Ratings based on 282 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Consider other options

Posted Apr 16, 2018
Pros: The staff in the restaurant were genuinely wonderful.
Cons: Wifi is important to travelers and the hotel does not have reliable wifi in rooms because they are so far from the main area of the hotel.
Location: Kitchener and Waterloo are reasonably accessible. A pub with good beer and bad food right next door.
This is an average Holiday Inn with below average rooms. Wifi did not really work consistently in rooms so had to go down to main part of building to get wifi. Staff was very helpful and had a positive attitude - they were the best part of staying here. But the rooms and technology need an upgrade.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location!

Posted Apr 5, 2018
A nice, clean hotel with a great location. Price is quite reasonable too. I would book again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 6, 2018 by Jessica Mitchell, Rooms Division Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Kitchener-Cambridge and for the wonderful feedback that that you provided. Your review is greatly appreciated and we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us! We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel the next time your travels bring you to the area. Yours in hospitality, Jessica Mitchell, Rooms Division Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 4, 2018
The rest of this day was very good but in the next morning when it came for breakfast as I understood when I scheduled the room was there where was free back breakfast and when I want to go and get the breakfast I realized it was not free so what I suggest that hotel to other people know because I felt I was scammed
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2018 by Jessica Mitchell, Rooms Division Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Kitchener-Cambridge and for taking the time to provide us with a review of your recent experience. We apologize that your enjoyable stay took a turn when you went to enjoy your complimentary breakfast. We sincerely apologize for this billing error and would be happy to review the concern with your directly so that we may rectify it for you. Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel so that we may serve you better. Yours in hospitality, Jessica Mitchell, Rooms Division Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kitchener/Waterloo

It was ok

Posted Mar 26, 2018
This hotel wants you to think they are a 4 star, I would say a 3 at the most. It wasn’t very clean, staff seemed preoccupied and disinterested. Concerned more about their cell phones. I get it though, however you’re at work.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2018 by Jessica Mitchell, Rooms Division Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Dave, Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Kitchener-Cambridge and for taking the time to provide us with a review of your experience. We sincerely apologize that we failed to meet your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and will use it to correct the deficiencies that you experienced. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel and serve you better. Yours in hospitality, Jessica Mitchell, Rooms Division Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It was good

Posted Mar 23, 2018
It was a comfortable bed and pillows were super comfy..the bed spread had stains on it though... it was a nice room with a patio door to sit outside. The staff were very kind and helpful with anything we needed. I would recommend it
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2018 by Jessica Mitchell, Rooms Division Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn and for taking the time to provide us with a review of your stay. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us, while at the same time disappointed to hear about the linen concern you faced. It is our priority to ensure that we are providing a clean and fresh environment for all of our guests and I will follow up with our team to ensure that we are taking all of the necessary precautions to deliver on this hospitality promise. Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again soon. Yours in hospitality, Jessica Mitchell, Rooms Division Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old section is terrible

Posted Mar 17, 2018
For the price I paid, I was very disappointed. I won’t be staying there anymore. Next time I’ll try the Radisson around the corner. The only good thing was the amazing buffet breakfast and friendly staff in the restaurant. I know that sounds harsh, but it’s the truth.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2018 by Jessica Mitchell, Rooms Division Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Kitchener-Cambridge and for taking the time to provide us and your fellow Expedia users with a review of your experience. We apologize that we failed to exceed your expectations and appreciate you bringing your concerns to our attention so that we may work towards rectifying them to the best of our ability. As we do offer multiple room types, we hope that the next time your travels bring you to the area, that you will reconsider and stay with us in one of our Executive Tower Rooms. We would greatly appreciate the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel and serve you better. Yours in hospitality, Jessica Mitchell, Rooms Division Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean modern room

Posted Mar 10, 2018
We enjoyed our room. Clean, modern decor. Crisp laminate floors. Bathroom clean and modern. Beds comfortable. Breakfast was included
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2018 by Jessica Mitchell, Rooms Division Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Kitchener-Cambridge and for providing a review of your recent experience with us. We take great pride in the products and services that we provide to our guests and are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your experience in our Executive Tower Guestrooms. We greatly appreciate your time and feedback and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel the next time your travels bring you to the Kitchener-Cambridge Area. Yours in hospitality, Jessica Mitchell, Rooms Division Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Richmond Hill

close to job save a 3 hour commute

Posted Mar 10, 2018
I was working in Kitchener for 3 days to avoid the 3 hour commute back and forth to Home and Kitchener. Unfortunately the hotel was not up to Holiday Inn standard. The room had a stale smell, the carpet was stained and dirty. The sink drain was broken. Towels were fine. But overall grungy. Very disappointed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2018 by Jessica Mitchell, Rooms Division Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Perry, Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Kitchener-Cambridge and for providing us with a review of your experience. We are very disappointed to hear that we failed to meet not only your expectations Perry, but ours as well. We take the comfort and satisfaction of our guests very seriously and learning of the concerns that you experienced throughout your stay are unacceptable. We would like to extend our apologies for the concerns that you faced and assure you that this type of experience certainly is not our standard. We strive to exceed all of our guests expectations and would greatly appreciate the opportunity to welcome you back to hotel and serve you better. Yours in hospitality, Jessica Mitchell, Rooms Division Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Nice stay in the Tower

Posted Mar 9, 2018
Request a room in the Tower, that is the newer part of the hotel. Heated bathroom floors are nice. The location is good, better than the Best Western down the street. Even better, they have a Nando's Peri Peri chicken just minutes away.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2018 by Jessica Mitchell, Rooms Division Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Rick, Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Kitchener-Cambridge and for providing us and the Expedia users with a review of your recent experience. We are thrilled to hear that the upgraded features in our Executive Rooms (heated flooring, carpet free guestroom), and our central location added to your overall enjoyable experience. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon! Yours in hospitality, Jessica Mitchell, Rooms Division Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ontario

Nice hotel

Posted Mar 3, 2018
Nice hotel and nearby the charcoal steakhouse restaurant. An easy 10 mins to the airport.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 5, 2018 by Jessica Mitchell, Rooms Division Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Susan, Thank you for wonderful feedback and for your 4 out of 5 rating. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel the next time your travels bring you to the Kitchener area. Yours in hospitality, Jessica Mitchell, Rooms Division Manager