Ratings based on 163 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

PWS

Posted Jul 19, 2017 on Hotels
The stay was very quiet and peaceful since it was summer time, the meadows had very few people there, the building showed the ruff winter with some damage. The room (studio room) had water damage to ceiling which was not nice, they offered a different room but we liked the first better. the frig didn't get cool, bed a little worn but the quiet was very nice.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Disappointing, especially for the price

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: Location was within 40 minutes of Markleeville where we needed to be early the next morning
Cons: Some way to cool the room down. Provide ice, maybe a few vending machines. Could use some updating.
Location: We were there to participate in The Death Ride the next day.
We stayed during the non-peak season. The gentleman at the desk was pleasant and candid, and told us our room was in a building warmer than the rest and it has no A/C. The room was 88 degrees when we put our bags in it. We were given a small fan to try and cool it down. When we went to bed it was still 83 degrees in the room, very uncomfortable. No ice to be found in the building. The lack of an ice bucket in the room should have been a clue. Parking was in a dirt parking lot, to get to the elevator had to walk through a covered garage that was near empty, yet told we could not park in the garage where our car could have been kept cooler out of the sun. I realize this is a "resort' and not a traditional hotel, but for the $200+ per night, it was extremely uncomfortable. Room was clean, bed was firm, but overall room was dated and marked up in places, it showed its age. I can't recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel good accommodations

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Everything you'd expect from ski resort condo, couch bed could use upgrade everything nice though
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 25, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Clara, California

Isolated location with nothing in the local area

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: The staff was very friendly.
Cons: If possible, have a manager on location at all times.
Location: There is not much to do in the locality, especially in Summer.
We stayed at Kirkwood resort in Summer. The location was almost isolated and there was nothing in the local area. However, the staff was very friendly.
3 out of 5
by Andrew B Kent

Posted Mar 21, 2017 on Hotels
Felt sort of like a dungeon with no natural light.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles and Oakland

Great location on the slopes

Posted Mar 17, 2017 on CheapTickets
Everything about the hotel, room, location, quality, friendliness was great. Only real complaint was that our room was never cleaned during our 3 night stay. No clean towels, trash snoring, toilet paper replenishment, etc. Not sure why but wonder if it had to do with the fact that we got the room through trip advisor/cheap tickets. If so then that's weird because we landed on that site from the Kirkwood Resort website for lodgings. Only other complaints were food prices and limited options. Overall we definitely loved skiing at Kirkwood and will be coming back and would stay at same place again.
2 out of 5
by Hyun

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 4, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Place was ok but teeny tiny. Very close to lifts though so that totally made up for it. Highly reccomend kirkwood mountain and 7800 for food and drinks after!
2 out of 5
by Daniel

Only book for easy mountain access

Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Hotels
The staff is courteous but inexperienced. My room key stopped working and I had to walk over to the front desk (in a separate building) twice to get it resolved. The rooms are very basic. They try to be 'eco-friendly' by supplying large pump bottles of shower gel, shampoo and conditioner, but it's pretty gross to carry those bottles in and out of the shower considering how many people have done the same. It would be better to mount them inside the shower. The elevator was broken for a day, forcing everyone to lug their things up and down narrow stairs. You are forced to park far away from your room, which is not ideal in winter weather. The closest dining places close at 6, though there are a couple places within a 5 minute walk. Set your expectations properly that the only reason to stay here is for easy access to the lifts.