Ratings based on 87 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lincolnshire

Close to all amenities

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: Pleasant staff and cleanliness of rooms
Cons: Update the lounge bar and restaurant - seating a bit basic.
Location: Central location. Easy stroll from hotel to St Magnus Cathedral, Orkney Museum and Bishops Palace.
Arrived about 16.30 and was checked in and shown to lift very promptly. Room was comfortable and clean with more than adequate coffee/tea facilities plus water and biscuits. Staff were very friendly and pleasant. Breakfast very good with a wide selection and individual requests catered for. Ate in the lounge bar several evenings and the food was quite good. Hotel was very central for buses, ferry, shops and attractions. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would book this hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel well placed

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: Position and facilities
Cons: see above re jukebox
This is a good hotel for someone visiting Kirkwall. We had a large room ideal for coming back to after a day touring the island. I would definately recommend it to friends, but I would tell them to ask for a room not immediately above the bar - where the jukebox stays on until 11pm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hidden away, but worth finding - and very central!

Posted May 9, 2017
We very much enjoyed our stay at the Albert. We were there for 3 nights, and found it most welcoming. We ate in the bar every evening and that didn't disappoint. The location is very central, but it was very peaceful and quiet. The staff were were helpful indeed. We'll probably go back to Orkney, and when we do, we will certainly stay at the Albert.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Everything was spot on

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Maybe a hook in bathroom for clothes
Location: Close to tourist info Close to eating facility's Close to the bus Close to the ferries
The room was spotless The bathroom was gigantic The breakfast was delicious Everything was spot on Close to tourist info,bus service and stores
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tyne and Waer

Quaint hotel in centre of Kirkwall

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: As above full cooked breakfasts were excellent
Cons: Always subject to weather be prepared for all eventualities.
Location: In the centre of Kirkwall, all Kirkwall POI within easy walking distance
Excellent hotel good comfort levels attached pub and night club, ideal as we were spending time there to attend friends wedding party at same place. These guys no how to party !!! An excellent night live music included.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow UK

Great place to stay

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Pros: Everything.
Cons: The Towel-heater was set wrongly... leading to it making an awful noise as water went through the system. Until this was changed it was distracting
Location: The hotel is right by the harbour for the inter-island ferry, and near the main street of Orkney. museums are nearby, as is the bus station.
The Albert Hotel is a great little Hotel. Independent hotels can be a bit hit and miss, but this one definately hits, with room standards that chains would kill for. The bed was large and comfortable, bath large and deep, and the water pressure was something amazing. Lunch and Dinner are served in the adjoining Bothy Bar. Do yourself a favour and order the trio of salmon starter - I swear the only thing you'll regret is not ordering two. Although it is a bar, its well kept and clear of that stale beer smell that is often found in bars, and is beautifully dressed as a classical british bar with exposed beams and woodwork. Breakfast offers a great choice of Cold and Hot dishes. In addition to the usual fry-up they also serve poached fish and eggs... Ordering a fish for Breakfast might seem strange the first time, but after the first time you will every time. Poached Eggs are also great to see - many places will not do them due to the extra work, but they provide everything there is to love about fried eggs, but much much healthier.
5 out of 5
by David

Great Central hotel with lovely restaurant a

Posted Jan 27, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely hotel, excellent staff, provided a lovely travel breakfast as I had to leave early morning
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Orkneys best

Posted Oct 28, 2016 on Hotels
Extremely friendly helpful staff whom go that little bit further to make everyone feel welcome
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from scotland

Friendly staff. Close to Kirkwall centre

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: Central
Location: Very central
We found the hotel easily. We used the local bus service most of the time and found it to be very accessible. The hotels was comfortable,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 23, 2016 on Hotels