Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from windsor, ON

Good room to stay in for a while

Posted Jan 21, 2017
I loved the fact that there was a king size bed, I enjoyed sleeping with no hesitation. My only concern were that my washroom smelled like cigarettes and even the hallway of the hotel smelled like cigarettes, which were kind of a bummer to be honest. But overall it was a good stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from southern New Jersey

It was a useful visit platform for the money.

Posted Jan 7, 2017
It was good for the money. To do better, plan well in advance to give yourself better choices.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Got bitten by bed bugs

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Good location (close to the bars and restaurants), but the rooms smell, and my bed had bed bugs (I had several bites all over my body)! Would not recommend staying here.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: Receptionist was nice and provided enough information.
Cons: The room smell is not fresh. The water pipe keeps making noise all night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Strictly an overnight business trip.

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Pros: Its locality. Fine for a business call.
Cons: It's fine as it is for what it is.
Location: Handy to everything in Guelph for a business trip, but not a vacation destination.
Closest hotel to trains and buses; easy stroll from downtown.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2016 by Front Desk, Hotel Management
Thank-you for your review, please visit us again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Goderich, Ont

Poor hotel near train station

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Location: We were only there from evening until 5;30am. so paid little attention to attractions.
Checked in. Went to room. 2 lamps had pull chains broken so not easy to turn on. On floor lamp did not work at all. air conditioner was noisy. bathroom sink leaked around taps. Floor not vaccumed. Dust around edges of room. We made note of these things and reported them to the front desk immediately so we would not be charged for damages. We left to eat. Repairs were done as best as they could be when we returned. The linens were clean. Minimum # of rather thin pillows. 2 pillows per bed. Towels were clean but thin.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Good Value

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Pros: The room was very big!
Cons: Our A/C required front desk help to adjust
Location: Great spot in Guelph near bars, clubs and restaurants.
Hotel was close to restaurants, bars and busy areas of Guelph. Quiet and spacious room. Great spot to be near the train/bus station or the arena.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2016 by Front Desk, Hotel Management
Thank you for your helpful feedback. Please visit us again at the Royal Inn and Suites Guelph!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Goulais River ON

It's like being a part of history

Posted May 17, 2016
Pros: Helpful staff who seem to be glad to answer questions and to get what we need. The cozy old world comfort in the rooms and hallways. The location.
Cons: The hotel will be improving from what the employees said. I would just suggest maybe marking it because we drove past three times looking for it.
Location: Lots of shops for coffee and food and shops for unique clothing and accessories as well as ethnic food stores and ethnic restaurants and the Basilica!
A nearly 200 year old hotel being gradually brought up to more modern standards. I hope and pray that the owners don't even think about making it into another boring, copycat chain hotel because this hotel deserves glamour and tasteful elegance. We loved the unusual carpeting, the hallways looking like the Overlook Hotel in Stephen King's, The Shining. We will stay there ever time we visit Guelph. Our daughter is in University there so we'll be frequent guests.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You get what you pay for

Posted May 15, 2016
The few nice things I can say about this hotel is that it's cheap and conveniently located. It is run down and dirty so if you are bothered by cigarette burns on your bedding, broken water faucets and mysterious stains on the wall, this is may not be the place for you. The afternoon receptionist (after 3 pm) was polite and helpful while the morning receptionists was rude and stand-offish (hard to deal with when not caffeinated). Thankfully we only stayed there for one night and surprisingly did not get bedbugs.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Find another hotel - you will be disappointed here

Posted Apr 17, 2016
Location: The hotel is central to downtown amenities
Where shall i start? The location is right next to very busy bus and train station and next door to night club and bar. Decor is mid to late 70s Room was large but very dirty Stair carpets worn through. Elevator small and dirty Bathroom was vile - hair on the floor, broken and damaged tiles, cracked toilet, lots of water damage, heater with no controls, very poorly cleaned overall Fridge in room was dirty inside. Microwave didnt work. Breakfast not provided as listed on web site