Primary image

Reviews of Diamonds Mapenzi Beach - All Inclusive

4 out of 5
Diamonds Mapenzi Beach - All Inclusive
Mahonda, 100, Zanzibar, Kiwengwa

Overall score and ratings

4.3

Excellent

Rating 5 - Excellent. 50 out of 98 reviews
5 - Excellent 51%
Rating 4 - Good. 38 out of 98 reviews
4 - Good 39%
Rating 3 - Okay. 6 out of 98 reviews
3 - Okay 6%
Rating 2 - Poor. 2 out of 98 reviews
2 - Poor 2%
Rating 1 - Terrible. 2 out of 98 reviews
1 - Terrible 2%

4.5/5

Cleanliness

4.5/5

Staff & service

4.1/5

Amenities

4.3/5

Property conditions & facilities

4.4/5

Eco-friendliness

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Had a great time, thank you!
Stayed 4 nights in Apr 2022
Response from Diamond Mapenzi Beach on May 11, 2022
Dear Simon, Thank you for your feedback. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you soon once again. Regards, Victor Otieno Guest Service Manager

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The staff went out of their way to ensure your needs were satisfied.
Stayed 6 nights in Apr 2022
Response from Diamond Mapenzi Beach on May 11, 2022
Dear Michael, Thank you for your review. It was absolute pleasure hosting you. We look forward to your next visit. Regards, Victor Otieno, Guest Service Manager

3/5 Okay

Liked: Staff & service, property conditions & facilities
It's a beach front hotel! Pros: As it is a little higher than the beach, the beach boys would just bother you when you would go to the beach, when you are inside the hotel property they don't. They serve coconut water daily, and for it was a big plus! It's a big hotel, lots of sunbeds and places to hang around Cons: The beach was full of seaweed, and for the 8 days that I was there they just cleaned the excess on the sand just once. Other surrounding hotels did it more often. If you want fresh beach towels, you have to give them back the used ones till 6pm. As there is sun till 7pm, for me it was a problem, as I needed to cut short my day so I'd have fresh towels the next day. For a 4 star hotel, I wasn't expecting that. On Sundays and Thurdays nights, they serve dinner outside, with live music. It was really nice, except the music went till 10:15pm and 10:30pm, and it really bothered me, as I was jet lagged and wanted to sleep early, but the music was loud.
Stayed 7 nights in Feb 2020
Response from Hotel Management on Mar 2, 2020
Dear H, Thank you very much for taking the time sharing your feedback following your recent stay at Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Resort. It was indeed a pleasure to welcome you as our guests. At Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Resort we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer and we are continuously working on our performance in order to achieve our high service standards. Your Feedback is a gift for us and we are pleased to read your positive impressions/ comments about your stay with us. However, please rest assured that we are looking into your constructive feedback and taking the appropriate measures to prevent future occurrences where possible in order to keep our high service standard for each guest. Your kind compliments and comments have been passed on to my fellow Team Members. In any service industry, special emphasis is placed on staff training and it is always rewarding when guests voice their appreciation. Again, thank you very much and we hope to have a chance to welcome you once more at Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Resort in future.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
We had a wonderful two nights, we here my boyfriend. We were able to enjoy
Stayed 2 nights in Feb 2020
Response from Hotel Management on Feb 27, 2020
Dear Valued Guest, Your Feedback is a gift for us and we are pleased to read your positive comment and review score. Thank you very much and we are looking forward to welcome you again at Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Resort in future. Best regards, Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Management

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 5 nights in Feb 2020
Response from Hotel Management on Feb 21, 2020
Dear Valued Guest, Your Feedback is a gift for us and we are pleased to read your positive review score. Again, thank you very much and we are looking forward to welcome you again at Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Resort in future. Best regards, Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Management

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 13 nights in Oct 2019
Response from Best regards, Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Management on Nov 6, 2019
Dear Guests Greeting from Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Resort Thank you very much for your kind and Your positive Feedback is a gift for us and we are pleased to read your positive review score and constructive comments. Again, thank you very much and we are looking forward to welcome you again at Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Resort.

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 4 nights in Sep 2019
Response from Hotel Management on Jan 16, 2020
Dear Mr B, Your Feedback is a gift for us and we are pleased to read your positive review score. Again, thank you very much and we are looking forward to welcome you again at Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Resort in future. Best regards, Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Management

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
10 days of relaxation
The resort is located about 1 hour from the airport on the east of the island. Don't make the mistake that we made in booking a hotel transfer directly from the hotel as they are obliged to use the in-house "Zanzitours" transfer service at $75. (We booked a local taxi for the return transfer at $40) We arrived at the hotel just after 15:00 local time which was after lunch time cut-off but we were invited to have lunch regardless - big thumbs up for that The hotel is about 25 years old and is beginning to look a little tired but it is a lovely nonetheless. Our room was nice: well appointed but again, needs a refresh. We had a beachside villa (room 145) which was probably the best located villa on the resort - closest villa to the main resort building and the beach club hut. Rooms 144 and 147 will also share this ideal location The food is delicious - drinks are plentiful (we took the all inclusive option) and service is friendly. However, step out onto the public beach and you are fair game for constant pestering from the locals, selling their wares and offering sightseeing tours and sailing trips (at reduced costs offered by the hotel) Entertainment is provided by the "animation team" led by Shuma, who are young, enthusiastic and linguistically talented - amongt them, they could converse with all Europeans guests and provided a number of activities for those who wanted to take part
Stayed 10 nights in Sep 2019
Response from Hotel Management on Nov 22, 2019
Dear Ayla, Thank you very much for taking the time sharing your feedback following your recent stay at Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Resort. It was indeed a pleasure to welcome you as our guests and to learn that you overall enjoyed your stay with us. At Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Resort we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer and we are continuously working on our performance in order to achieve our high service standards. Your Feedback is a gift for us and we are pleased to read your positive impressions/ comments about your stay with us. However, please rest assured that we are looking into your comments and taking the appropriate measures to prevent future occurrences where possible to keep our standard. In fact, we are providing and recommend transfers via our external transportation partner ZanTours which fulfills all necessary legal and insured requirements and as well to provide the best possible comfort. We are continuously working on our general room maintenance in order to keep our standard and accommodation experience high. Please be informed that we have increased our room maintenance operation to avoid further inconveniences. Your kind compliments and comments have been passed on to my fellow Team Members. In any service industry, special emphasis is placed on staff training and it is always rewarding when guests voice their appreciation. Again, thank you very much and we are looking forward to welcome you again at Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Resort in future. Best Regards, Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Management

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Worth a visit
Excellent all inclusive
Stayed 1 night in Sep 2019
Response from Ester on Sep 23, 2019
Dear Anjan , Greetings from Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Resort Thank you very much for taking the time sharing your feedback following your recent stay at Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Resort. It was indeed a pleasure to welcome you as our guests and to learn that you overall enjoyed your stay with us. Your kind compliments about your stay have been passed on to my fellow Team Members. In any service industry, special emphasis is placed on staff training and it is always rewarding when guests voice their appreciation. we are looking forward to welcome you back once more at Diamonds Mapenzi Resort in future. Best regards, Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Management.

2/5 Poor

Stayed 1 night in Mar 2019
Response from Hotel Management on Apr 3, 2019
Dear Valued Guest, we are very sad to read your review score. Unfortunately the score it is not clear for us and therefore we hope to get the chance to welcome you again at our beautiful resorts in order to make it up for you. Best regards, Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Resort Management

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Mapenzi and Diamond resorts Rock!
It was fabulous beginning to end. My happy place. Best Holliday ever.
Stayed 19 nights in Dec 2018
Response from Hotel Management on Jan 6, 2019
Dear Shevaughn, thank you very much for taking the time sharing your feedback following your stay at Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Resort. It was indeed a pleasure to welcome you as our guests and to learn that you overall enjoy your stay with us. At Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Resort we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer and we are continuously working on our performance in order to achieve our high service standards.Your Feedback is a gift for us and we are happy to read your positive comments and impressions about your stay. Your kind compliments have been passed on to my fellow Team Members. In any service industry, special emphasis is placed on staff training and it is always rewarding when guests voice their appreciation. Again, thank you very much and we are looking forward to welcome you back at Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Resort in future. Best regards, Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Management

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Facilities were always clean and tidy, and were well maintained. Beach villa (amazing view of the beach!) cleaned twice daiily and always nicely made up with flower decorations. Very comfortable beds. Local vendors, although very friendly, tend to mob guests who venture out onto the beach/ walk to the reef, and are extremely persistant. Food can become somewhat repetitive and could do with more variety.
Stayed 1 night in Dec 2018
Response from Hotel Management on Jan 1, 2019
Dear valued guest, Thank you very much for taking the time sharing your feedback following your recent stay at Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Resort. It was indeed a pleasure to welcome you as our guests and to learn that you overall enjoyed your stay with us. At Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Resort we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer and we are continuously working on our performance in order to achieve our high service standards. Your Feedback is a gift for us and we are pleased to read your positive impressions/ comments about your stay with us. Please rest assured that we are looking into your comments related to our hotel operation and we regret to hear that you did not appreciate our food variety which includes: The Palm restaurant opened for breakfast, lunch and dinner on all-inclusive with a daily changed variety of fresh International, Mediterranean and African cuisine, different food stations and live cooking stations. The Beach Grill opened for lunch on all-inclusive, located on the beach under a wonderful big tree, where we do serve our light lunch. The Nakupenda Pizzeria opened for dinner on all-inclusive, located on the beach/ restaurant where we serve appetizer, pizzas and desserts. Furthermore our Pool Dinner as well as African Dinner on the beach on two different dates during the week which are one of the most popular events at the resort. In addition our Seafood restaurant Suli Suli to choose from a la carte menu with extra charge. Your kind compliments and comments have been passed on to my fellow Team Members. In any service industry, special emphasis is placed on staff training and it is always rewarding when guests voice their appreciation Again, thank you very much and we hope to welcome you once more at Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Resort in future. Best regards, Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Management

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Highly recommended
Excellent resort, service and accommodation - the staff couldn't do enough! Food was great and weather just made it perfect.
Stayed 10 nights in Nov 2018
Response from Hotel Management on Dec 12, 2018
Dear Tarryn, thank you very much for taking the time sharing your feedback following your stay at Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Resort. It was indeed a pleasure to welcome you as our guests and to learn that you overall enjoy your stay with us. At Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Resort we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer and we are continuously working on our performance in order to achieve our high service standards.Your Feedback is a gift for us and we are happy to read your positive comments and impressions about your stay. Your kind compliments have been passed on to my fellow Team Members. In any service industry, special emphasis is placed on staff training and it is always rewarding when guests voice their appreciation. Again, thank you very much and we are looking forward to welcome you back at Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Resort in future. Best regards, Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Management

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
This hotel is absolutely amazing. The service was always there and the staff always aim to please. My daughter held her wedding at the Diamonds Mapenzi Beach and the event turned out fabulous. The best point is that it is all inclusive. The food was always of the highest quality and the chefs were always there for comments and a friendly chat. I would strongly suggest this hotel if you need to relax on holiday or distress. 10/10 for the management and staff at Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Hotel.
Stayed 5 nights in Nov 2018
Response from Hotel Management on Dec 4, 2018
Dear Stephen, Thank you very much for taking the time sharing your feedback following your stay at Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Resort. It was indeed a pleasure to welcome you as our guests and to learn that you overall enjoy your stay with us. At Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Resort we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer and we are continuously working on our performance in order to achieve our high service standards.Your Feedback is a gift for us and we are happy to read your positive comments and impressions about your stay. Your kind compliments have been passed on to my fellow Team Members. In any service industry, special emphasis is placed on staff training and it is always rewarding when guests voice their appreciation. Again, thank you very much and we are looking forward to welcome you back at Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Resort in future. Best regards, Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Management

3/5 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Disliked: Room comfort
The hotel staff were very friendly and our room was kept very clean. The grounds are beautiful and the food was above average for an all-inclusive. However the coffee was awful - a surprise since excellent coffee is readily available in Zanzibar. Our main complaint was that we were not given the twin room we booked and our enquiries into why were met with incomprehensible explanations. The hotel did provide an extra bed in the corner of the room but for the money we were paying it was less than ideal and I felt like I was in a youth hostel. Also, the excellent wi-fi we were told we had upon arrival never materialized and we gave up asking about that. Overall, the hotel is beautiful and the scenery stunning.
Stayed 5 nights in Nov 2018
Response from Hotel Management on Dec 4, 2018
Dear valued guest, Thank you very much for taking the time sharing your feedback following your recent stay at Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Resort. It was indeed a pleasure to welcome you as our guests and to learn that you overall enjoyed your stay with us. At Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Resort we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer and we are continuously working on our performance in order to achieve our high service standards. Your Feedback is a gift for us and we are disappointed not to fully meet your expectations. Please rest assured that we are looking into your comments, investigating and taking the appropriate measures to prevent future occurrences. Further training will take place in order to keep our high service standard for each guest. Your kind compliments and comments have been passed on to my fellow Team Members. In any service industry, special emphasis is placed on staff training and it is always rewarding when guests voice their appreciation. Again, thank you very much and we hope to welcome you once more at Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Resort in future.

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 2 nights in Nov 2018
Response from Best regards, Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Management on Nov 17, 2018
Dear Abey Greetings From Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Resort Thank you very much for the Report. Best Regards Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Management

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Had the most amazing stay here. Cocktails in the menu were superb. Surrounding just beautiful and the staff could not do enough for you.
Stayed 7 nights in Oct 2018
Response from Maybryante on Oct 27, 2018
Dear valued Guest, Greetings From Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Resort Thank you very much for taking the time sharing your feedback following your recent stay at Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Resort. It was indeed a pleasure to welcome you as our guests and to learn that you overall enjoyed your stay with us. Your kind compliments about your stay have been passed on to my fellow Team Members. In any service industry, special emphasis is placed on staff training and it is always rewarding when guests voice their appreciation. Again, thank you very much and we are looking forward to welcome you back once more at Diamonds Mapenzi Resort in future. Best regards, Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Management

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Great swimming pool for the kids and beach, loved that place!
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2018
Response from Maybryante on Oct 24, 2018
Dear Aurelie Greeting from Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Resort. Thank you very much for taking the time sharing your feedback following your recent stay at Mapenzi Beach Resort. It was indeed a pleasure to welcome you as our guests and to learn that you overall enjoyed your stay with us. At Mapenzi Beach Resort we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer and we are continuously working on our performance in order to achieve our high service standards. Your Feedback is a gift for us and we are pleased to read your positive, memorable experience during your stay. Your kind compliments have been passed on to my fellow Team Members. In any service industry, special emphasis is placed on staff training and it is always rewarding when guests voice their appreciation. and we are looking forward to welcome you back at Diamonds Mapenzi Resort in future. Best regards, Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Management

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Nice hotel. The food was better than we expected, though the desserts could be better. The staff was very kind. The talent show one evening felt a bit like a minstrel show. The drinks could be stronger and better made.
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2018
Response from Hotel Management on Sep 5, 2018
Dear Haley, Thank you very much for taking the time sharing your feedback following your recent stay at Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Resort. It was indeed a pleasure to welcome you as our guests and to learn that you overall enjoyed your stay with us. At Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Resort we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer and we are continuously working on our performance in order to achieve our high service standards. Your Feedback is a gift for us and we are pleased to read your positive impression about your stay with us. However, please rest assured that we are looking into your comments, investigating and taking the appropriate measures in order to prevent future occurrence. Furthermore additional training's are taking place to keep our high standard for each guest. Again, thank you very much and we hope to welcome you once more at Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Resort in future. Best regards, Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Management

4/5 Good

Stayed 4 nights in Jul 2018
Response from Best regards, Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Management on Aug 31, 2018
Dear Valued Guest, Your feedback is a gift for us and thank you very much for your positive review scores. We are looking forward to welcome you again at Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Resort in future.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Great place to go with kids. All you’re worries are attended to. Great selection of food, great property, friendly staff
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2018
Response from Hotel Management on Aug 16, 2018
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time sharing your feedback following your recent stay at Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Resort. It was indeed a pleasure to welcome you as our guests and to learn that you overall enjoyed your stay with us. At Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Resort we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer and we are continuously working on our performance in order to achieve our high service standards.Your Feedback is a gift for us. Your kind compliments and comments have been passed on to my fellow Team Members. In any service industry, special emphasis is placed on staff training and it is always rewarding when guests voice their appreciation. Again, thank you very much and we are looking forward to welcome you back at Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Resort in future. Best regards, Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Management

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
This hotel is amazing! The food is lovely, the staff are friendly and best of all it’s a very family friendly hotel. The only issue we had was that the bedding was minimal it was really cold in the room and it would have been great if there was a blanket as well as the bed sheet on the bed. Other than that it was an amazing stay and I would gladly go back again.
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2018
Response from Hotel Management on Aug 16, 2018
Dear Inkheart22, Thank you very much for taking the time sharing your feedback following your recent stay at Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Resort. It was indeed a pleasure to welcome you as our guests and to learn that you overall enjoyed your stay with us. At Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Resort we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer and we are continuously working on our performance in order to achieve our high service standards.Your Feedback is a gift for us. However, please rest assured that we look into your comments and mentioned issue, investigating in order to take the appropriate measures and prevent future occurrence.Your kind compliments have been passed on to my fellow Team Members. In any service industry, special emphasis is placed on staff training and it is always rewarding when guests voice their appreciation. Again, thank you very much and we are looking forward to welcome you back at Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Resort in future. Best regards, Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Management

3/5 Okay

Liked: Staff & service
Stayed 4 nights in Jul 2018
Response from Best regards, Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Management on Jul 25, 2018
Thanks for the Reviews Resurts.

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Peaceful friendly relaxing
Very welcoming friendly and relaxing place to stay Without doubt this is the friendliest hotel I have stayed at. Every single member of staff from the gardeners to Ester at the reception, just lovely, friendly people - nothing was too much trouble. The hotel was clean and they put on a big screen to show the World Cup games for those interested. Food (buffet included for breakfast lunch and dinner) and drinks are plentiful and for those who like seafood you can book to have it at the beach restaurant at extra cost. Lots of places to relax and read - could do with some more sun beds. Trips outside the hotel are really expensive but that is the same from all the hotels not just this one. Not sure the high cost of the day trips are justified and we certainly didn’t do as much as we would have done had the prices been more realistic. Evening entertainment included from acrobatic shows to dancing and Swahili lessons. Table tennis, pool table and the dreaded WiiU and PS4 which were a god send on rainy days.
Stayed 5 nights in Jun 2018
Response from Best regards, Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Management on Jul 13, 2018
Dear Mrs Smith Sarah Thank you very much for taking the time sharing your feedback following your recent stay at Mapenzi Beach Resort. It was indeed a pleasure to welcome you as our guests and to learn that you overall enjoyed your stay with us. At Mapenzi Beach Resort we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer and we are continuously working on our performance in order to achieve our high service standards. Your Feedback is a gift for us and we are pleased to read your positive, memorable experience during your stay. Your kind compliments have been passed on to my fellow Team Members. In any service industry, special emphasis is placed on staff training and it is always rewarding when guests voice their appreciation. Again, thank you very much and we are looking forward to welcome you back at Diamonds Mapenzi Resort in future.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Brilliant holiday !
Hotel is amazing. Beach villa is just a step from the sea. Staff is really nice. Overall brilliant holiday!
Stayed 6 nights in Jun 2018
Response from Ester - Front Office Manager on Jun 27, 2018
Dear valued Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time sharing your feedback following your recent stay at Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Resort. It was indeed a pleasure to welcome you as our guests and to learn that you overall enjoyed your stay with us. Your kind compliments about your stay have been passed on to my fellow Team Members. In any service industry, special emphasis is placed on staff training and it is always rewarding when guests voice their appreciation. Again, thank you very much and we are looking forward to welcome you back once more at Diamonds Mapenzi Resort in future. Best regards, Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Management

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
The Staff at Diamond's Mapenzi really make the place as comfortable as possible. Charming, friendly, helpful and always smiling. Juma at reception is awesome, Shuma the entertain er is amazing. I have too many names to mention. Even the staff taking care of the grounds and flowers were super amazing. We had fresh flowers handpicked every morning and lovingly given to us as we sat on the balcony watching the sun come up. Keep it up Team Diamonds Mapenzi ****
Stayed 6 nights in May 2018
Response from Ester - Front Office Manager on Jun 27, 2018
Dear valued Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time sharing your feedback following your recent stay at Mapenzi Beach Resort. It was indeed a pleasure to welcome you as our guests and to learn that you overall enjoyed your stay with us. Your kind compliments about your stay have been passed on to my fellow Team Members. In any service industry, special emphasis is placed on staff training and it is always rewarding when guests voice their appreciation. Again, thank you very much and we are looking forward to welcome you back once more at Diamonds Mapenzi Resort in future. Best regards, Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Management

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Fantastic family getaway
We had a fantastic stay at Diamonds Mapenzi. From the moment we arrived until we left the staff went out of their way to ensure we had everything we needed. Our room was fantastic for our family, a double with 2 extra single beds for our 2 children. We had a beach villa which came with a beautiful view of the ocean, seats and sunloungers outside. Staff were on hand at all times to ensure we were comfortable. The room was serviced twice per day in the morning and then again in the evening. We ate every day in the Ocean view restaurant, there was plenty of variety and food was replenished often. I loved the live pasta station each day. The kids really enjoyed kids club, the animation team were fantastic at getting everyone involved. We will definitely return.
Stayed 7 nights in Mar 2018
Response from Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Management on May 17, 2018
Dear NMG, Thank you very much for taking the time sharing your feedback following your recent stay at Mapenzi Beach Resort. It was indeed a pleasure to welcome you as our guests and to learn that you and your family overall enjoyed your stay with us. At Mapenzi Beach Resort we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer and we are continuously working on our performance in order to achieve our high service standards. Your kind compliments about your stay have been passed on to my fellow Team Members. In any service industry, special emphasis is placed on staff training and it is always rewarding when guests voice their appreciation. The beaches are public in Zanzibar and unfortunately the resort has no jurisdiction over them, but our property provides a private ocean-front beach which is guarded by a professional security company and you may at all times feel absolutely secure while residing on the premises Again, thank you very much and we are looking forward to welcome you back once more at Diamonds Mapenzi Resort in future. Best regards,

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
All inclusive beautiful hotel
Very good food, pleasant stuff, beautiful beach, 87 bungalows comfortable beds
Stayed 6 nights in Mar 2018
Response from Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Management on May 17, 2018
Dear Nadia, Thank you very much for taking the time sharing your feedback following your recent stay at Mapenzi Beach Resort. It was indeed a pleasure to welcome you as our guests and to learn that you overall enjoyed your stay with us. Your kind compliments about your stay have been passed on to my fellow Team Members. In any service industry, special emphasis is placed on staff training and it is always rewarding when guests voice their appreciation. Again, thank you very much and we are looking forward to welcome you back once more at Diamonds Mapenzi Resort in future. Best regards,

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Relaxing
Very friendly staff/team who looked after us. They have a fantastic all inclusive package deal
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2018
Response from Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Management on May 17, 2018
Dear Wane, Thank you very much for taking the time sharing your feedback following your stay at Mapenzi Beach Resort. It was indeed a pleasure to welcome you as our guests and to learn that you overall enjoyed your stay with us. Your kind compliments about your stay have been passed on to my fellow Team Members. In any service industry, special emphasis is placed on staff training and it is always rewarding when guests voice their appreciation. Again, thank you very much and we are looking forward to welcome you back once more at Diamonds Mapenzi Resort in future. Best regards,

3/5 Okay

Liked: Staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Hotel with great staff but....
It was a great experience with good food & great staff but I would have enjoyed it more if: the hotel guests were more lively and diverse [only 3 black families there, very few families with children and most couples were older]; if there were ramps for wheelchairs and baby strollers; they didn't have the inconvenient pool towel service where one has to get a card and so can only have one towel at a time; the hotel did a better job at managing the mosquito issues because that definitely spoiled the evenings; if the hotel hosted their evening shows and events earlier than the 9:30pm start time as I was too tired to enjoy them
Stayed 2 nights in Nov 2017

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Rustic Zanzibar hotel with friendly Italian touch
Loved my 6 night all inc stay at Diamonds Mapenzi in July.Staff are all very friendly and the Italian reps are good fun very welcoming, especially Sofia and Alessandro. The food was excellent with the chef from Bangladesh (didn't get his name) particularly good with his pasta station. If I had to quibble I would say the drinks service in the restaurant was occasionally patchy,but nothing too off-putting.
Response from Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Management on Jul 18, 2018
Dear David, Thank you very much for taking the time sharing your feedback following your stay at Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Resort. It was indeed a pleasure to welcome you as our guests and to learn that you overall enjoyed your stay with us. At Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Resort we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer and we are continuously working on our performance in order to achieve our high service standards. Your Feedback is a gift for us and we are pleased to read your positive, experience during your stay. However, please rest assured that we are looking into your mentioned drink service comment, in order to take the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. As well as further training will take place to keep our high guests service experience for each and every guest.Your kind compliments have been passed on to my fellow Team Members. In any service industry, special emphasis is placed on staff training and it is always rewarding when guests voice their appreciation. Again, thank you very much and we are looking forward to welcome you back at Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Resort in future. Best regards, Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Management

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Great place for a relaxing holiday.
Spent 5 days at this hotel. Had a bungalow on the beach with a view of the sea. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff - they were all extremely helpful. They even let me use their office computer when the WiFi wasn't strong enough for an important admin task. Food was excellent (plenty of variety and interesting buffet selections). Staff decorated the room with flowers daily.
Response from Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Management on Aug 10, 2017
Dear Lynne, Thank you for your time in leaving us your beautiful review and feedback regarding your experience in our resort. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay to the fullest and that we were able to help you during your stay. Thank you also for your nice feedback on the excursions and our services and for your recommendation. We very look forward to welcome you back soon again to enjoy another relaxing holiday with us. Kind regards, Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Management

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Great hotel
Just spent 2 weeks at Mapenzi Beach in a beach villa. Great staff and even better service made for a fantastic honeymoon !
Stayed 13 nights in May 2017
Response from Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Management on Jul 18, 2018
Dear Manesh & Claire,Thank you very much for taking the time sharing your feedback following your stay at Mapenzi Beach Resort. It was indeed a pleasure to welcome you as our guests and to learn that you overall enjoyed your stay with us. Your kind compliments about your stay have been passed on to my fellow Team Members. In any service industry, special emphasis is placed on staff training and it is always rewarding when guests voice their appreciation. Again, thank you very much and we are looking forward to welcome you back once more at Diamonds Mapenzi Resort in future. Best regards, Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Management

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
comfy hotel in the beach
First experience on an all-inclusive hotel. very nice service, the staff is super friendly and helpful. The location is amazing, lovely beach and coral reefs to explore. no snorkeling or dolphins, that is on the other side of the island. The buffet and drinks service is ok, nothing special, although I'd have liked to have some local/african foods or drinks to experience. General facilities within the hotel and the beach side are very nice, the wi-fi is limited to some location only (reception-bar area, beach area), is not super quality but just fine for messaging, social media and basic emails/browsing. Room was clean and comfortable. All in all a very good experience.

2/5 Poor

Disliked: Property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Average stay in average hotel
We recently stayed at Diamomds Mapenzi for the Easter Weekedend with my husband and 2 children. We found the hotel to be run down in most areas. The deck chairs were old the mattress and towels had been well used and need replacing. The beds mattress was also old and not comfortable . There was no kids club or activities arranged for Easter as well. The food was probably the best and still average at best . What made our stay the worst was my son left his iPad on his bed when he came to look for us and when we went back to the room the staff was busy cleaning and the iPad had gone! We are extremely disappointed . Over all if you can afford to pay more take yourself to a better hotel !
Response from General Manager on Apr 20, 2017
Dear Isobel, Thank you for your observations. We are happy about your positive comments in regards to our food. We always strive to provide our best services in all areas. In regards to the children activities we understand during your stay it was a rather rainy period. Unfortunately most planned outdoor activities could not have been implemented or where replaced with other indoor actives last minute. We apologize that we where not able to fully satisfy in regards to the planned children activities. For the lost iPad you mention we suggest you forward us a written report which then can be used to initiate a insurance claim. Our guest relations will forward the necessary form to you. Best Regards, General Manager

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Lovely resort, but room for improvement
My partner and I just got back from a 6 night stay at the Diamonds Mapenzi resort. On the whole we had a lovely time and really enjoyed our stay. There are some things that could have been better, but overall we felt that we got good value for money. The quality and variety of food was excellent - top marks there. The rooms were also excellent - well located, and well kept. We really appreciated the turn down service each day. One area for improvement would be the service in the bar area. On a number of occasions it took more than 10/15 minutes to be served a drink, and when it finally did arrive it was wrong. At times I think this was due to a language barrier, although occasionally the staff behind the bar would take an order and then seem to forger about it and start serving other people. Another downside was the 'beach boys'. The local vendors on the beach are VERY persistent and do anything they can to get your attention and try to flog their goods. They do leave you alone if you are firm with them though, but I have to say it put me off going to the beach so much. There were even young children trying to sell goods, who just followed our every move as we walked out to sea. One final area for improvement would be the evening entertainment. From what I saw, it was mostly aimed at young children with nothing really on offer for adults (apart from the bar!).

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Good hotel for a lower cost
My wife and I had a great experience. The staff was great and the atmosphere was great.

3/5 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Lovely staff but overpriced
While the staff were lovely and the beach location great, I was expecting a higher level of quality in the rooms given the cost of staying here. They are pretty basic for the cost and there is a very small amount of hot water for showers. Mosquito nets had holes in them. The food was very good and gave a decent variety for those of us who do not eat meat. Drinks were available throughout the day and evening, and the staff went to considerable effort to provide interesting dining experiences, i.e. one night a week all the tables are moved so you can sit around the pool. I must emphasise though, that the staff were absolutely lovely and did everything to help. Unfortunately, the whole experience is overpriced compared to similar options in places like Mexico and Turkey.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Idyllic ♡
Beautiful white sandy beaches with turquoise water. Amazing variety in food every meal. The hotel has activities the whole day for everyone, there is one dinner around the pool and one dinner on the beach every week. We had our two very young children with us, and the staff went out of their way to please us/ the kids. The staff is so friendly and helpful, we had a amazing stay. The spa was also great, with a good variety of treatment.. the couple massages was amazing. I would recommend a beach hut which we stayed in, I cant imagine staying in a garden villa as it is not too close to the beach. I have no complaints about this hotel, everything was perfect and a great value for money. Go you wont be disappointed!

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Amazing food, beautiful resort, friendly staff.

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Great layout, very impressive.
Staff were very helpful, food and drinks were more than we needed. Canoes, pool table and table tennis were in need of repair. A second, deeper swimming pool near beach would be nice. Rooms were very good and well airconditioned but the mosquito spraying was not good to breath.

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
It's all about the experience
We arrived from the Four Seasons Hotel in the Serengeti, an incredible place and most hotels would suffer in comparison. At first glance, we were taken back by the austerity of the room, vis a vis the Four Seasons, and, as it was dark out, we couldn't see the grounds. They met us at the drop off area, escorted us to the lobby, gave us cool, damp facecloth and a cool drink. The staff here is friendly if not always efficient, they sometimes forgot request, but it was a small matter. In the morning we were delighted to see what a beautiful hotel this really is. Rooms and cabins that fit into the environment, a private beach, and lots of thoughtful features, including outdoor beds in front of your room if you wanted to hang out outside, these beds had netting around them. The food was excellent for all meals, and they had cookouts, dances and entertainment every night. Drawbacks, no TV or Free internet, though internet was available for free in the lobby area. We soon forgot all about that stuff, we easily lived without it. They have lots of free "toys" on the beach, kayaks, sailboats, etc. They have guards patrolling the beach, keeping the "Beach Boys" away from the guest, though it's hard to miss them. They are persistent, but friendly. They are confined to an area behind a short seawall. This place far exceeded our expectations and would definitely recommend it to family and friends.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Gorgeous place!
Thatched roof bungalows hidden among palm trees. Ocean mere steps away. Service second to none. Authentic architecture, non-obtrusive staff, no modern distractions. Wifi if needed in lobby. Massive central area with shops, lounge, bars, theater . Beautiful pool, former buffet 3x a day. Unspoiled beauty and luxury!
View from restaurant.

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Child Friendly wth beautiful white sandy beach
I have mixed reviews for this hotel. It is situated on a beautiful beach, the view is just heaven, however, there are some rocky steps to the beach which were not easily negotiable. The beach is clean and there are plenty of sun loungers for guests. Our children loved the access to the canoes and snorlking equipment. The hotel is fairly spread out so you don’t get the feeling that the hotel is crowded. There are however, steps throughout the hotel and grounds. Again, our children loved the pool table and table tennis facilities, which are close to the bar. Unfortunately, the only internet access (at $20 per week) was around the reception area. The rooms were clean and airy, with coffee facilities and mini-bar (restocked daily), however, the bathrooms could do with a renovation, and the ethnic look is now dated and makes the bathrooms ‘feel’ unclean. The food was good, buffet style with choice for everyone. There was a pasta bar which the children loved. One evening during the stay there was an African night down near the beach with a show which was enjoyable. I would probably stay in the resort again as it was child friendly and the staff were very helpful.

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
A piece of paradise
The beach rooms have great views of the sandy beaches and Indian Ocean - palms on the private beach area in front of the beach add to the overall feeling of your own piece of paradise. The staff are very friendly from the reception, to the bar and to the restaurant.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Great experience! would def come back
me and my girlfriend stayed in the hotel for 5 nights and than moved to another hotel in nungwi. all over we really recommend this hotel. everyone were so nice to us, the stuff is great. the food was clean and there's something to eat for everyone to matter what your taste is. have fun

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Very good
Hotel very good. Beach very good , no complaints. Do use Beach Boys to book activites because hotel booking services are much more expensive. They are safe, no problems. Arrange transportation from airport and back with same people since hotel prices are about double (approx 45 km) . Language may be a problem with some drivers. If you need incidentals buy them before you get to the hotel since there are no markets near by. If you forgot something you may need to drive all the way back to the city. Food is good, never got sick, avoid going to feed at the begining since you may face a hungry hostile crowd. There is plenty of food all the way to the end of the service. Happy vacation !

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 8 nights in May 2022
Response from Diamond Mapenzi Beach on May 14, 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you staying at Diamond Mapenzi Beach Zanzibar. We are glad that we met your expectations during your stay with us. Hope to see you again soon. Regards, Victor Otieno Guest Service Manager

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Great stay at Diamonds Mapenzi
Great staff
Stayed 5 nights in Apr 2022
Response from Emmanuel on May 6, 2022
Thank you very much for your positive feedback hope to see for the next time.