Ratings based on 294 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: Furniture
Cons: Rebuild
Location: Good location
The hotel is disjointed with different sections separated by a conference center. The furniture in the room was very attractive. I would not go back, nicer hotels in the area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Great place to stay, we were travelling and it was perfect. Close to the highway. It is very close to the college if someone were visiting there.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NH

Excellent Staff; Comfortable Surroundings

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Pros: Spacious rooms; friendly & helpful staff.
Cons: Pool could be open earlier in season. Mid-June it was quite hot and a swim in the pool would've been nice.
Location: We were there to visit the University of Guelph so did not do any sightseeing. The University is lovely.
This trip was planned in great detail to visit & attend my daughter's university graduation. After a very stressful and long car ride, complete with US/Canada border problems - it was a great relief to check-in at the Best Western Royal Brock in Guelph. The staff were unbelievably warm & comforting, as well as efficient & helpful. The hotel itself was quite nice - with roomy accommodations. Breakfast was good - with a spacious dining area. It was mid-June and we expected the pool to be open - but this was our only complaint. Overall - it was a wonderful experience and I was very appreciative of the extra efforts the staff took to assist me with a stressful but exciting family situation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2016 by Glenn I, Hotel Management
Thank you for your detailed review. We appreciate your comments and hope to serve you again sometime in the near future.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Guelph

Close to everything I needed!

Posted May 23, 2016
The room was quiet and I enjoyed my stay. I didn't spend a lot of time in the hotel but the bed was comfortable and everything was clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 13, 2016 by Ketan Nagra, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent visit to the Best Western Royal Brock Hotel and for taking the time to publish this positive review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and strive daily to insure the very utmost in customer service and product. Please visit us again next time you are in Guelph.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, free parking, good breakfast

Posted May 4, 2016
Pros: Location, free parking (Delta, take note), breakfast included
Cons: My sink drain was clogged.
Location: Close to Stone Road mall (but maybe not walking distance for some) and the university.
Located at the corner of Gordon and Stone Road, the Best Western is fairly close to the mall and many restaurants. It's also near the university. The hotel was very quiet (not many guests) and the room was comfortable. The wi-fi worked fine and parking (uncovered) is free. The free breakfast (eggs, sausages etc.) was good, plentiful and uncrowded. The only issue during my stay was an annoying clogged sink drain. The price was much better than I was quoted for the Delta or HI Express. It's maybe not my first choice for a Guelph hotel but it was a good value and I would stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 13, 2016 by Ketan Nagra, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for the review and we appreciate your feedback and find your input of paramount importance on our development and continual improvement.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Ontario

Nice hotel, very close to University of Guelph

Posted May 3, 2016
Pros: location, quiet
Cons: better coffee
Very clean, very quiet hotel. We stay there often as it is very close to Guelph University. The staff are very pleasant. Terrible coffee! We chose this hotel for its location and the fact that they offer breakfast. The coffee was so bad this visit, that the second morning, we skipped breakfast and went elsewhere. If a hotel offers breakfast they should at least have decent coffee.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2016 by Ketan Nagra, Hotel Management
Your feedback is very much appreciated and I can assure you that my staff and I use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We do hope you decide to give us another try on your next visit.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, Ontario

It was nce to be a few minutes from downtown.

Posted May 3, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness and breakfast
Cons: On departure we told staff of the squeaking bathroom door....especially in the middle of the night when you are trying to be quiet.
Location: Go to Baker Street Station, 76 Baker Street, Guelph of course....excellent food ...great staff...say hi to Jonathon for me.
Room Lovely - no smoking allowed. Breakfast excellent..coffee very good...Staff in this area very very nice. (They went around and reminded us when the Breakfast area would be closed..if we needed something else.)
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 13, 2016 by Ketan Nagra, Hotel Management
Thank you for the kind comments, it is encouraging to hear positive and kind words from our guests. We strive to provide a superior customer experience and we are elated to read your review. We look forward to your next visit.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

close to U of G

Posted Apr 19, 2016 on Hotels
The location was great
4 out of 5
by Angela

Posted Apr 15, 2016 on Hotels
My daughter had a dance competition in Guelph. Photos on the hotels.com web site show an indoor pool. Was extremely disappointed to learn when I arrived that the pool was a seasonal outdoor pool. Being April it was closed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 14, 2016
Cons: UPdate the bathrooms, improve the plumbing.
We checked in on Friday, April 8 for an overnight stay. The front desk gentleman was nice enough, very friendly. He gave us directions to our room, which was difficult to find as the layout of this hotel is very odd. When we finally found our room it was very large however the bathroom is incredibly outdated. The cleanliness was ok however the shower took nearly an hour to drain after I had a shower, which is so gross. THe breakfast Saturday morning was good, lots of variety and hot options.