Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, NV USA

Nice, quiet hotel

Posted Apr 26, 2017
My stay at the APA Hotel was great. It was my first time in a Japanese hotel. It is in a quiet neighborhood but I didn't find many options for dining in the area. The hotel was a bit dated but the staff was very friendly and everything was very clean. The APA is about a 15 or 20 minute walk to Tenshochi park where the cherry blossom festival was.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Business Hotel (Men-only spa)

Posted Sep 23, 2016 on Hotels
It's a very average business hotel in a small city. Because I made last minute plans on a holiday weekend, it was one of few openings I could find. The room had all the usual business hotel amenities (hair dryer, pants press, tv, wi-fi) and was clean, if worn. Two things to note: - There is a spa (sento) on the first floor, but it is only for men. I knew this before making my reservation so it didn't factor into my rating, but other hotels in the same chain have spas for both men and women. - I had a non-smoking room, and I didn't notice any smell of cigarette smoke in my room. However, when I got home and unpacked my bag, I noticed that all the clothes I had hung on the hangers by the door (the only place to hang clothes) smelled distinctly smoky.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient

Posted Apr 25, 2016
Great location and value for money. Good sento. Helpful and friendly staff.
5 out of 5
by Dean

4/5

Posted Jan 20, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel was decent for its price. It was only an hour drive away from Geto-Kogen for snowboarding.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

APA Hotel - Kitakami

Posted Jan 16, 2016 on Hotels
An old hotel in need of updating, however, the room was clean and the size (single) was great by Japanese standards. Hotel staff were friendly and tried their best with limited english. There are some great place to eat less than 10 minutes walk away. Good value overall.
5 out of 5
by Terry from Lakewood

Small but comfortable.

Posted Nov 19, 2015 on Hotels
bathroom and tub doorway was 6' tall, I am 6' 2. Small but comfortable, they turned on the heat and it was warm outside but they helped us open the windows to make the room cooler. close to train stations and a great restaurant a few blocks away. Personnel were great and helpful. We will use this hotel again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Yokohama, Japan

Disappointing APA Hotel

Posted Sep 3, 2015
Pros: The staff was kind and accommodating. There were ample signs indicating the way from the station. There is a nearby mall with some dining options
Cons: The sexist policy for the onsen is infuriating. The carpets are a bit shabby, and, beyond the lobby, the hotel smells of old smoke.
Location: There is a Sakurano department store within a five minute walk, a large shrine nearby, and some attractions that require a short drive.
While not reflective of all APA Hotels (and I have stayed in others that were better), the fact that they count this as one of their hotels makes me hesitant to trust them again. I will certainly not be staying at this hotel again. 1. The building is old and reeks of stale tobacco. I booked a non-smoking room, but there was still the smell of smoke and tobacco (and products used to try to cover it up) in my room, the hallways, and the elevator. The staff was very accommodating and brought an air purifier to my room, but it was still a really unpleasant experience, especially when trying to sleep. 2. There is an onsen-type spa within the building, but this hotel has a men-only policy for it. Quite often (including in other APA hotels), if there is only one onsen, there will be set hours for men and women to use it. However, this hotel has signs in the room and elevator (mostly in Japanese, although there is one brief "men's only" note in English in the elevator) very clearly stating that the hotel's policy is that their onsen is only for men. The note in the hotel room even has the audacity to tell you to "make yourself at home" (rough translation from Japanese) while baldly demonstrating their discrimination against women. 3. While the bathrooms were generally clean, upon getting in the bathtub, I could easily see mildew on the underside of nearly every surface. It was really disgusting.
4 out of 5
by RON from aspen

Good overnight transit hotel.

Posted Aug 4, 2015 on Hotels
Spent one night here on my way from Hiroshima to Sapporo. To avoid getting into Sapporo after midnight I booked a room here. I took a taxi which ran about $5.00 USD. I did walk back to the train station that evening and it's about a 10 minute walk. I have stayed at APA hotels before, small rooms by U.S. Standard but they have all the amenities. About 1-2 blocks away are many restaurants and bars. Good for a overnight stay for one person.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: 大浴場。
Cons: 大浴場の女湯がないこと。
Location: 駅からはやや離れていて周囲も繁華街ではないが静かで良い。
リーズナブルながら当該ホテルチェーンの品質が維持されていて安心感がある。 ビジネスにもウィンタースポーツにもスパリゾートにも便利なロケーション。
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from 岩手県釜石市

商業施設に近いホテル

Posted Jan 25, 2017
お値段がとても安かったのに、快適に過ごすことができました。大浴場は女性にもあると、いいなあと思いました。