Ratings based on 228 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Nice place but needs minor fixes and updates

Posted Mar 14, 2018
I liked the property, but there were tiny bugs in the 2nd bathroom. There was a roach in the shower of the master bath. The screens were not secure so a lizzard decided to visit for two of the seven days. The kitchen faucet leaked. The cooking pans need to be upgraded. The sheets and blankets should be replaced especially in the pink room. I had to wash them just to feel comfortable. There were stains on the sheets and the blanket was totally wrinkled like it was not freshly washed before our visit. Good thing is I loved the location and the layout of the house. I would definitely recommend if problems are fixed.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Brunswick, Canada

Beautiful Vacation Home

Posted Mar 7, 2018
We traveled as a family of 6 (Two adults, four teens) and found our vacation home perfect. It was spotlessly clean, spacious and had everything we needed. The four bedrooms (one with twin beds) was the perfect size and the games room with pool and air hockey tables as well as the swimming pool kept the kids occupied when we weren't out sightseeing. We would definitely book with Starmark again if we are in the area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 8, 2018 by Starmark Vacation Homes , Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your home and exceeded your expectations. We look forward to hosting your stay in the future.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Matthews

We spent four days in a luxury accommodation.

Posted Dec 9, 2017
Pros: Private pool. Lots of room.
Location: Close to all Disney parks. Close to stores and conveniences.
Close to Disney. Private pool. Plenty of room for ten people. Clean. Full kitchen. A great deal compared to theme park stays.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2018 by Starmark Vacation Homes, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback and look forward to hosting your stay again in the future.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice pool home

Posted Nov 30, 2017
We thought the pool home was clean and in a nice plan. The master bedroom was disappointing because the bed was probably 1 of the worst I’ve ever tried to sleep on. It would squeak at the slightest move and the floor may have been softer. The 2nd and 3rd bedrooms had better mattress. For the price it was a better value than hotel rooms.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA


Posted Nov 26, 2017
Pros: Good location Plenty of shopping, restaurant, and gas nearby.
Cons: Had to have flimsy twin bed mattresses replaced. Toilet paper, hand soap, paper towels, garbage bags, washcloths were inadequate for 6 people in house
Location: Close to Legoland and Walt DIsney World as well as Orlando Airport. .
From the onset, Starmark was challenging to communicate with regarding our reservation. They insisted a better situation was to book directly with Starmark and not through Expedia. Guests were given lots of do's and do not's - rules etc. We did not feel our comfort and needs respected. Many extra charges, pool heating for one, when pool liner was dirty. The house itself was roomy but furnishings were old and appeared in need of cleaning or replacement. We enjoyed our stay mainly because we spent our time mostly out of the house and only rested or slept there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2017 by Starmark Vacation Homes , Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. All homes are self-catering properties and come equipped with 1 roll of toilet paper for each bathroom, 1 roll of paper towel in the kitchen, 1 trash liner for every trash can and 1 dishwasher pod. This information is included all arrival details prior to guest arrival. Our representative explain to guest that all homes booked via Expedia are in various locations vs. booking a specific home directly. Pool Heat is always at an additional cost for all reservations and is not included. I can ensure, that if contacted with your concerns while in resort, we would have made all efforts to ensure all your concerns were addressed. We apologize if we fell short of your expectations and appreciate your feedback.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from guatemala


Posted Nov 13, 2017
Pros: nothing, old not what i pay for
Cons: i dont care never recomending or stay in that facility
Location: nothing but a walmart
NEVER renting this again or recomeding , nothing like the picutes in the site nothing !!! for and old house i qould have stay in a cheap hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2017 by Starmark Vacation Homes , Hotel Management
Thank you for you for providing your feedback. We are sorry that you were unhappy with your stay. Unfortunately, I don't have record of you ever contacting us during your stay to assist with any issues you may have been experiencing. Please contact us as we would like to know how the home did not meet your expectations.
2 out of 5
by Trina

Posted Nov 11, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2017 by Starmark, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from newfoundland

It looked clean at first

Posted Nov 1, 2017
Terrible just terrible the place is infested with ants the stove worked sometimes couldn't even cook an egg because pans were terrible the bathtub was full of some kinda bug. I left a package of donuts on the counter for 10 minutes and it was full of ants. Everything and I mean everything was totally out dated by 30 years at least. That's only the half of it. And no sense calling them because of there terrible service. Never will I ever rent a home from them. And it wasn't even cheap I could understand if it was 50$ a night. I don't usually give bad reviews but this one was a must
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2017 by Starmark Vacation Homes , Hotel Management
Dear Martin, First, we want to thank you for your feedback. We work hard to deliver a great guest experience. I'm sorry to hear that you had issues with the property, we would have been more than happy to address any issues you were experiencing if you would have contact Starmark Vacation Homes. Although we do not have properties that are at least 30 years, we apologize if we fell short of your expectations. We hope that you allow us the opportunity to see to it that you enjoy the experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. All the best,
5 out of 5
by Ray from Texas

very nice

Posted Oct 23, 2017 on Hotels
Hard to find your room at night, other ths3n that, perfect for us.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2017 by Starmark, Hotel Management
Dear Ray, Thank you for your stay with us and for sharing your experience with other travelers. We are so happy that property was perfect for you and your guests, but were sorry to hear that you had difficulty finding the property at night. Thank you for staying with Starmark Vacation Homes and we hope you will consider us for your next stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Watch for Hidden Charges.

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: Property was clean and spacious enough for a family of five. The pool was clean and well maintained during our 10 day stay.
Cons: Less pushy sale techniques. Clearer contact information. More transparrency over additional charges.
Location: There are shops relatively nearby (within10 mins driving) for essentials and several retaurants on US27 (Walmart, Applbeys, Dollar Tree, CVS Chemist).
Destination Charge? Cleaning Charge? Admin Fee? For us this came in at an additional $198 - on top of the Expedia quoted price. Starmark tried to push more expensive options prior to our arrival - but refused to provide more information/photos of the property we had booked. However, they were able to provide photos of the more expensive properties - hmmmm..... strange. Property was clean and most facilities worked. Jacuzzi didn't work, some of the window blinds were falling down, basic TV package provided. Not alot of privacy from neighbouring properties when using the pool, however the area was quiet with the immediate property on one side was unoccupied - with stagnant pool. Property management staff were pleasant and helpful - which came in handy when Starmark provided the wrong information to gain access to the property upon arrival. Following a long flight, the last thing you need is not being able to gain access to your holiday property - on a Sunday night, out of office hours, thinking you were at the wrong property, with neighbours directing you to another part of the estate where they thought the address was. Overall, the property was cool and quiet which is what was needed after a hot day out in the Disney sun. The location was not too far from the main Disney resorts, with main routes connecting you to the main Orlando tourist areas. The pool was a reasonable size and depth for the children to play in safely. Whilst not heated, it was a welcoming temperature.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2017 by Starmark Vacation Homes, Hotel Management
Hi Stuart, Thank you very much for your review of your recent stay at one of our homes. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us. We always welcome and appreciate guests comments about our properties. Our local fees are indicated on the Expedia website. Clean fees will always vary based on the size and category of properties as does the administration fee. Jacuzzi are not heated; unless pool heat is prepaid or paid during a guest's stay as there is an additional charge for Jacuzzi/Pool to be heated. We're happy that you enjoyed your quiet stay and that the property was comfortably situated in an area that you had access to just about everything. Best Regards,