Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Gorgeous Hotel central to everything!

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Pros: Decor, design, clean, and staff
Cons: parking lot beside hotel would be better to offer as parking.
Location: Central to everything
Short 1 night stay but it was perfect, great staff, great decor and design.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal QC

Renovated 1896 hotel

Posted Jan 16, 2017
We were delighted with the beautiful décor - modern design, beautifully appointed room. The staff were friendly, polite and helpful. The hotel is right downtown so handy to a gorgeous second hand book store (one of the best we've seen), good restaurants, and the Market Square. We would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, great service

Posted Dec 7, 2016 on Hotels
Friendly service, comfy room, close to restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nicely renovated hotel in downtown area

Posted Dec 7, 2016
Close to the hospital for easy overnight stays while loved ones are in hospital. Unexpected hospital stay had me scrambling to find a place to stay over night. The hotel staff were absolutely wonderful in helping me. The room was quiet,clean and very comfortable. I would stay there again without hesitation.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nicely renovated hotel with great service.

Posted Dec 6, 2016 on Hotels
Great stay and great service. We were there for a Christmas party and the place was beautifully done. We were hoping for a bit of shopping nearby but there wasn't much. Not that far to drive however.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Nice hotel

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Lots of upgrades at the hotel since I last stayed here 10 years ago. Quiet hotel, comfortable bed and nice looks.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa On

Nice hotel right downtown

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Fast easy check-in. Valet parking is a good choice as there didn't seem to be any on site parking area. Staff was very helpful. They couldn't do enough to make us comfortable. Lots of space in the rooms. Very comfortable beds. Walking distance to Centre on the Square which was the original destination for this trip. Many good restaurants and pubs within walking distance as well. We understand that this is a very old hotel that has recently been refurbished. They have done a good job. Loved the large walk-in shower. Would definitely stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Port Colborne, ON

5th Anniversary stay at the Walper

Posted Nov 16, 2016
My wife & I stayed at the Walper for our 1st anniversary. I thought it would be nice to return for our 5th. My brother purchased the room for us as a gift. I called the hotel two days prior and asked a front desk staff if I needed to have the credit card that was used to get the room since it was a gift. I was told that it wasn't necessary to have that specific card but a valid card for incidentals and deposit. We arrived at 3pm to check in to the hotel. I provided my identification and credit card to the front attendant. "I'm sorry we don't accept debit visa". "It's too hard to give you your money back". Strange I think. I provide another card. "I'm sorry, that's not the card we have on file, you need to show that card". I smiled and replied... "It's like this. We are staying here tonight or I'm getting an immediate refund, the choice is yours". We stayed the night. In a very nice room. Next to an alley. The construction started about 630am. We left by 7am.