Ratings based on 253 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Nice hotel close to St Jacobs

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Pros: Clean, staff friendly, quiet
Cons: N/A
Location: St Jacobs
I made an error on the date of my booking and arrived 1 day early. Hotel staff easily updated the expedia reservation to switch the date. Much appreciated!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Pros: Room was big, bed very comfy.
Cons: Better meal options.
Location: Outlet mall, Walmart, fast food and a few restaurant options right beside the hotel. Universities, Chapters and more all within 10 minutes.
Hotel was very clean, modern and spacious. Jacuzzi in my room was clean and working well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Nice hotel near tourist attractions.

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Pros: Its location, welcoming atmosphere, and eye-pleasing décor.
Location: St. Jacob's Farmer's Market, Outlet Mall, Market Road Antiques, and University of Waterloo, north campus is also not too far to visit.
Hotel ambiance is nicely appointed. It's also close to the attractions we want to visit, e.g. Market Road Antiques Market.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ontario

Close to Waterloo's Farmers Market!

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Pros: Modern look and cleanliness.
Location: Good shopping nearby. Farmers' market is close by. Lots of things to experience.
Great location if you like farmers' markets and antique shopping. Hotel was very clean, with comfortable rooms. Very nicely designed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Nice hotel close to shopping

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Pros: Many guest took advantage of the lobby fireplace seating in the evening...very inviting.
Cons: For the cost of the stay, a complimentary coffee, if not breakfast, should be considered. Breakfast at the market was very reasonable.
Location: Great location to St Jacobs Market and theatre. A short drive to downtown.
We went to St Jacobs for a "sister weekend" at the farmers market and "Sparkle" weekend. The hotel was very nice...clean, quiet and walking distance to the market. A bistro is available to buy breakfast but we ate at the market. Many of the
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 20, 2016
The staff were friendly and the room comfortable and clean. However, we were on the second floor and the noise from the room above us was extremely loud.....could hear people walking back and forth across their room. We were also awakened in the early morning by an extremely loud, startling banging - sounded like from the shower above. Have never experienced that amount of noise from a room above before.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Great location! Hotel is modern and tastefully decorated
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Very Noisy Hotel

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Hotel looks very nice. But it's definitely the worst Courtyard experience I've ever had. The walls are very thin and you can hear everything from the other rooms. There were kids loud making noise in the hallways the whole weekend. The gym is substandard. Aside from the cardio machines, all it had was one bench with free weights and no other weight training equipment. Plus, one of the dumbbells was missing. The rooms are decorated nicely so if they can improve the noise levels then it has potential. I asked to be moved to a room that may be quieter, but the staff said that is not possible and they'd let me know if anything opens up. I never heard back. Would not stay here again. One of the worst hotel experiences I've ever had.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sudbury

overall okay for a Marriott

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Pros: close to university , beds were comfy bathroom clean
Cons: complete dusting of room.. overall my stay was pleasant, no real concerns and I slept well - I was just surprised
Location: great location at St. Jacobs and only a 10 min drive to university of Waterloo.
Marriot carries a good reputation. I was surprised for the price of the room it had not been dusted properly around the TV(quite thick) and there was no comp breakfast. We could really hear talking in the hall and walking above us which was surprising for a newer hotel. At check in, staff were efficient but I had to ask as to where my room was.. a little surprised at that as well and she actually gave me wrong directions... maybe she was new. Staff in coffee bistro need more training on customer service. 2x I had to ask for my coffees. They gave me one and walked away with no explanation.. I asked about the 2nd after a wait and finally after asking about it, they stated they had to brew another pot..i was angry this wasn't mentioned when my first cup was delivered. all staff at this hotel need additional training on customer interaction, good customer service and room inspection.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 23, 2016
I requested a room adapted for a handicapped person, and was told I'd have a room with a roll-in shower. Well, the bathroom was a little larger than the usual, which I appreciated. But is a four-inch lip on the shower roll-in? I don't think so. I managed anyway, but my experience is they'll tell handicapped people ANYthing, so I try to double-check... Also, I'm sure the room and bedding were clean, but would rather the bedding was ironed, that way we know it's clean.