Ratings based on 92 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from barrie

Very clean. We love it

Posted Feb 18, 2018
Everything and everyone was fantastic We love it. I brought my other daughter and they accommodate us right away Was fantastic
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Disappointed based on reputation

Posted Jan 31, 2018
I was so excited to finally stay at The Walper during a business trip in the area. I booked a King room expecting a decent amount of space. The bathroom was incredibly small and the sink wasn't big enough to wash my face. There was no surface to lay a cosmetic bag or toiletries or even a hook to hang a hand towel. The staff were friendly but service was disappointing. I had questions about room service (no info in the room about how to access it) and tried the text concierge. No response. I called the front desk 3 times over 30 minutes to try and get someone. As well, for the coffee/tea service it was noted that fresh cream/milk was provided but none was in my fridge. After the trouble trying to reach the front desk I gave up. To add to the series of frustrations, my TV dropped its cable signal no less than 20 times between evening/morning. I tried to access the "smart TV" function for Netflix to get an error message that it wasn't supported. It's really too bad because I was so looking forward to this visit but I'm put off by the series of frustrations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 29, 2018
Cons: Parking
Location: Close to theatre, shops
Love the deco look Ordered off the hotel restaurant lunch menu, very good, limited selection but tasty. Rooms were spacious and laid out nicely.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

great hotel!

Posted Jan 25, 2018
Pros: Excellent location right in the middle of downtown Kitchener. Friendly staff, clean and comfortable rooms.
Cons: TV sometimes loses signal.
I was very pleased with my experience at the Walper Hotel and would recommend it to anyone staying in Kitchener.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Downtown.

Posted Jan 21, 2018
If this rating was based on staff it’s be 10/5 best service ever. However, the room was small for the price paid for an upgraded room, loud being downtown and couldn’t adjust the temperature. Main restaurant pricy and mediocre food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose

Boutique better than Chain

Posted Jan 21, 2018
Very clean and exceptionally large room. Valet warms up the car and cleans the snow off in the winter. Very friendly and accommodating staff, seem to take pride in their jobs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 17, 2018
Pros: The location.
Cons: Heating.
Location: Downtown Kitchener, with an excellent reputation and background.
The hotel is newly renovated and nice. The parking needs some explanation, but once you learn it it is close and not crowded.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgian Bay, Ontario

Great Hotel renovated and Modern

Posted Jan 15, 2018
We had a great weekend stay at the fabulously renovated Walper Hotel. Everything was modern and beautifully thought out. The Staff was friendly and accommodating! We loved the artful design in our room and in the common areas. We will be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 14, 2018
Fantastic hotel, incredibly kind and helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel, rooms are comfortable and cozy.

Posted Jan 6, 2018
Excellent experience at Walper. Staff welcoming and friendly