Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
5.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
amazing
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Best hotel in Zanzibar

Posted Sep 22, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderful hotel, great staff and the food was outstanding. I would definitely book this hotel again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Exquisite location,food,service and villas.

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Pros: Very pleasant across the board
Cons: Perhaps cycling lessons to go with the bikes!
Splendid in every sense. Cannot fault. Compares very positively to top star world class hotels/residences. We spent four excellent days. Faultless. After leaving the hotel and arriving in Dar es Salam we realised we left a pair of reading glasses. The hotel located these and personally delivered the glasses by ferry in Dar!
4 out of 5
by Vishal from New York

Great Sunset

Posted Jul 24, 2016 on Hotels
Great hotel, we had few issues with our room which hotel tried fixing. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Amazing views from the hotel at sunset
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england

Beautiful place and excellent service

Posted Apr 12, 2016
Lovely experience and they go an extra mile to make your stay the best. You won't be disappointed from start to finish.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 16, 2016
Villa was spacious, private pool was great...the entire staff was incredibly friendly and welcoming....we loved our stay!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 5, 2016 by TRZ Management Team , Hotel Management
Dear Expedia Reviewer Thank you for taking the time to leave your very kind words following your recent stay at The Residence Zanzibar. I am absolutely overjoyed that you were made to feel pampered by our team of very dedicated staff members and have passed on your kind words to everyone who makes this all happen. We are awaiting your return visit with anticipation. Warm regards, The Residence Zanzibar, Management Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice hotel, poor resturant staff. Retraining need

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Great property, nice villas but resturant is a big mess, staff need to be retrained ASAP.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sofia, Bulgaria

Great hotel

Posted Jan 8, 2015
Pros: The food, the service, atmosphere
Location: It is a bit far away from anything...but being here one would hardly need to go anywhere :-)
We enjoyed our stay here. Everything was amazing - the quality of food, the villas, the ambiance! I would highly recommend it to anyone willing to take refuge from the daily hassle.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 5, 2016 by TRZ Management Team , Hotel Management
Dear Expedia Reviewer Thank you for taking the time to leave your very kind words following your stay at The Residence Zanzibar. I am absolutely overjoyed that you were made to feel pampered by our team of very dedicated staff members and have passed on your kind words to everyone who makes this all happen. We are awaiting your return visit with anticipation. Warm regards, The Residence Zanzibar Management Team.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great, but...

Posted Aug 20, 2014 on Hotels
Two big negatives stood out for us-- the quality of the food was very subpar, and definitely not up to the level we expected. also, the beach is not amongst the many beautiful ones that zanzibar has to offer. other than that all went fabulously.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pefect for special time!

Posted Feb 16, 2014
It's worth. It was better than our honeymoon trip in Maldives!